We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great luxurious oasis in a city of fantastic madness!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Beija

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Beija to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Dar Beija
37 Derb Lamchoura | Mellah, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #306 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Barcelona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great luxurious oasis in a city of fantastic madness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Last week We've stayed in Dar Beija for 2 nights and had a great time! the city was very busy at that time due to french holidays. but every time you walk through the small alley to the entrance of Dar Beija, you start to feel relaxed. The Dar is very nicely decorated and the price/quality is nice. Due to the good services of Isham, Hanane and the cooks we could enjoy our stay in this beautiful Dar even more! If you are with a group of 8 or more I'd suggest renting the whole place: this gives this extra convenience in the use of the living room and the roof terras.

Room Tip: the two suites are great, room 2&3 are excellent, but small. for the best Price/quality take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful riad. Very friendly staff, couldn't do more for us. Close to square ( about 10 min walk) yet so quiet once you step inside the front door. Breakfasts were great, and we're always asked what time we would like breakfast the next morning.
The four of us had the riad to ourselve for 6 days.After a day out shopping, sight seeing & experiencing the square at night- it was comforting to be back in this amazing riad. We don't speak French, this was not a problem.
We would go back to Dar Baija next time we visit Marrakec and have no problem recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Following our wedding in the Atlas mountains, we decided to spend a long weekend in Marrakesh and booked the whole riad for 6 of us for 3 nights. As soon as you walk in the door it feels like a different world to the hustle and bustle of the city, it was so calm and peaceful. The staff were amazing, really attentive and helpful. Each room was unique and finished to a high standard with great views from the roof terrace, we loved showering on the roof watching the sun set over the city. We stayed in the suite and the room was perfect, our only comment would be that it didn't get very cool as it gets the sun all day long. As soon as you go down into the courtyard though it is cool and the splash pool was perfect. We would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The top suite can get quite warm as it gets the sun all day long and doesn't cool down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Four of us had this gorgeous Riad all to ourselves for a couple of days,we found it a haven to get back to after a day getting harassed in the markets,one of the staff cooked an evening meal for us one of the nights and we dinned in front of a roaring fire.The food was perfection,we were very spoilt.Lovely roof terrace if you stay in warmer months and an indoor plunge pool.
Great bar round the corner with same owner" cozybar" dont bother looking anywhere else.

Room Tip: Top two rooms are best but all are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

What a beautiful Riad....
This was our eighth year visiting Marrakech, We try and stay in different places each time to get to know the city a little more each year but this is our third year staying in the "Jewish Quarter".
On the website Dar Beija looked inviting and cosy and it didn't disappoint. It was like having your own home in Marrakech. The ambience was so relaxing with the soft music and water. Our room was on the ground floor onto the plunge pool and we were always asked when we arrived back if the music was ok - not too loud which was really considerate.

Brigitte arranged for a car to collect us from the airport which i think is essential. It doesn't cost that much more than a petit taxi and they will drop you right to the door (or have someone meet you if they cant get down the street!) Brigitte was so helpful answering my email queries. We wanted to stay for four nights, but they could only fit us in for three as someone was renting out the whole place before us. Brigitte arranged for us to stay on our first night with their neighbours Grant and Michelle and then carried our bags round the following day.

The team at the Dar Beija were great, Hanane met us from the car and was there in the mornings to make sure all was ok and give any advice on what to do or where to eat that day. The breakfast was traditional Moroccan breads/eggs/Jams/honey/pastries/coffee and lovely OJ - served with a smile every morning! They don't serve food as such but if you don't want to venture out Brigitte will arrange lunch from Kozy Bar just around the corner.

We had such a lovely time here and will certainly be going back.
Thank you Brigitte and team x

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

beautiful house with beautiful staff and a very nice service ! esther must be very unhappy cause the credit card terminal wasnt working (this unfortunatly happens a lot in africa ) !!! i never saw any laundry done in the jaccuzi !!! it is a pity that people try to get revenge on tripadvisor... anyway there will always be dishonnest people everywhere i guess !!!! i had a wonderful time there and i really recommend it !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Brigitte owns this beautiful Riad, where you are well looked after and made to feel at home. The style and decor is modern whilst retaining character and some beautiful pieces of furniture. There is a small pool, nice roof terraces with loungers and a cool lounge and dining room.
Our suite was on the first floor and was a cool and atmospheric place to relax. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. We had not slept so well for a long time.
The staff are so welcoming and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. We forgot a charger lead for our camera. One was bought on our behalf for 7 dirhams, within minutes.
The Riad is a short walk to the vibrancy of street life, restaurants, cafes and souks.
To eat we recommend KozyBar, just a couple of minutes walk away. Excellent Morrocan dishes and for a change, a Sushi Chef. Fantastic fresh sushi.
For a nice spa, Les Bains de Marrakech.

Room Tip: Contact Brigitte first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Beija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Beija

Address: 37 Derb Lamchoura | Mellah, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Dar Beija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Beija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.