We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful oasis in the bustling city of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Origines

Save Saved
You added Riad Origines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Origines
11 derb ben moussa | Sidi Ben slimane Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful oasis in the bustling city of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Riad Origines is an excellent destination for a couple wanting to experience Marrakech and all its delights. Not too far from the iconic Jamaa el Fna square - taking a fascinating and confusing walk through the souqs (or a cheap taxi for the less adventurous) - the riad offers a calm, beautiful, and comfortable retreat from the madness of Marrakech.

The service is second to none. Said or Adil are always on hand to answer questions, guide you to the main attractions of the city, or book taxis/restaurants on your behalf. Within the riad, the rooms and communal areas are excellent, the food is delicious (if a little pricey), and the adornments in each room betray a quirkiness which you wouldn't find in a regular hotel. Not to mention the traditional gommage in the riad's own hammam, which is a must-have.

We couldn't have imagined a better experience than the one we received at Riad Origines; it wasn't just "a place to stay", but in fact a fulfilling and enjoyable part of our holiday in its own right.

Room Tip: The Tarbouche room, where we stayed, is smaller than some and also has no bathroom door - so is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    27
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
85
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this fantastic Riad for 4 nights from 24 - 28 September 2012. Our first time in Marrakesh so we were not sure what to expect but it was a beautiful haven of peace excelling all our expectations.The airport taxi arranged by Nadia & Chloe (owners of the Riad) dropped us in the Medina where we were met by Said accompanied by a lad with a barrow to transport our suitcases. Said led us through the alley ways to the Riad where we were welcomed by Nadia with mint tea. She gave us a most useful map, pointed out the places of interest and assured us that Said would accompany us to help us get our bearings and show us the way to Jemaa El Fna square. This, plus the fact that he gave us a card with his telephone number printed on it should we get lost, gave us the confidence to explore this fascinating old city. Our en-suite room decorated in Moroccan style was most comfortable. The Riad has a lovely plunge pool and a beautiful roof terrace. Said and Adil (who call themselves "Mr. Day" & "Mr. Night") couldn't do enough for us. They also made bookings for us at restaurants, Nothing was too much trouble for them. The food in the Riad was delicious and wine was also available. When my husband went down with "traveller's tummy" the cook made him a special soup to help with his digestion! This is a wonderful place to stay, comfortable, and a haven of peace in the busy old city. But what makes it so special is Nadia & Chloe and their staff who truly excelled in caring for us. If you want an authentic Moroccan experience do stay with them if you are going to Marrakesh!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a lovely couple of nights at Riad Origines. It is a great place with lovely rooms and a beautiful rooftop terrace with super views over the rooftops. The staff really made the experience though. Nadia was extremely welcoming and helpful with hints and tips for marrakech and Said was a fantastic help in and out of the Riad. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed at riad origines between 1-7 September '12. I have been to Marrakech before but stayed in a hotel just outside if the city, so this time I wanted to be in the heart of the action. At first when the van stopped in street I thought we were changing vehicles, but we weren't. We were there. A young man took our suitcases and we were lead down a cobbled street to the Riad. When the door openend and we were shown into an imacculate boutique riad. The welcome was simple but effective and we were shown our room. The rooms are air conditioned and the beds very comfortable. Thank the lord for the air condition as this time of year was super hot.

The riad is trully a lovely place to stay to experience the real Marrakech. The staff are superb especially Said. Nothing we asked was a problem. We arranged trips from the hotel and very quickly got used to the walk.

All in all we could not fault this riad the price is good and the rooms are comfortable and the staff extremely accomodating. we will go back again, but maybe in the cooler months. I have no criticisms of the riad only a suggestion which is to offer maybe a few more options for breakfast and that will take this place from a 9 out of 10 to a 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Can not recommend this beautiful riad highly enough! The rooms and communal areas are all immaculate and the food delicious. Nadia and Chloe could not be more welcoming hosts but the star of the show for us was Syeed (apologies about the spelling!). Nothing was too big an ask in terms of guiding us down the winding roads to the square or advising us on the best places to see in our short time in marrakech, but apart from all of that we genuinely just enjoyed his company during our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontoise, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've written some reviews in French and some in English. The ones in English are much more suuccesful, (says TripAdvisor) so at the opportunity of this trip back to Marrakesh (and at Riad Origines again) I thought it would be more helpful to write this one in English.
What a nice place, and especially when the weather is really warm. After clisong the door, in front of the charming pool, we felt really disconnected. Nadia welcomed us making us feel real VIPs. We didn't took the same room (Khait this time, Stela last year), and loved it even more. Air conditionning really works and WIFI too. 4 days in Paradise. We had a couple of romantic dinner (just the two of us) on the roof terrace, deco and ambiance are just lovely! Thanks a lot Nadia, and see you next year, inch allah!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was with my partner at the Riad mid August - when the weather was excessively hot. The Riad was great. The staff were excellent. They went out of their way to help and make our brief stay a special one. We had some friends come and join us from the UK for the few days we were there. We all enjoyed the atmosphere and ambience. In fact, I have recommended it to my father and his wife when the visit Morroco next year. If you're looking for a special and unique place to stay - I certainly recommend RIad Origines!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Origines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Origines

Address: 11 derb ben moussa | Sidi Ben slimane Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Origins is a riad Riad shop. The owners, Nadia and Chloe welcome you to the Riad origins. Traditional Morocco was their inspiration to create and perform contemporary decor with clean lines. Moroccan objects typically have been diverted from their original function of giving birth to an original decoration and unexpected. In this boutique riad, customers charmed by the decor can buy or order the objects of their choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Riad Origines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Origines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.