We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good - we came back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Badi

Save Saved
You added Riad Badi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Badi
56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So good - we came back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I booked a 6 night stay at Riad Badi to kick off our two-week honeymoon in Morocco. Not quite believing our luck at getting the Number 1 B&B in Marrakech at the rate we did (August is low season due to the heat), we turned up with high expectations having read many of the reviews on here beforehand.

Needless to say, Christian and Isabelle are not the Number 1 B&B in Marrakech for nothing. Living on site (the riad is their home too) this is literally a full-time occupation for them, and they are the perfect hosts, completely unobtrusive and yet always on hand, very friendly, warm and knowledgeable. Christian showed us the route to the Jemaa al Fna on the first night (about a 10 minute walk) and gave us loads of good advice on average taxi prices, food prices etc, which got us off to a great start as we entered into haggling culture. They booked us on a brilliant cookery course on the outskirts of the city, as well as taking my wife to a nearby hammam (the best she's ever been to, apparently!) Each day our room was cleaned when we went out, and the little details, such as the folds in the bedspreads and towels, the little pots filled with cookies etc, really made returning home a treat each day.

The riad itself was amazing, really clean, with beautifully cool air-conditioned rooms and a great view from the terrace of the storks standing like soldiers and clattering their beaks together on top of the ruined Badi Palace. The plunge pool was a great addition and a lovely way to cool off and the breakfasts were incredible - a fine selection of pastries, coffees, teas, home made yoghurt, honey etc. Sukaina did a fantastic job and presented it beautifully every morning.

I loved the addition of the tiny sparrows which chirped away throughout the day, hopping as close to you as they dared and flittering from rail to rail in the courtyard. Sometimes we'd just sit back and watch them for a while, they provided great entertainment! Their noise filled the riad during the day, yet by night, the rooms were completely silent, and we slept so well every night that we were there.

We had four blank days left at the end of our trip when we arrived in Morocco, and after only a few days at Riad Badi we knew this was where we wanted to end our trip. So we booked in again, and by this point had become familiar faces to some of the local shopkeepers, café owners and neighbours. We loved their smiles and replies as we said 'salaam' and felt truly welcome, not just in the riad but also the neighbourhood itself.

Thanks to Christian, Isabelle and Sukaina we had a great time in Marrakech. We cannot recommend Riad Badi highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Will,
Thanks for choosing Riad Badi for your honeymoon and for recommending Riad Badi through your VERY NICE and detailled review.
We are delighted you have appreciated your stays (6+4 nights with between a stay in Essaouira).
As you wrote Riad Badi is located in a quiet and safe area in the Medina at the end of an alley: in the morning you can heard the tiny sparrows and the storks.
Thanks for talking the work of soukaïna who does a fantastic job in the room (with many details as the folds the bedspreads and towels) and who serves a complete breakfast with always the smile.
We thank you again and we hope a long and lovely life together.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
229
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I and our three teenage girls have just returned from 5 nights in the wonderful Riad Badi. The riad itself is just a 10 minute walk from Jemaa el Fna so a brilliant location. The rooms are all beautifully decorated with great en suite facilities and air conditioning (a must in August!). There is a plunge pool on the roof terrace for cooling down and loungers for sun bathing. We spent time up there most afternoons relaxing with a book and napping. On the ground floor are sitting areas for relaxing and including one room with lots of games where we played cards in the evening.

But what makes Riad Badi such a wonderful place to stay is the owners Christian and Isabella who were so incredibly helpful. Christian took us out to the main square on the first afternoon to help us get out bearings and explained all about money and bartering and basically everything we needed to know to enjoy our stay and not get ripped off! They were both available at any time to help with advice, find out about day trips and places to visit. Nothing was too much trouble.

They recommended places to eat (one of which we went to three times the food was so good) and on the last night we had dinner cooked by Isabella in the riad which was sensational, as were the breakfasts each morning which despite our best efforts we never managed to finish.

