We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hosts...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Badi

Save Saved
You added Riad Badi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Badi
56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Instow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect hosts...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Isabelle and Christian offer an incredibly warm and sincere welcome. Their beautiful and peaceful riad is a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the Old Town and Christian eases all new arrivals into the souks with a personally escorted walk and he won't leave you until you feel you have got the grasp of the local geography. We enjoyed a delicious home cooked meal on our arrival and Isabelle's cooking continued to satisfy with an ever changing breakfast on the terrace each morning. We kept Christian busy opening bottle after bottle of local wine each evening, always served with the most delicious olives. We can't thank Isabelle and Christian enough- thy really are very special people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Adam,
Thank you for staying at Riad Badi and for taking your time to write such a lovely review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at riad Badi.
As we usually do, we have welcomed you as we could done it for our friends: a tour in Medina and advice seem necessary to optimize your stay and avoid some tourist traps.
We have already forwarded your compliments to Soukaïna for the preparation of the meal and the breakfasts.
We have spent lovely times together to discuss about your many walks in the medina and your shoppings the modern town.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    398
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
230
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Christian & Isabelle were so welcoming that we instantly felt at home from the moment we arrived at the Riad Badi.
Not only is the Riad beautifully decorated, it's the personal Moroccan touches that have been sourced locally that give you the real feel of Marrakech. Whilst drinking Moroccan tea, Christian takes you through a map of Marrakech showing you all the places to visit and even takes you on a your of the surrounding area to help you get orientated.
Isabelle amazing breakfasts are definitely worth getting out of bed for. We had an evening meal at the Riad during our stay which was by far the best. 20 euros for three courses, amazing value and you will be knocked away by Isabelle's desert.
I will be visiting again and would recommend the Riad to anybody visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Sara,
Thank you for staying at Riad Badi with your friend and thank you for writing the lovely comments.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Badi: as you wrote, we have tried to explain at your arrival what is interesting to visit in Marrakech with a map
As we usually do for our guests who discover Morocco for the first time, we have guided you in the Medina and given helpful advice.
For the dinner we tried to make you discover new flavors. We forwarded your compliments to our cooker.
Thank you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Not a lot more can add to the previous comments. An absolute gem of a riad with such a home from home feel. The lovely sunny terrace with a splash pool was an added bonus. A great way to finish off a day of sightseeing in such a beautiful city, with a little siesta in the sun being lulled off to sleep by the “bill-clattering” from the storks at the Badi Palace (which are so, so close, you feel you could just reach out and touch them. And will just add that was never affected by their noise at night. The riad was so quiet, you could hear a pin drop). A massive thank you to Isabelle and Christian for making our stay such a pleasure and for the fantastic breakfasts. And do make sure you have dinner in the riad at least once. The food was superb. If we should ever return to Marrakech, Riad Badi will be sure to see us again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cannelle room which was great but they may all be as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience.
We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay at Riad Badi: a welcome for feeling like at home, a quiet place, a plunge pool on the roof for refreshing yourselves, a delicious meal and fantastic breakfasts prepared and cooked by Soukaïna.
We were delighted to have met you and have talked with you.
You can come back any time.
Thank you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Superb.. That sums this place up. After the chaos that us Marrakech, you can slip into this wonderful riad and relax. We loved it. Christian and Isabell are wonderful hosts and so helpful. And.. Good tip from another guest.. Definitely have one of Isabell's meals. Her puddings are yummy .. The breakfasts are gorgeous with home made pancakes, yoghurt, jams.. Loved it all! Thanks for a lovely stay! X

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks for staying at Riad Badi and thanks so much for sharing your experience.
We are glad to know you have appreciated our welcoming, our services and meal and breakfast prepared by Soukaïna.
Thanks again. xoxo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The riad is very nice and well located, south of Jamaa El Fna square and easy to reach, even by car.
But the hosts really make the difference here, being both very professional and truly friendly, devoting 100% of their time to their customer.
1) They live on site, which is not the common rule in Marrakech.
2) Booking happened in a minute without any problem (100% clear and secure).
3) When I announced we would arrive very late, the host told me they would wait for us.
We arrived at 1 AM in the morning and they were there, spending more than one hour with us, offering tea and biscuits, giving advice about the city...
4) During our stay, they were always ready to talk and share information
5) When we left for another city, they gave us customs papers to fill in for our departure from Morocco one week later, fearing we would not get them from other hotels (they were true...). They also offered us bottles of cold water.
To make it short, all these small facts make your stay different. You really feel welcome and part of their family...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your stay at Riad Badi and thank you so much for this great review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Badi and are happy that you keep a nice souvenir of Morocco, of Marrakech and of Riad Badi.
Our goal is that our guests feel at home (with more sun) and we are delighted to have successfully.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Riad Badi. This is a fantastic place to stay in Marrakech.

It is located a stones throw from Jamaa El Fna square and the Souks. It is in a quiet residential street and allows for a relaxing tranquil retreat from the busy square and markets.

Christian gives an orientation which is invaluable. He has a wealth of information on where to eat, what to buy where and what attractions to visit.

Both Isabelle and Christian are fantastic hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

They helped us organise a day trip to the ourika valley which was one of the highlights of our trip. They also organised our airport transfers and helped retrieve our lost luggage! The drivers are excellent.

The room was very comfortable and had a lot of traditional touches.

We enjoyed lovely breakfasts on the peaceful terrace in the warm summer sun each morning.
Each evening we enjoyed a glass of wine and a beer in the lovely seating area in the Riad.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend that you book Riad Badi for your stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Majella,
Thanks for choosing Riad Badi for your first stay in Marrakech and in Morocco and thanks for recommending Riad Badi to potential guests. We are grateful to you for writing your valuable feedback. More than that we are so delighted to read the lovely heading of your comment. It feels good to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks again and take care of yourselves.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We're just back from a fantastic 5 night trip to Marrakech made even better by the superb hospitality of Isabelle and Christian and their team at Riad Badi. Marrakech is a great city to explore, but the peace and tranquility of Riad Badi made the whole trip a wonderful experience, which was much needed as I was 5 months pregnant when we visited.

We stayed in the Turquoise room which was clean, quiet, comfortable and well appointed. Our hosts were always on hand within moments if we had any questions or wanted any advice and were very knowledgeable about the city.

The riad is on a residential street just a stones throw from Badi Palace and only 10-15 minutes walk from Jamaa El Fna square. We were far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the medina to relax whilst being close enough to dive in and out of the city several times a day. We only needed to use a taxi once to get to the Jardin Majorelle (worth a trip). The fare was just 20 Dirhams each way.

Thanks again to Isabelle and Christian for being such great hosts!

We wholeheartedly recommend Riad Badi. Book now!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Jemma and Gordon,
Thank you so much for posting a lovely review about your stay at Riad Badi: we are grateful to you for writing your valuable feedback.
As you wrote Riad Badi is a good location for visiting Marrakech close to the main square Jemma El Fna but enough far to be quiet.
We are glad to know you spent a lovely time in Marrakech to visit and to discover the typical ambiance in the souks and on Jemma El Fna square in the evening.
Thanks again and take care of yourselves.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Budget Places, Expedia, HostelBookers and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Badi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.