We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tahar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Tahar to your Saves list
Riad Tahar
43 derb Ouayhah | Sidi Abdelaziz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #436 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Metz, Lorraine, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1st time in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

For my 1st time in Morocco, it was a great one thanks to Tania and Zacharia who manage this beautiful riad. Not only the place was wonderful but the welcome and stay too. Tania is perfect at all and Zacharia cooked very tasty foods for us. They arranged a memorable tour for us to discover the city and the country to go to the desert. I really enjoyed to be there and want to return soon. Annick

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The Riad was a great part of the Marrakech experience. Probably the main reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars was because it was winter, and there was no heating and in the morning and at night it was cold. Should have brought warm pajamas. The Riad is very much designed to keep cool, so at other times of the year this would not be a problem.

I definitely recommend being picked up at the airport. There was a little confusion with our pick up, but we were patient and in the end we weren't charged as we were picked up late. We loved the maze of tiny alley ways that lead to the Riad. We loved the fact that it was so quiet and peaceful there.

We were all about relaxation, combined with sightseeing/shopping and the Riad was perfectly located. Breakfast was nicely presented, with some variation of foods and served until 10am. We would then go up on to the rooftop to read on the deck-chairs and lounges. Amazing the peace you experience here in the midst of a city of some 3 million people. Coming from a European winter we truly appreciated the wide blue skies and warm sun in the middle of the day. At other times of the year I imagine the rooftop would be more attractive in the late afternoon/evening.

It was just a minute's walk to the hustle and bustle of the souks, and maybe a ten minute walk to the central square. The rooms were beautifully decorated, the bed very comfortable. The bathrooms were lovely too, although in our room the hot water took a while to heat up which was a little frustrating and wasteful.

Staff and management were great - very helpful and we had a lovely time overall.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Just returned from 18 days flashpacking around Morocco.
We chose this Riad for the first and then the last two nights of our holiday. It is an ideal location for exploring Marrakech - right in the medina with all sights and experiences within walking distance.It's ideal for a short break and added to that the staff are magnificent, so helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfasts are very filling, though note that evening meals are not available. However there are a few decent restaurants nearby. The rooftop terrace with it's sunbeds and tables/chairs is ideal for relaxing at the end of busy days in the souks.

Room Tip: we stayed in the cheapest room (junior suite) and this was totally adequate for our short stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Riad Tahar Oasis, in the heart of the souks of Marrakesh, is the ideal starting point to discover the city, the souks and experience from close-by the Moroccan way of living.
Excellent breakfast, very warm welcome!
We stayed in this Riad on two occasions, the first one in the Junior Suite Hibiscus and the second occasion in the Junior Suite Zitouni. Both rooms were authentic, beautifully decorated and clean.

Room Tip: Hibiscus: balcony w view on the central place o/t riad, compact bathroom. Zitouni: larger than Hibis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

A little piece of paradise, brilliantly located just a 5-10 min walk from Djeema El-Fna square. I would recommend accepting the airport transfer as it could prove tricky to find first time round! The staff couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was an absolute feast! I could not recommend this place more highly. Very enjoyable and a very different experience to usual hotels. Looking forward to returning with friends in the future

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakesh
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

This Riad has recently changed Management and is run by the hosts of Riad Libitibito.We also stayed there for a night .Please read reviews! The care and attention that guests recieve is outstanding.They are unbelievably helpful in every way and speak excellent English.This is a big plus especially with directions and recommendations for places to eat , shopping etc.If you've never experienced Marrakesh before it is really difficult to find your way around the Medina and getting lost is part of the course ! However, knowing that Tania and Zakaria are on the end of the phone to help out if needs be is very reassuring.
The Riad is really beautiful, elegant yet homely.The rooms are tastefully decorated and have nice touches such as toiletries and bottled water.The view from the roof top terrace was beautiful as the sun went down over the Mosque.The evening meals and breakfast were delicious.I would recommend this Riad Tahar for it's excellent location , great service and superb quality for money .It will not disappoint .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Not easy to find inititially, but the owner will come and meet you and take you to his Oasis. Great central location in the old part of Marrakech, but very quiet, tucked away from all the hub-bub. Beautifully decorated in a combination of Moroccan tradition and French chic.. We stayed in the triple suite, which was really spacious and had a fabulous copper bath. The terrace has spectacular views over Medina and towards the Atlas mountains. We ate breakfast on the terrace - nothing was too much trouble for Julien and his staff.Simon was there always to help you if you needed it. and always at the end of the phone, for when we got lost!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tahar

Address: 43 derb Ouayhah | Sidi Abdelaziz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #436 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Tahar Oasis is located in the heart of the medina at ten minute walk from the famous Jemaa El Fna. It includes an outdoor pool and a terrace offering a panoramic view of Marrakech and the Atlas Mountains. Riad Tahar has air-conditioned suites feature a sitting area and a bathroom suite. We also provide you with a steam room, concierge, tour desk and wireless internet.You can enjoy traditional Moroccan cuisine fresh produce market. shuttle service to airport joined Marrakech Menara airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Tahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tahar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.