We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All is calm and relaxing behind the big black door” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Amiran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ryad Amiran to your Saves list
Ryad Amiran
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bab Doukkala | El Hajra Arset Ben Brahim, 23, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 1,113 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“All is calm and relaxing behind the big black door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We travelled beginning of March and it is hot! .. Although our driver had a puffer jacket complaining it was cold! Email Adel the owner before you go and ask him to organise a car to pick you up from the airport. It takes about 15minutes and the driver will take you to the door of the Ryad for approx 20euros. We would never have found it if we had been dropped at the entrance to the wall! Le Grande Taxi is a good landmark to find your way back to the ryad from outside the walls but be warned .. The smell is disgusting!

Behind the big black door to Ryad Amiran is peace and quiet. The staff couldn't do more and were so helpful and informative.

We arrived about 7pm and decided to eat in the Ryad and I am glad we did, it was delicious and them went and sat up on the roof terrace with a drink.
The room we had was on the street side and I loved hearing the hustle and bustle of everyday life below. We didn't get robes in our room but that didn't bother us. The hair dryer is brilliant. The shower was really powerful. The bed was comfortable. Be careful not to touch the bulbs which light up the wall feature above the bed...I blistered my finger by accidentally touching it!
Breakfast was different everyday and plenty of it to keep you going and it was always a surprise as to what you were going to get. Bread, omelettes, pastries, yoghurt, pancakes.
On your first morning Naima (I apologise if I spelt that wrong!) provides you with a map and guides you on the best places to go and the 'do's and don'ts' which a was really helpful.
During our stay we went to the palaces, the tombs, Katoubia, the souks, the ceramics shops by the cyber park is pretty. Definitely visit Le Jardin Marjorelle, it's very cool out of the blazing heat and really pretty. We walked from there up to the new part of Marrakech which is a complete contrast with designer shops and clean precincts.
Take a horse and carriage from the main square. Make sure you haggle to at least half of what they ask for and be prepared to be taken to this pharmacy a little way out of the square where they seem to take people and get them to spend a lot of money but obviously you don't have to buy anything. You get very good at saying No Thankyou.
We went to one of the bars in the square around 5.30pm and watched the sun set and the square come alive...it's amazing.
We went on one of the hotel excursions to an evening show and the food was amazing, we had a brilliant night and the driver took us in and showed us around this arena and showed us where the best view was to sit for the show.
Ask Naima to book any restaurants for you and if you need a driver; they will collect you and drop you off door to door.
Everything extra you have in the hotel is put on your room and they only accept cash so make sure you have plenty left to pay it plus the city tax you get charged.
We loved Marrakech, we did find the hassle a little bit annoying after a while, especially round by the tanneries, but it's all part of the experience. I made sure I was covered up in loose trousers and top and I'm glad I did as some ladies were getting unwanted attention.
I would highly recommend Ryad Amiran to anybody who wants an authentic experience in Marrakech. Thankyou for a fantastic 4 day break.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
58
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Adil & Naima are fabulous hosts, nothing is too much trouble. The Ryad is exactly as advertised - 5 bedrooms around a courtyard with a roof sun terrace. We had two different room while we where there. The first was facing the street, the second was facing into the courtyard. Both fabulous rooms, both had a shower, hairdryer, clean towels & air conditioning.

After walking the chaos of the Medina with the motorbikes, donkeys pulling carts, children playing and life in general, the Ryad is tranquillity and calm.

The breakfast was completely different every day and thoroughly enjoyable. It was a mixture of crepes, eggs, porridge, cakes, pastries, fresh bread with a choice of coffee, tea or mint tea and freshly squeezed orange juice. Making you ready for the days walking.

The Ryad is just inside the wall which once we found it, we could go in and out of the gate to find our way around. We had to admit defeat in trying to conquer the streets within the Medina, endless turns and dead ends with no street names. All fascinating.

The weather was scorching hot and cooled a bit of an evening but not cold enough for a coat or thick jumper. Although the Moroccans all class this as cool!!

We visited the Marjorelle Gardens, Kartoubia, walked the Souks, went on the tourist bus to the Menara, visited the Saadian tombs with the storks, walked around Gueliz. Whilst walking round, the snow capped Atlas Mountains can be seen.

The food is fantastic. We ate in the square, we found (accidentally) Earth Café which is a vegetarian restaurant but the food is highly recommended, we had a tagine off the square.

We were celebrating our engagement while in Marrakech and wanted to mark it with something different. We booked a table at the Moroccan restaurant at the 5 star hotel La Mamounia! What an experience, the food was amazing as was the hotel (and the price!) but it so worth it. Naima booked the table and told them it was a special meal, we had the band singing to us and were given lovely little cakes as a celebration :-)

Alcohol is a rarity in the Medina but can be found in the bars around the wall. The Ryad does serve beer but its £5 a can. There is s supermarket in the new town that sells local wine fairly cheaply and was thoroughly enjoyable.

