We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Brilliant Badi"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Badi

Save Saved
You added Riad Badi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Badi
56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Brilliant Badi"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Being at Riad Badi is like staying with family friends - with a warm welcome, great taste in furnishings, and epic breakfasts. Christian's guided tour of the Medina was of great help - especially tips on where to eat and what to visit, The location of the Riad made it easy to explore the bustling Souks and yet still gave the feeling of being in a peaceful haven. Isabelle arranged a great morning at the local Hammam ... what an experience and so relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble and whatever time we returned to the Badi a friendly face was waiting. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites in which we stayed (Safran & Nomade) were very well appointed, and from what we saw a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Tom,
Thanks for staying at Riad Badi with your friends. Thanks for sharing your feeback and thanks again for your lovely last email.
We are glad to know you have spent a nice time with us and we like your first sentence " Being at Riad Badi is like staying with family friends" because it's our aim every day.
We are delighted to have discussed and have laughed with us.
Thanks again and take care.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    398
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
230
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just had a fantastic 4 night stay with Christian & Isabelle and their team at Riad Badi. We knew before we arrived that we were in for a good experience by reading all the other reivews, which have made this No.1 on Tripadviser. They truly deserve this accolade. Nothing was too much trouble. From the time of booking the emails back and forward were very helpful and we felt we knew them before arriving. We were collected from the airport by the transport arranged and taken to the end of the lane where the Riad is situated. Opening the door of the taxi a voice said "Hello Linda", that was Isabelle!! Once inside we were given Moroccan tea and Christian orientated us with maps, and suggestions of places to visit. He took us on a trip to the Al Fnaa Square and to a cash machine which gave a good rate. He explained what to look out for and what prices to pay. His information was invaluable. We were there for my husband's 70th birthday and had booked a restaurant. Chrisitian even walked us there, which we were so grateful for as it was situated down narrow lanes.

The room was beautiful. On arrival we had biscuits and water in the room and the whole room was adorned with rose petals (even in the toilet!!). Each day we had fresh fluffy towels and the room was immaculate. We stayed in the Hibisus room which is really large and air conditioned, which was a must. The decor is beautiful. The rooms were so quiet at night and we both slept so well. Breakfasts were lovely with different bread and jams every day. There was so much of it too. We ate two nights in the Riad and, again, the food was faultless and served beautifully.

Christian & Isobelle you thoroughly deserve your 5 stars and anyone that gives you less than this does not deserve to stay with you. Long may it last!!!! You have left us with lovely memories of John's 70th birthday and we thank you for your kind hospitality. Please also thank your team. Their smiling faces and helpfulness every morning was a delight. We would love to come again one day. xx

Room Tip: Didn't see the other rooms, but I am sure the standard will be the same throughout. Superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Linda,
Thank you for choosing Riad Badi for your husband's 70th birthday and thank you so much for writing the complete and nice review.
We are delighted to know you enjoyed Riad Badi especially by its hospitality, its services, its team, the breakfasts and the two dinners. Also we are glad to know you will keep good souvenirs of John's 70th birthday.
All the team thank you for the compliments: without Soukaïna, Fatima-zhara and Hayat we cannot have the level of services,...
Thank you again and take care.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This Riad was a home away from home. The rooms were beautiful and luxurious and there were lots of comfy spaces to relax and unwind. The roof terrace was a great place to chill out with a lovely dip pool to cool off and a great view of the ruins and the stalks. It was really close to all of the hustle and bustle of Marrakech but also a haven. The breakfast was amazing and I would definitely recommend having a meal then one night. Christian and Isabelle were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome - on arrival we had mint tea and biscuits whilst Isabelle told us all about the local area and then Christian gave us a tour. If you stay in Marrakech, this is the Riad to choose!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Jessica,
Thanks for your stay with your friends and for your feedback.
We are pleased you enjoyed these few days with us. We receive our guests as we would be received; as you wrote "home away from home".
It was a real pleasure to receive you.
Thanks again and take care.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This Riad is ideally located for the main tourist attractions in the city, being in the Medina next to the Badia Palace and a few minutes walk from the Jamaa el Fna. Despite the central location it is very quiet. Christian and Isabelle went out of their way to make our stay relaxed and enjoyable. Christian even walked with us to Jamaa el Fna and then on to the Photography Museum (well worth a visit) to ensure we didn't get lost in the Souk.
This is an ideal place to stay for a relaxed break in Marrakech with a high standard of home cooked meals on offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments following your recent stay at Riad Badi. We are delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay in particular the location suitable for your needs: the localisation of the riad, our welcome, and dinner.
Thank you for recommending Riad Badi to other potential guests.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Staying at the Riad Badi felt like home away from home. Christian & Isabelle are wonderful hosts and very welcoming. The Riad is a haven away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech with a lovely roof terrace, loads of comfy spaces to relax and beautiful rooms. The breakfasts are amazing! Lots of fresh breads, pancakes and cakes with fresh juice. I would highly recommend having dinner there too! Thanks you so much for our wonderful stay! Cindy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Cindy,
Thanks for choosing Riad Badi for a break with your friends and for leaving your feedback.
We are glad to have met you and to have discussed after your walks in the souks of the Medina.
We cannot forget your smiles and your joy of life.
Thanks again and take care.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We also booked Riad Badi on the basis of other reviews and wholeheartedly concur with all previous comments. The Riad, and the guest rooms, are well appointed, tastefully decorated and exceptionally comfortable, with nice spaces to relax in aside from your room; a roof top terrace with plenty of couches, sun beds and a small plunge pool, a reading/games/tv room and some couches on the ground floor. Breakfasts are great including fresh juice, fruit, yoghurt and homemade bread, cakes and preserves; and each day the selection is different. The Riad is peaceful and has a gentle ambience which makes it feel like a home away from home. It is well located inside the Medina, within an easy walk to the Jemaa El Fna square, Souks, other tourist attractions, restaurants, and transport (horse & buggy, taxis and hop on,hop off bus). Christian and Isabelle are outstanding hosts. They go above and beyond to ensure that their guests are well informed, comfortable and happy. Personal tours to the square for orientation and one night Christian walked us to a restaurant to ensure we did not get lost. We would thoroughly recommend staying here. Excellent value for money, exceptional service, central location and clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Sue,
Thanks a lot for staying at Riad Badi and for posting the wonderful review on TripAdvisor.
The Riad Badi's team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Marrakech was very quiet during your stay: you have seen marrakech the day of the sacrifice but after two days you could buy some souvenirs in the some shops open.
We have spent lovely times together to discuss.
We hope you are spending a nice time in Essaouira.
Thanks again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We can only reiterate all the other positive comments for this well run, comfortable, special riad in the heart of Marrakesh. We were travelling with our 4 year old which for us meant we spent a bit more time at your accommodation than we would normally due to the need for some relaxation time. Christian and Isobelle were extremely accommodating and made us feel very welcome. We all looked forward to the wonderful breakfasts and really enjoyed eating them on the roof watching the storks nearby. Dips in the cool plunge pool were very welcome after walking around the warm, busy medina and kept our daughter entertained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Julie,
Thanks for coming at Riad Badi and thanks for taking time to post a very nice review and thanks for recommending Riad Badi for new prospective guests.
We are glad to know you enjoyed at Riad badi by our welcome, your room (the safran junior suite), the breakfast on the terrace and our plunge pool to refresh.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Budget Places, Expedia, HostelBookers and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Badi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.