We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Badi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Badi to your Saves list
Riad Badi
56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
london
1 review
“Thank you for a wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I never normally write reviews but considering the wonderful service at Riad Badi, I thought it was the right thing to express my gratitude. The riad was just beautiful, the room we had was lovely and we could not have asked for a more gracious pair of hosts... They made us feel so welcome and were really informative and friendly. I would certainly go back and we have recommended the riad to our own friends and family. By far a better alternative to a hotel; this riad and its owners had charm and personality. Wonderful :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Laura,
Thank you for taking the time to share your nice review on Tripadvisor. It's always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback.
We were delighted to meet you and have spent a nice time with you. Thanks for our discussions after your walks in the Medina.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
260
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We decided to choose this Riad after reading so many reviews on TA and were not disappointed.
It is situated only 10minutes from the main square and reveals to be quiet at night. They provided us with lots of useful information on arrival to know what to expect in Marrakech. Definitely a 5 star service, we never feel left behind.
Our room was romantic decorated, was spacious, large bathroom, fresh towels and comfortable bed.
Breakfast can be served on terrace, in the dinning room or in the patio. Everyday we were surprised with different bakery and bread.
We enjoyed our time here and will definitely stay there if we go back into this beautiful city!
Thank you Christian and Isabelle! nous vous remercions pour votre très Bon accueil!

Room Tip: We had hibiscus room and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your opinion that affects us greatly.
We were delighted to receive you, to make you discover this beautiful city of Marrakech with all these features and we are pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of your room.
We wish you good luck in your beautiful country and will be delighted to see you again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I stay at Riad Badi with my friend for three nights. We received a warm welcome from Christian and Isabelle. Christian offered us to show the area and provide with all sort of necessary information. Riad is fully equipped with modern technology while offering you traditional Moroccan stay. Rooms, sitting area and in-suite bathrooms were cleaned and beating 5 star hotels quality. Our room linen, bath towels and toiletries were changed every day without being asked for it. We've offered different breakfast every day during our three nights stay. An airport transfer was also offered with a price of just 15€ hassle free.
We would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone who wish to make their stay fancy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks Karim for your stay at Riad Badi and for the nice review.
We are delighted that you have appreciated your stay at Riad Badi
We have spent lovely times together to discuss your visits in the medina. You are the first guests who have visited the Medina on a motorbike: another way to discover the numerous narrow streets and a nice experience.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Well.. I can thoroughly reccommend this Riad.The Riad Badi was a last minute decision for a holiday and proved to be a very fortunate choice. It is only a few minutes walk from the main square and the souks , and we found we could pretty much walk to all the places we wanted to see . As it is right next to the walls of the Palace Badi there was an easy landmark to be able to find it again, which can be a huge advatage in Marrakech. There is an attracitve and comfortable roof terrace...a plunge pool ..although this wasn't filled as the weather had been chilly. The Riad wasnt too far away to return to if we needed a rest during the day. The owners , Isabelle and Christian , are a friendly French couple and REALLY helpful. Christian took us out for an orientation walk around the square shortly after we arrived , gave us a map , and showed us the main square and the souks, which was a big bonus , and they were full of useful information about shopping , taxi prices, food safety etc. and we were frequently plied with biscuits and mint tea.
Riad Badi is very attractively decorated ,the bedrooms are lovely , cleaned every day. there are two comfortable sitting areas one with a tv and some games and a roof terrace with sun beds ,tables and sofas and a cracking view of the storks.

