We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Assoufid Golf Club

Assoufid Golf Club
Route Guemassa, Km 10, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-68368
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 520 Activities in Marrakech
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Played in mid-April. We knew the course was not officially open so were prepared for the fact that the "facilities" off course would be basic.

We were met by the Caddy Master, who was both courteous and professional. He was kind enough to provide cold drinks for us at the 9th and when we finished.

The course is excellent. Some of the holes are very strategic and good use is made of dog legs and elevation changes. Some strong par 3's 200 yards plus couples with some finesse shot par 3s which made that side of the course interesting. Bunkering and narrow approaches meant that not all the par 5's were automatic go for it in two, which is refreshing. Greens are maturing a little slow and a bit flat, but still very true.

As a group we thought it was the best course we played in Marrakech having played all the usual suspects

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrfc, Director of Sales at Assoufid Golf Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your positive review and comments about our golf course. We are glad that you enjoyed it. We are working hard to make it an exceptional experience for golfers, once we open officially.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    4
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A special course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were very fortunate enough to be invited to play here in March and what a treat it was. The director of golf met us at the clubhouse and was a friendly guy who immediately made us welcome. It really is a special course, everything has been perfectly manicured, the backdrop of the Atlas mountains is superb and every hole has a different feel to it. The caddies we had were the best we had in Marrakech (we played 4 other courses). For me this was the most enjoyable of the lot just beating Samanah. The greens were quite slow but very true and with the course continuing to bed in overtime I think these could be very quick true greens. Overall, this will be a first class golf course and the best in Marrakech and I really cannot recommend enough to play here along with Samanah, Al Madden and Palmarie. Thanks and good luck with the opening

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrfc, Director of Sales at Assoufid Golf Club, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed Assoufid Golf course's experience. Ahead of the official opening, we are working hard to make it an exceptional experience for golfers.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“the virtual golf course”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

after a long taxi drive from Marrakech city I arrived at the Assoufid Golf. Well, not really: there was a gatekeeper who did not let us in because the golf course is not open yet! And he even could not tell WHEN it was going to open. If ever... : the construction works there seem to be stopped, and from the 200 villas only 2 seem to be finished (a rumor?). So, to be in the absolute top list of "things to do in Marrakech", how is that possible? I really wonder what one can do in a virtual golf course. Dream of birdies an eagles? Rudolf W.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrfc, Director of Sales at Assoufid Golf Club, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your feedback. Assoufid Golf Club is located 15 minutes drive south-west of Marrakesh's historical centre. Although the golf course is ready, we do not have a precise opening date. Therefore, we are unfortunately not accepting reservations at the moment. As soon as we have a clear view on when we will open, it will be immediately posted on our website.
Assoufid will feature a 5-star luxury Hotel & Spa and a limited number of exclusive luxury villas, each set on plots of 1 hectare (2.5 acres). At the moment, 3 villas have been finished and another 2 will be finished over the next few months. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The new 'must play' course in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were lucky enough to try the new Assoufid course which was simply magnificent. We were even foolhardy enough to play the back competition tees that had been set up for a pro competition.

They may have defeated us but it was a pleasure anyway! The views are spectacular and the course sits beautifully in it's natural setting.

Once this course opens it should be a 'must play' for any keen golfer. Oh, to be a member here!!

Paul bedford
bedford.paul@wanadoo.fr

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrfc, Director of Sales at Assoufid Golf Club, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your positive feedback. We are fortunate that our resort is set in a natural undulating site with spectacular views of the Atlas Mountains. Ahead of our official opening, we are working to making it an exceptional experience for golf players. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were invited to play this course which should be opening in the next few months. The course itself is already maturing, the fairways are immaculate and the greens are the best we have putted on in Marrakech.

The course tests all parts of your game; the fairways are suitably wide, as long as you play to the right part. If you want to make the hole shorter, make sure you hit it straight.

There is the full holes, par 3's from 130 - 240, drivable par 4's, par 5's reachable in 2 and genuine 3 shotters.

The scenery is stunning and the practice facilities promise to be superb when they are finished. If you have to play one course in Marrakech, this is the one.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrfc, Director of Sales at Assoufid Golf Club, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Sir,
Before the official opening of Assoufid Golf Club, we are working very hard to making our golf course a truly exceptional experience for players. It is important to us that our level of care and service will meet and exceed our clients' expectations when we will open. We appreciate your feedback, which indicates that we are on the right track. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assoufid Golf Club also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Assoufid Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Assoufid Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.