This was our first time in Marrakesh,a city which can be a little overwhelming and confusing but with Christian and Isabella's wonderful help and hospitality we had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Alex,
Thanks for choosing Riad Badi for your first stay in Marrakech and also for sharing your experience on this website.
We are grateful to you for writing and forwarding your valuable feedback and we are delighted to read the lovely heading of your comment.
We cannot forget your card parties after dinner.
It will be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed at Riad Badi as my first hotel in Marrakech in the middle of June. Even though I arrived at the riad very late like almost 1:00 am, Christian and Isabelle warmly welcomed me. I stayed at the tarquoise blue room which was very pretty and I liked. The breakfast I had the next day was the best one in my Marrakech stay (I stayed at 2 other riads during my 5 days stay in Morocco). Christian precisely explained where to go and what to see in Marrakech and took me out at first to guide me around the neighborhood of the riad. I had a perfect day. If there had not been Christian and Isabelle, it would not have been brilliant like that. Thank you so much for everything you did for me. I want to go back to Morocco again in near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I had a great stay at the Riad Badi in early august. We stayed for 2 nights. Christian and Isabelle were great host. They made the stay very special. They were very flexible and we had an amazing breakfast every morning. The location is great close enough to the Djema and the local sights yet isolated so that it was quiet. Even though it was fairly hot (107F/43 C) during the time we were there we enjoyed the town and were eager to get a dip in the small pool in the terrace. The rooms are decorated in the Morroccan style and were very modern and spacious. Would highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Chris,
Thank you for staying at Riad Badi and thank you for sharing your visit at Riad Badi.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and are happy that you keep a nice souvenir of Marrakech in spite of the hot temperature: as you wrote our plunge pool on the terrasse is nice after walking in the Medina but not enough large for swimming.
Thank you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Have to say reading all the previous reviews, i was sceptical that this Riad would be as good as everyone has reported.......but it was.

Christian and Isobel were unbelieveably courteous, helpful and informative.We stayed for 5 days, and Christian took us out on a tour on 2 of them to show us where to go, where to avoid, what to do, pay, look out be wary of.Very helpful, and in a place like Marrakech, which can be quite intimidating, essential information.Isobel was always happy to make cups of tea, coffee, whatever , just to make your stay a bit more special.

The room was large, neat and very clean, lovely accommodation, and very good value for money.

I enjoyed my stay in Marrakech, and a lot of that was down because i made the right choice in accommodation.Definatley recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Gary,
You chose Riad Badi from nice reviews and now you are glad to be stayed at Riad Badi. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we are happy to have met you.
Each time we try to do the best to receive our guests.
Thanks for your lovely review and take care.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Riad Badi truly deserves its status as number one riad on Tripadvisor! (I haven't stayed in them all - but why go anywhere else when you find such a treat, eh?!)

Isabelle and Christian are warm, laid-back, generous people, and their riad is absolutely gorgeous! The attention to detail during out five-night stay was incredible; rose petals sprinkled on the bed and towels folded into the shape of a swan... the list could go on!

The riad provided the perfect place to chill-out for a couple of hours at a time, before heading back out to the magical (and mental) Jemaa el Fna square - a short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Emma,
Thanks for staying at Riad Badi and for sharing your very nice review.
We are grateful to you for writing and forwarding your valuable feedback.
It feels good to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks again and take care.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Isabelle and Christian are great hosts and will bend over backwards to make sure that you have everything you need, from breakfast or drinks on the terrace to organising excursions and suggesting places to visit, shop, eat or drink. Even at the hottest time of year, the Riad is relatively cool, and if it's still too hot, the plunge pool on the terrace is a nice way to cool down. The Riad is located at the southern end of the Medina and within easy, and interesting, walking distance of most of the sights - which Christian pointed out both on the map and in taking us on a walk the first evening. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for your stay at Riad Badi. Thanks for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
We are glad to have met you and we are delighted you have appreciated our riad, its localisation and our services.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Budget Places, Expedia, HostelBookers and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Badi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.