On request they arranged taxis for us to and from the airport .We paid £15 euros each way for this which was good value.....finding the place would have been a bit of a mission otherwise. The taxi driver walked us down the alleyway to the door. If you had never been to Marrakech you wouldnt expect to be going down this sort of alleyway to your hotel so it was reassuring that isabelle and Christian had ordered the taxi..they also paid the driver , so our holiday did not begin with having to deal with taxi drivers ..which , for an English person ....can be infuraiting in Marrakech.
The breakfasts were very good..you could eat indoors or on the roof terrace...choice of teas or coffee..fruit of some sort every morning, different types of pancakes,different conserves and fresh bread and yoghourt actually made in the Riad , which was delicious.
Having read good reviews about the food here we also ate at the Riad in the evenings. My two daughters had been to Marrakech in November with their boyfriends, eaten in restaurants , and
all had come home and with bacterial gastroenteritis for a week....she was keen not to repeat the experience and being two women alone we preferred not to be out and about after dark.Isabelle employs a morrocan cook and we had some very good meals . thanks Christian and Isabelle....your kind attentions were much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this great comment.
It is true that Marrakech is complicated by its architecture , its unnamed streets and the different culture of European culture, and we are delighted that our explanations you have been useful.
We have already passes on your compliments to Hanane for meals and breakfasts and Soukaina for cleaning rooms and the riad.
Thank you again for your visit and why do not you come back here, all together, you and your daughters and their boyfriends ...
Take care of yourself
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Marrakech is not easy to visit even for the seasoned traveler. It's a challenge for body and mind and your senses are working overtime. That is why it is even more important to have a place to retreat, to escape the buzz of the city for a little while, to re-group and reflect about what you have seen. The Riad Badi is perfect place for that. Almost everyone has sung its praise on these pages, which include, of course, how could it not,its charming owners, Isabelle and Christian who work very hard to run this oasis of peacefulness in the most gracious way possible.
There is really nothing much to add to it. Reviewers of these pages were right. It's a good place to be in Marrakech. We (a friend of mine and me) were there for six nights and as time was passing we appreciated the place even more. Marrakech takes time. You need a few days to get used to the pace and the people here. You will always be a tourist, a stranger, a source of discomfort and a source of income. There is no way to mingle in. Marrakech does not allow it. You can keep a bit of a romantic distance and there exists a whole industry to keep the romance going, but the moment the place gets inside of you, it becomes increasingly difficult to maintain the tourist romanticism. You slowly comprehend the distinction between authenticity and staged authenticity and you keep your ambivalence which one you prefer.
That being said, it is even more important that your place in Marrakech makes you feel at "home." Isabelle and Christian do their very best to make you feel like that the moment you enter the door and leave the city behind. The moment you arrive (they arranged a pick up for us from the airport – I highly recommend this for first-comers, since it is almost impossible to find it if you're here the first time around), you leave the buzz and constant noise of the outside (including the constant humming of the motor-scooters) and enter into an interior which is generous in its dimension, has a beautiful court yard where you take your breakfast and have some afternoon tea and again, where you can – alas need – to relax in between outings. I recommend visiting the beautiful gardens of Marrakech in order to generate the same peacefulness (for instance the Jardin Majorelle).
After your arrival and check in, Christian takes you on a little tour of the Medina of Marrakech. It's difficult to take it all in the first time around, but you get your basic orientation. Listen carefully to his recommendations (like the wonderful Museum of Photography) and take in the different routes you can take back to the Riad. Maps are only helpful in a more general way and you need your own senses to get around (asking is sometimes more difficult than you think). Thus, Christian's orientation tour is important. You see how central the Riad is located and after a day or two you will find it in your sleep. It is right between one of the central squares (Place des Ferblantiers) – a good orientation point and the Palace Badi (both located on all the maps), not far from the Central Square Djamaa El Fna, but far enough to be a little bit away from it (10-15 minutes walk). We soon realized the great location of the Riad Badi. We even walked to the New City and to the Jardin Majorelle from there – a longish walk, but if you are a city walker, you can do it. Thus, staying at the Badi does not require any transportation for any of the sites in the city - if you don't like to take a taxi or a bus, which is, of course, always a possibility. The place is spotlessly clean, our room (called the Saphrane) was very large, and the bathroom was generously laid out. You are provided all you need for your shower. Every morning we received a very tasty and generous breakfast (varied every morning), which takes through large parts of the day. When you come back in the afternoons, Isabelle usually asks you if you need a cup of tea and you can sit at the court and do a bit of reading and writing (I recommend Elias Canetti, "Voices of Marrakech" and Orwell's essay on Marrakech. They were written in 1954 and 1939, but both capture the atmosphere and the strangeness of the city which can still be felt. Canetti's description of the Mellah just next door could have been written the day before yesterday and Orwell's sentiments about what he sees in the city and how he feels about it are as true as ever. We were there for six days, saw most of the recommended sites (including the synagogue and the Jewish cemetery at the Mellah) took our dinners mostly at the food stands at the Djama El Fna (try Chez Aicha – we enjoyed that), even watched Real Madrid against Manchester United at the Café de France with a lot of locals which in a strange way was maybe one of the few times we blended in with the locals at Marrakech.
In sum, if you plan to come to Marrakech, try to stay a little longer and for that the Riad Badi is a great place for your tired feet and soul.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks Natan for choosing Riad Badi for your stay in Marrakech.
Thanks for writing the complete and nice review with many details on Marrakech life and on Riad Badi.
It is unfortunate that your American friend could not come because of heavy snow in the north of the United States.
We were delighted to meet you and have spent a nice time with you. We always like to receive guests who like knowing the life and the Moroccan culture: you have visited the Medina and have seen all its details; you have observed the life in Marrakech and have compared with life described in a book written in 1954.
Thanks for our discusions after your walks in the Medina.
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

There probably is'nt any thing to say that hasn't already been said, but Riad Badi realy is a wonderful place to stay. Christian and Isabell are the nicest people you could meet. Nothing is too much trouble for them, Isabell even managed to cater for my very difficult eating problems. We can recomend the Riad Badi and will definately stay there again when we go to Marrakech.

Rob and George Graves

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear George and Rob,
Thank you for choosing Riad Badi for your first stay in Morocco and for having written the very nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying at Riad Badi.
We try to cook a meal, taking into account diets and fresh vegetables on the market.
We have spent lovely times together to discuss your many walks in the medina, work of plaster in the riad and the work in a guesthouse in Morocco.
That is with pleasure we welcome a second time at the Riad.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a very enjoyable time at Riad Badi. Isabelle and Christian are excellent hosts and the breakfast was different every day and kept us going until a lunchtime snack from a stree stall. Riad Badi is in a very good location - it is at the edge of the old town so you are part of the old town and a 10/15 minute walk from the central square but not in the middle which suited us very well. The riad itself is good - our bedroom was very nice - large bed and walk in shower. We recommend it to anyone visiting Marrakech

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Andrew,
Thank you for taking to you the time to write a great review and for recommending the Riad Badi. The Riad Badi's team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We were delighted to have met you.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Budget Places, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Badi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.