We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for your tired feet and soul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Badi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Badi to your Saves list
Riad Badi
56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A great place for your tired feet and soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Marrakech is not easy to visit even for the seasoned traveler. It's a challenge for body and mind and your senses are working overtime. That is why it is even more important to have a place to retreat, to escape the buzz of the city for a little while, to re-group and reflect about what you have seen. The Riad Badi is perfect place for that. Almost everyone has sung its praise on these pages, which include, of course, how could it not,its charming owners, Isabelle and Christian who work very hard to run this oasis of peacefulness in the most gracious way possible.
There is really nothing much to add to it. Reviewers of these pages were right. It's a good place to be in Marrakech. We (a friend of mine and me) were there for six nights and as time was passing we appreciated the place even more. Marrakech takes time. You need a few days to get used to the pace and the people here. You will always be a tourist, a stranger, a source of discomfort and a source of income. There is no way to mingle in. Marrakech does not allow it. You can keep a bit of a romantic distance and there exists a whole industry to keep the romance going, but the moment the place gets inside of you, it becomes increasingly difficult to maintain the tourist romanticism. You slowly comprehend the distinction between authenticity and staged authenticity and you keep your ambivalence which one you prefer.
That being said, it is even more important that your place in Marrakech makes you feel at "home." Isabelle and Christian do their very best to make you feel like that the moment you enter the door and leave the city behind. The moment you arrive (they arranged a pick up for us from the airport – I highly recommend this for first-comers, since it is almost impossible to find it if you're here the first time around), you leave the buzz and constant noise of the outside (including the constant humming of the motor-scooters) and enter into an interior which is generous in its dimension, has a beautiful court yard where you take your breakfast and have some afternoon tea and again, where you can – alas need – to relax in between outings. I recommend visiting the beautiful gardens of Marrakech in order to generate the same peacefulness (for instance the Jardin Majorelle).
After your arrival and check in, Christian takes you on a little tour of the Medina of Marrakech. It's difficult to take it all in the first time around, but you get your basic orientation. Listen carefully to his recommendations (like the wonderful Museum of Photography) and take in the different routes you can take back to the Riad. Maps are only helpful in a more general way and you need your own senses to get around (asking is sometimes more difficult than you think). Thus, Christian's orientation tour is important. You see how central the Riad is located and after a day or two you will find it in your sleep. It is right between one of the central squares (Place des Ferblantiers) – a good orientation point and the Palace Badi (both located on all the maps), not far from the Central Square Djamaa El Fna, but far enough to be a little bit away from it (10-15 minutes walk). We soon realized the great location of the Riad Badi. We even walked to the New City and to the Jardin Majorelle from there – a longish walk, but if you are a city walker, you can do it. Thus, staying at the Badi does not require any transportation for any of the sites in the city - if you don't like to take a taxi or a bus, which is, of course, always a possibility. The place is spotlessly clean, our room (called the Saphrane) was very large, and the bathroom was generously laid out. You are provided all you need for your shower. Every morning we received a very tasty and generous breakfast (varied every morning), which takes through large parts of the day. When you come back in the afternoons, Isabelle usually asks you if you need a cup of tea and you can sit at the court and do a bit of reading and writing (I recommend Elias Canetti, "Voices of Marrakech" and Orwell's essay on Marrakech. They were written in 1954 and 1939, but both capture the atmosphere and the strangeness of the city which can still be felt. Canetti's description of the Mellah just next door could have been written the day before yesterday and Orwell's sentiments about what he sees in the city and how he feels about it are as true as ever. We were there for six days, saw most of the recommended sites (including the synagogue and the Jewish cemetery at the Mellah) took our dinners mostly at the food stands at the Djama El Fna (try Chez Aicha – we enjoyed that), even watched Real Madrid against Manchester United at the Café de France with a lot of locals which in a strange way was maybe one of the few times we blended in with the locals at Marrakech.
In sum, if you plan to come to Marrakech, try to stay a little longer and for that the Riad Badi is a great place for your tired feet and soul.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks Natan for choosing Riad Badi for your stay in Marrakech.
Thanks for writing the complete and nice review with many details on Marrakech life and on Riad Badi.
It is unfortunate that your American friend could not come because of heavy snow in the north of the United States.
We were delighted to meet you and have spent a nice time with you. We always like to receive guests who like knowing the life and the Moroccan culture: you have visited the Medina and have seen all its details; you have observed the life in Marrakech and have compared with life described in a book written in 1954.
Thanks for our discusions after your walks in the Medina.
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
248
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

There probably is'nt any thing to say that hasn't already been said, but Riad Badi realy is a wonderful place to stay. Christian and Isabell are the nicest people you could meet. Nothing is too much trouble for them, Isabell even managed to cater for my very difficult eating problems. We can recomend the Riad Badi and will definately stay there again when we go to Marrakech.

