We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Marrakech Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Badi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Badi to your Saves list
Riad Badi
56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A true Marrakech Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here recently to celebrate a girly trip to celebrate my pre 40th Birthday and I can see why this is a top favourite on trip advisor. On entering our room , we were presented with a true Marrakech feel with beautiful little touches throughout, oh and Rose petals spread here and there adding a special touch.

Christian showed my friend and I on our first morning around the area and the souks and gave us a wealth of information on where to go and how much to pay for things which I would highly recommend, as the medina is a total warren of alleys and narrow streets. Christian nick named me La La Camilla which will always make me giggle ! ( which means princess !)

Riad Badi location is perfect, being a stone's throw from the the amazing hussle and bussle of the nearby street life and souks, yet we were blissfully unaware of any noise from outside as it was so quiet when we were back in the Riad.

I cant recommend this Riad enough. Isabelle and Christian are the nicest people you could wish for and so accommodating, nothing at all was too much trouble. They are both so welcoming and go well beyond the call of duty.

The rooms are beautifully presented with lovely fresh linen and well equipped ( including shampoo, shower gel and a hair dryer , so leave at home ) We spent some days undisturbed on the roof terrace sunbathing , anything we wanted was a mere call away.
The roof-top was great for sun-bathing; and seemed a million miles away from the bustling market streets that are right outside the door.. Not forgetting the lovely view of the storks in their nests on the rooftops above. Beautiful !

We ate breakfast every morning on the terrace, the freshly squeezed orange juice was delicious, various breads and cakes, jams yoghurt fruit etc, pastries, coffee a plenty.

I will just say that we were (and still are) impressed by the attention of Christian & Isabelle to very one of our requests, which had started with our planning a month before the trip. They helped us with reservations to the hamman spas and restaurants, and changing currency to get the best rate in Marrakech when we arrived.....You must try the following restaurants: Dejeuner Marrakech and Le Comptoir Darna. They were fabulous ! My only regret is that we didn't eat in the Riad as I have heard that the food was amazing there !

I do recommend that you choose the option to be collected to and from the airport as it makes the whole experience so much easier and hassle free. This can be organised in advance direct with Riad Badi.

All in all, I can't wait to return. I absolutely fell in love with both Christian, Isabelle & Marrakech and know there is so much more to see and do on my next visit, which will definitely be at the Raid BADI !

Please do not hesitate to stay here – you will not be disappointed !

Room Tip: The Cicognes room is perfect for people sharing a room I do recommend that you choose the option t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Lala Camilla,

Thanks for choosing Riad Badi to celebrate your birthday.
Thanks a lot for writing this complete and nice review with many details.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Riad Badi and are happy that you keep a nice souvenir of Marrakech.
Lala or princess you were always ready to visit the Medina or to explain us your discoveries or purchases while your friend took advantage of the sun to sunbathe on the terrace of the riad.

Thanks for all your compliments and why not another stay with your husband in the future.
Take care Lala Camilla.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
251
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Just back from 3nights here with Christian and Isabel. They've got a beautiful riad providing bed and breakfast. The rooms are beautifully set up and decorated and Christian and Isabel are so lovely and helpful!
They offer lovely little personal touches that shows they're really considering their guests needs.
Definitely take Christian up on his tour of the souk as he'll be able to help orientate you and offer advise on eateries and also on costs of shopping.
I would definitely advise having one dinner at the riad (with notice) the food is sooo much better than any restaurant and Isabel's desserts are AMAZING!!!!
I'll definitely be going back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Ga.....
Thank you for sharing your positive comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Riad Badi Marrakech.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Badi and are happy that you keep a nice souvenir of Morocco, of Marrakech and of Riad Badi.
As we usually do for our guests who discover Morocco for the first time, we have guided you in the Medina and given helpful advice.
For the dinner we tried to make you discover new flavors. We forwarded your compliments to our cooker.
Thank you again.
Kind regards.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent only a single night at Riad Badi but enjoyed it very much. We loved the attention to detail: the subtle, exotic fragrance that welcomes you; the lanterns lit at night, making the beautiful little courtyard with plunge pool and fountain a magical space; the uniquely wonderful bath products. Breakfast on the terrace was divine. As others have noted, Christian could not have been more helpful. In addition to orienting us on our arrival, he walked us to a cab on our departure, and even helped us to buy food for lunch along the way. We thought the location was excellent--quiet and convenient. Leaving the area does, it's true, take you along a busy street that's not exactly pedestrian-friendly, but this slight disadvantage is easily outweighed by all the other pleasures and comforts of staying at Riad Badi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