Although the street sellers want to haggle with you, I didn't find it at all as disturbing or annoying as in Egypt. If you say a firm no, they will leave you alone.

The one recommendation I would make is to definitely arrange a transfer from the airport to the Ryad. It is not the easiest place to find as there are no street names and the map just doesn't enough detail to follow.

We loved every minute of our stay in Marrakech and would love to go back again one day and would definitely stay at the Amiran.

Thank you Adil and Naima for a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, there are two with windows opening onto the street, that can be quiet nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil B, Propriétaire at Ryad Amiran, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much Vanessa & Peter for your very nice review. It was a big pleasure to receive you in our Guest house AMIRAN.

Also huge thanks for the time that you did take to write about your experience with us and hope to be honoured with your visit in the future time.

We wish the best

Adil & Naima and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ryad Amiran is absolutely lovely and by far one of the fanciest places we have ever stayed, especially for the price. I loved the decor, the staff were so helpful and welcoming, the mint tea was really cheap, the air con in the bedrooms was a god send, the robes were a lovely touch, the roof top terrace had a great shelter to escape the intense heat, the views were brilliant, then on our last day we were brought a free breakfast to our room as a farewell (we stayed room only as it was a bit of a budget holiday).

The only downsides were - the excursion prices offered at the ryad (some were over 100 euros pp) the evening meals seemed a bit pricey so we always went out for food, and the worst bit was the city tax bomb that is dropped on you just before you leave - I feel that this should be mentioned much earlier).

Overall it's not perfect but it's pretty and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had fantastic time here in Feb 2015 staff and owner were so helpful and more than met our needs even giving us phone number to call them if we got lost....but getting lost was half the fun as you happen on unexpected places We felt safe at all times even in narrow streets at night just take as much care as you would anywhere else and if too lost barter with a taxi driver we never paid more than a couple of pounds anywhere in Medina As a place to stay especially if you've travelled a bit before you'll love it and will be treated like family Had excellent stay no security problems in rooms and highly recommend it Even if you're a little nervous there's a huge taxi rank at gate close by...just get a taxi to where u want and do include jardin majorelle its lovely

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil B, Propriétaire at Ryad Amiran, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much Sandra for your very nice review. It was a big pleasure to receive you in our Guest house AMIRAN.

Also huge thanks for the time that you did take to write about your experience with us and hope to be honoured with your visit in the future time.

We wish the best

Adil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a great stay for myself and my four female friends. The staff were so helpful, such as booking us cabs and dinner reservations. They made some great recommendations for what to do in the area. The breakfast was fabulous, with local delights and plenty of it. The roof top terrace was a great asset to sit and relax on and watch the sun go down. I would highly recommend this Rhiad, very friendly, clean and excellent value for money. Thank you to all who made our mini break so fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil B, Propriétaire at Ryad Amiran, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Julie,

Thank you so much Julie for your feedback and for the time that you did take to write about your experience with us.
Hope to be honoured with your visit again and please send my best wishes to Edwina, Helen, Wynn and Anwen….

Sincerely,

Adil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

To all at ryad amiran, thank you for an amazing stay in pure luxury for our weeks holiday.Your ryad is perfect; Nina is so helpful and advised us of what to do and where to go, including our hammam spa day.

Fatima, one word = amazing. Your food is simply gorgeous.

Abdul, thank you for always smiling and being "there". It's like you never leave.

Loved our stay here at the Amiran, it's simply a gem behind many alleys at chaos...


Loved Marrakech.

Thank you again.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil B, Propriétaire at Ryad Amiran, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Hi Suzie & John and many thanks for your kind post.
Has been a real pleasure having you in Ryad AMIRAN and look forward to welcoming you again as our special guest.

Best wishes

Adil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

My Husband and I stayed at Ryad Amiran in October to celebrate my 30th Birthday and my Husbands 39th Birthday. We could not have chosen a nicer place. It was so clean, unbelievably friendly and just perfect for a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.

We arrived at 10:30pm and although so tired, we were extremely hungry after a full day of travelling. We were offered some food as we were served mint tea on arrival, we happily accepted thinking a salad and some bread would suffice. The lovely young lad brought us through a chicken tagine with Morrocan salad, bread and dips!! It was DELICIOUS! The breakfast was also amazing, with lots of different things to try, makes such a change from fry ups and pastries!

Unfortunately, my Husband's Mother took very ill so we had to cut our holiday short after just 3 days. The owners were so helpful and let us use their computer to rebook our flights home. We are so excited to be going back in March for a week to have the holiday we missed back in October. We are so looking forward to it!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adil B, Propriétaire at Ryad Amiran, responded to this review, January 15, 2015
Dear Niall & Andrey ;

Huge thanks for your review and looking forward to seeing you again here in Marrakech!!

Andrey: We wish a very fast recovery for your mom....

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Amiran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Amiran

Address: Bab Doukkala | El Hajra Arset Ben Brahim, 23, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Amiran 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ryad Amiran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Amiran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.