Rob and George Graves

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear George and Rob,
Thank you for choosing Riad Badi for your first stay in Morocco and for having written the very nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying at Riad Badi.
We try to cook a meal, taking into account diets and fresh vegetables on the market.
We have spent lovely times together to discuss your many walks in the medina, work of plaster in the riad and the work in a guesthouse in Morocco.
That is with pleasure we welcome a second time at the Riad.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a very enjoyable time at Riad Badi. Isabelle and Christian are excellent hosts and the breakfast was different every day and kept us going until a lunchtime snack from a stree stall. Riad Badi is in a very good location - it is at the edge of the old town so you are part of the old town and a 10/15 minute walk from the central square but not in the middle which suited us very well. The riad itself is good - our bedroom was very nice - large bed and walk in shower. We recommend it to anyone visiting Marrakech

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Andrew,
Thank you for taking to you the time to write a great review and for recommending the Riad Badi. The Riad Badi's team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We were delighted to have met you.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Re reading some of these most recent reviews there's little I can add! We were enchanted with the comfort and style of our accomodation and 10/10,no... 100/100 friendly welcome from our charming hosts. This was our first trip to Morocco and we have not stayed in riads before . I am now totally hooked if they give the same level of helpful service as we received from Isabelle and Christian. Nothing was too much trouble and thanks to them we were well informed and well prepared to get the best from our trip.
Oh, and breakfasts were delightful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Hester,
Thanks for your stay at Riad Badi. Thanks for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
We are glad to have met you and we are delighted you have appreciated our welcome and our riad.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Isabelle and Christian are wonderful hosts. He in particular was quite knowledgable and we would recommend his 'orientations' around the Souk! Christian helped us arrange transportation during our first visit there in December and was flexible when we had to arrive late on a last minute return visit later in January '13.

On our first visit, we enjoyed dinner on arrival and 3 nights in the Cannelle room which was wonderful.
A week later on our second visit, we enjoyed just 1 night in the Hibiscus room which was even better! After visiting several cities, we were very happy to return the comfort and calm of this peaceful Riad in sometimes mad Marrakech.

We ended up eating many breakfasts at the Riad; they made a variety of tasty baked goods and pancakes and homemade yogurt! We also spent a good amount of time sunning on the roof. One night we even watched some DVDs in the lounge.

Their tricky to find Riad is just inside the Medina. It is much quieter than in inside of the main Souk area but is really just a short walk away from most of the sites inside the Medina. It is also easy to hire taxis, ask Christian for guidance!

Room Tip: Both rooms were excellent clean with great decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks Ashley and Charlie for having chosen the Riad Badi and thanks for taking your time to write the wonderful review.
You organized yourself your Moroccan trip and you wanted to see as much as possible. You stayed three nights at Riad badi before leaving for your tour: Ouzazate and Merzouga and you stayed one night before your stay at Essaouira.
The marvelous views of Atlas mountains, the hike along the Sahara desert and the sunset at Erg Chebbi are unforgotten.
We were delighted to meet you.
Your joy and your daily laughter miss us already.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

we had an amazing time at the Riad Badi, perfectly positioned in the old town Marrachech.
the owners did everything they could, to make our stay as perfect as possible, both in the Riad and giving advise on where to visit.

don't stay in a faceless hotel, use the Riiad Badi for 5 star treatment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is my first ever review as I was so impressed with the level of service in Riad Badi. Christian and Isabelle go out of their way to help you, on the first night even walking us to where our Sahara tour was leaving from the next day. The riad is in a good location, clean but the friendliness is the thing that makes this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear James and S...
It is always nice to receive guests wishing to visit, explore and understand Morocco. You were full of energy and you visited in a few days, all places of Marrakesh and surroundings and the desert.
Thank you for your comment (the first one) and for your visit to Riad Badi.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Badi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.