We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Badi

Save Saved
You added Riad Badi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Badi
56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Heidelberg
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Isabelle and Christian are wonderful hosts. They are hosts in the true sense for they live in the Riad as well so they are extra careful about security. All other reviews -- about Christian's tour, good breakfasts with the home-made yoghurts and jams, location close to the main sights of the medina, the lush towels -- are all true. There are a few notable things that made our stay even better:
1) one day we had to leave early for our trip at 7:30, so we intended to skip the breakfast that starts at 8. Upon finding that out, Isabelle packed some items for us on short notice. But our guide insisted we have our breakfast before the day-long trip to Ouarzazette. Upon hearing that, Isabelle ran to prepare our breakfast at 7:30 in the morning. Amusingly, Christian is always protective of his guests and tries to find out more about the guides to ensure their legitimacy so he talked to the guide while we had our breakfast.
2) our flight didnt leave till 7pm the next day. Given that they weren't expecting any guests, Christian graciously offered to let is have the room till we left for the airport so we could freshen up before we left.

There are some 1500 Riad's in the city as I have learnt, yet it is not a surprise that this Riad is always busy. They truly make their guests feel at home right away, and I would not trade that level of hospitality for anything else.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    407
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
234
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel really was like a haven in the madness of Marrakech. Not only was it clean, relaxing and a really lovely hotel with a great terrace Isabelle and Christian are such lovely people. We arrived and Christian talked us through everything and even showed us around which really made a difference because its so easy to get lost. The breakfast every morning was different and delicious if you needed anything they were there to help. I would recommend this to anyone going to Morocco its a special place run by great genuine trustworthy people who really care that you have a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Riad Badi for one week and were later joined by our family. We were all so impressed by Isabelle and Christian’s wonderful hospitality. They were the most welcoming, considerate and helpful of hosts.
The Riad is absolutely beautiful with such attention to detail: it is a real haven of tranquillity after the bustle of the souks. The interiors, terrace and rooms have been designed with such creativity by Isabelle. The breakfasts were delicious with a variety of cakes, pancakes, breads, fresh fruits and preserves each day. We also had a fantastic dinner prepared by Isabelle and Soukaïna. It was full of amazing flavours and was presented so attractively; a feast for the senses!
Christian's tour of the medina and souks was invaluable, as was his advice. He was always prepared to be incredibly generous with his time and help.
We highly recommend Riad Badi and will always have such treasured memories of our stay. Thank you so, so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you Flower for choosing Riad Badi for one week with your family. Thank you again for sharing your experience at Riad Badi.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are happy that you keep a nice souvenir of Marrakech and of Riad Badi.
We are sure that you will think of Marrakech when you switch on the lanterns (which you have bought close to the riad).
Do take care.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Isabelle and Christian are such welcoming, helpful and lovely hosts, their riad is just beautiful as well.

The location is also really good, as the main square is just a short walk, but at the same time it is far enough out to be quiet.

So relaxing and a pleasure to stay there, I doubt you will find a better place to stay in Marrakech!

Sean & Joey

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sean & Joey,
Thanks for staying at Riad Badi and for sharing your very nice review.
We are grateful to you for writing and forwarding your valuable feedback.
It feels good to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks again and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espinho, Portugal
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Riad Badi is managed by the lovely couple Isabelle and Christian.
On our first day at arrival, Christian showed us the surroundings to the riad and the main points inside the medina so we could be able to manage alone. After this tour there was no need to use any guide during the week, even in souks.
Christian also pointed out in the map all the places to visit, which we deed.
They also arranged that we could go to Essaouira with a driver and it was great to have one day of with a little bit more fresh air.
The shuttle to the airport was also arranged by them.
In the Riad the conditions were great, marvelous local dinner on first night, very good breakfast in the morning. The Riad is close enough of center of the medina, but far away enough so you're not disturbed with the crowd noise or the callings from the mosques that start at 4:30 am.
And for those that can't leave without it - free WiFi is available everywhere in the Riad.
For my family it was a great experience and a great stay at the Riad Badi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The owners are fantastic!

Whether you have been to Marrakech before or not, both owners are fantastic at making you feel welcome. They are very friendly, knowledgeable and kind and I wouldn't recommend anywhere else.

Marathon Man

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Marathon Man
Thanks for staying at Riad Badi in April for a short break with the sun and thanks for sharing your experience.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A beautiful riad, owned and operated by two of the nicest and most welcoming people we've met. After a long day of (hot) travel, Christian and Isabelle greeted us with Moroccan tea, then gave a walking tour of the medina area, pointing out key sights and good restaurants along the way. In the mornings, we woke to a delicious breakfast of breads and jams, accompanied by yogurt that the owners make themselves. And at night, we rested on the rooftop terrace, complete with dipping pool, before making the short walk back to the Jamaa el Fna square. We'd absolutely return next time we're in town, and recommend to anyone making their way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Budget Places, Expedia, HostelBookers and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Badi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.