We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“calm oasis, lovely views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de Bala

Les Jardins de Bala
26 Rue de la Koutoubia | Hotel Les Jardins de La Koutoubia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 610 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“calm oasis, lovely views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was a great restaurant for a meal our first night in town. After a long day of travel, and a bit of exploring a hectic city like Marrakech, heading up to the rooftop terrace for a nice, calm meal of Indian food was just the break my group needed before launching into the back half of our vacation. Most importantly: the rooftop terrace has an AMAZING view of Koutoubia Mosque, which is lit up at nice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    52
    26
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“We were very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We went there on a first night in Marrakech for a romantic meal. On arrival the lift was broken and we had to walk up 3 flights of stairs which doesn't sound like much, but in the heat not much fun. The food is a mixture or Asian and Indian. We opted for Indian and ordered, samosa, bhaji , chicken korma, chicken dansak, rice and keema nan. Only the rice was enjoyable, everything else I didn't like. The location was lovely, just thought the food was very over rated !

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you like your Indian food this is far from good. Ordered starters and had to leave. The plus side the ambience is beautiful as it's the hotels roof top terrace which also happens to have a pool and views of the Medina and markets. Quite a disappointment as I was looking forward to eating here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Indian far from India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at Le Jardin de la Koutoubia and just had to try this Nice looking Indian restaurant on our hotels rooftop.
The food was good, but IF You like your Indian food spicy this is not the right place to eat. Even tho the food tasted very good, it was not spicy enough. They didnt Ask us for the strength of the spices so we dont know IF they serve it hotter.
Still the best Indian restaurant I have eaten at in Africa.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Still a great alternative when you are tagined out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I recently revisited this restaurant after a long time with my brother and his family as the kids wanted a curry. It is still a very good option when you feel like something different in Marrakech. Of course it's not the same as a "British curry" but then why on earth would it be? The flavours are all there and if the naan bread look more like chapatis and the poppadums are curled into cone shapes just relax and savour the delcious Moroccan versions of old favourites. Even a very fussy 10 year old ate his chicken korma and breads with relish. You can ask for any strength you dare, we stuck with the milder flavours (owing to aforementioned fussy boy) but all the dishes were rich and tasty.

It's not cheap but on par with similar restaurants in the city. Situated on the terrace of the hotel the view of the Koutoubia mosque is almost unbeatable. We had to sit in the restaurant as a private party had taken over the outside seating but the windows were wide open and a cool breeze blew through the room. Wines and beer are available and welcome on a hot evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de Bala also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Jardins de Bala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de Bala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.