All of the reviews are spot on. This is a great Riad. Christian and Isabelle made us feel very welcome and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Riad to anyone. We stayed in the Hibiscus room, which was large, well appointed and befitted from having a very large bed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks a lot for sharing your experience and for recommending Riad Badi to anyone.
It feels good to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks again and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My friend and have just returned from our stay at Riad Badi and we are in total agreement with all the other great reviews about this riad. Christian and Isabelle are so welcoming and helpful that we felt like we were staying with family! They were always available to answer any questions we had, help us arrange transportation, and even provided an early breakfast for us the morning we had to leave before the usual breakfast time. The location of the riad was also perfect for us. It was about a 10 minute walk from the big square which was close enough to walk to whenever we wanted but far enough away that you could relax at night without a lot of noise. The dinners that Isabelle prepares are AMAZING and so good that we ate at the riad 4 out of our 5 nights. I highly recommend trying dinner here at least once during your stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in the Cigogne room and it was fine for us. The rooms do all open ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for sharing your stay at Riad badi on the website.
As we usually do we have received you as we would receive our friends or our family. We have tried to help you discover Marrakech and new flavors during the breakfasts and the dinners.
I am glad you have appreciated my desserts and I have already forwarded your compliments to our cook for rest of the meals.
It was a pleasure for us to receive you: thank you for your smiling and your joy of life....
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Large pleasant rooms, adequate breakfast and we would have been lost in the souk if Christian had not given us an excellent orientation tour to Jemaa el-Fnaa. However, we did have one issue with the riad. As in most riads, rooms open onto the central courtyard, where guests are allowed to smoke. As a non-smoker I found the smell of cigarette smoke wafting into our room most unpleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Ann,
Thanks for your stay at riad Badi and thanks for your feedback.
We are sorry that you had been embarrassed by the smell of cigarette smoke . We regret that you did not speak about it during your stay. We always try to do our best for our guests and we would only allow smoking on the terrace (outdoor).
It's the first time that one of our guests speaks about the inconvenience. It is true that in Morocco it is allowed to smoke everywhere except in government offices, airports, some shops and some restaurants.
From now, it will be allowed to smoke only on the terrasse. It will better for the comfort of future guests.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North yorks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We feel there is little to add following all of the other excellent reviews other than they are all unbelievably true!
We had such a warm, personal and friendly welcome by all at the riad, wonderful hospitality and brilliant information given by Isabelle and Christian as well as the useful tour everyone describes which made exploring on our own easier as we always managed to find our way back.
We enjoyed lovely,delicious, traditional Moroccan food for breakfast and dinner and compliment Isabelle on her "surprise desserts!.
This riad is the place to stay if you want to experience traditional Marrakech as a few minutes walk and you were in the chaos that is this wonderful place.
It was a real treat to stay here and it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Judith,
Thanks for staying at Riad Badi for three nights in the safran junior suite and thanks for writing the nice review .
We receive our guests like we would like to be received so that they keep the best souvenir of Morocco, Marrakech and Riad Badi.
It is always a pleasure to receive guests who crave to know, visit and taste new flavors.
We were delighted to meet you and to share your first experience with you in Morocco.
As your husband said before your leaving: it's not holidays but it's an experience.
Thanks for recommending Riad Badi for potential guests.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Badi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.