We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Badi

Save Saved
You added Riad Badi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Badi
56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

we had an amazing time at the Riad Badi, perfectly positioned in the old town Marrachech.
the owners did everything they could, to make our stay as perfect as possible, both in the Riad and giving advise on where to visit.

don't stay in a faceless hotel, use the Riiad Badi for 5 star treatment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
243
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is my first ever review as I was so impressed with the level of service in Riad Badi. Christian and Isabelle go out of their way to help you, on the first night even walking us to where our Sahara tour was leaving from the next day. The riad is in a good location, clean but the friendliness is the thing that makes this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear James and S...
It is always nice to receive guests wishing to visit, explore and understand Morocco. You were full of energy and you visited in a few days, all places of Marrakesh and surroundings and the desert.
Thank you for your comment (the first one) and for your visit to Riad Badi.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

So glad we had the great opportunity to stay at Riad Badi and get to meet Isabelle and Christiane.
First of all, the location of the riad is great. It is very quiet without any traffic noise, yet only about 10 minutes away from the heart of the Old Medina, where all the actions and sights are.
The riad and rooms are beautifully decorated and super clean. The bed was the most comfortable one we have slept during the entire Morocco trip! We slept so well during our stay at Riad Badi that we did not even suffer from any jet lag!!! We later stayed in a ” fancy” riad for almost three times the price in Fez, and the bed was not even as nice as the one at Riad Badi!
Both Isabelle and Christiane were gracious hosts who made our stay in Marrakesh such a pleasant and memorable experience. From my very first contact with Riad Badi, it was all done in the professional manner with a personal touch. Isabelle answered all my questions/concerns promptly, arranged our airport transfer. Right after we arrived and finished all the paperwork, Christiane took us on a walk through the Medina, Djeema El Fna and showed us interesting places to visit later on. It was a great walk and we enjoyed listening to all his stories.

The breakfast was great, our only regret was not staying for dinner at the riad! May be next time when we are in Marrakesh!

Thanks so much Isabelle and Christiane!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you M for having chosen Riad Badi for your stay in Marrakech and for writing a nice review on Tripadvisor.
All these compliments that affect us much: we try to do our best to accommodate our guests so that gets the best from their stay.
We were delighted to meet you too and if you go back to Riad Badi it will be with pleasure to see you again and the team will prepare you dinner.
Thanks again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just returned from a marvellous 5 days in Marrakech. Our hosts were welcoming and knowledgeable and totally in -tune with what we required. We had fantastic advice on what to see, where to eat, where to shop and what to pay. The riad itself is superbly positioned - 200 metres or so from the main drag up to the big square and thus quiet and "hustler-free".
Isabelle cooked us a very good traditional meal on the day of our arrival and Christian accompanied us on a walk around town to show us what o look out for. The riad itself is spotless and the rooms are spacious and have been decorated both tasteful and comfortably.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Riad Badi for your stay in Marrakech and thank you for your wonderful advice. We do our best and we are pleased to have contributed to the success of your stay. We are delighted to meeting you because it was the first time we received a "prince".
You still have plenty of places to explore and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I've been using TripAdvisor for a while to help decide on places to stay and eat but I've never actually added a review (selfish I know!). Well this has now changed after staying at Riad Badi.

We were there for 7 nights over New Year. Firstly, 7 nights in Marrakech is probably too long if you wanted to visit Marrakech for a city break alone, and mixing it with a few nights either in the desert or at the coast would be better, but we had decided to have a relaxing week away (even though the medina of Marrakech is probably the opposite of relaxation!).

As we had booked for 7 nights at the Riad, we received a generous discount on our stay, which was a nice surprise as we were not expecting this, which always makes your trip start on a positive note! We asked the Riad to organise transportation to/from the airport which went smoothly. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Isabelle and Christian, we gave us complementary tea and pastries whilst filling in a few forms and then Christian went through a map of Marrakech and suggested places that were worth visiting, which was very helpful. The next day, Christian took us on a trip to the main square and through the souks. As we've not been to Marrakech before, this was extremely helpful and eased us in to Marrakech very nicely.

The Riad is south of Jemaa el-Fnaa square, and only about a 5-10 minutes walk from the Riad. Helpfully, there's one direct street to get to the square which makes it easier than having to navigate through the winding souks! I was also happy with the location of the Riad, as it was away from the main square and once in the Riad, it was peaceful rather than the bustle of the medina, which is vital after a long day trawling through the souks. Plus the Riad backs onto the palace where all the stalks nest, which is nice to watch whilst eating breakfast or reading a book on the terrace.

Speaking of breakfast, the food here was lovely. Each day, you would get bread, pancakes, cakes, yogurts and fruit, which were delicious. There was also plenty of variety day-to-day and always too much! You can eat your breakfast inside or out on the roof terrace. We also ate at the Riad one night, and the food was really tasty (and again way too much!). It was good to do this, as we really felt like we were getting authentic Moroccan food, cooked to a good standard. Worth doing!

We stayed in the turquoise room and thought the room was great. Clean, spacious without being huge and well decorated. The bathroom was also very nice, with a brilliant shower- always important! The wi-fi in the Riad worked really well in our room, although I don't know if this is good or bad!

We wanted to have a day trip to the Atlas mountains and Isabelle and Christian arranged this for us, and it was reasonably priced and definitely worth doing.

We had a great stay in Marrakech, and a large part of this was due to the quality of the Riad. We were trying to think of negative things to write in this review, so that it doesn't seem so biased but it was difficult to find something as we really enjoyed it here! We would definitely recommend this place, and if you did stay here you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the turquoise room which we can recommend, but from looking at the pictures online, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear James,
Thank you for making an exception for the first time to have written a complete review on tripadvisor. Thank you for all these compliments that affect us much.
We pass on your compliments to Soukaïna for breakfast and dinner.
It is true that seven days to visit Marrakech, it's too long, but you visited at your own pace, taking advantage of the holiday to relax.
We were delighted to meet you.
Thank you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We haven't even returned home from traveling and I want to make sure to write this while everything is fresh in mind. When we originally planned to travel to Morocco while visiting our son in Spain, I had no idea what to expect. Different language, different customs, I felt totally adrift. From the very beginning, Isabelle was so welcoming even before meeting us. She steered us through the reservation process and answered all of our questions thoroughly, even those that probably were most obvious. When we asked for advice about planning travel outside of Marrekech, she put together an itinerary which was exactly what we had in mind, without even knowing it. We didn't have to worry about guide, or car, or destination.
Meeting us at the airport after a long flight, our transition from US to Riad Badi was seamless. The car ride showed me a country that was awash with color and sound. Walking down the quiet street to the Riad was like being in another time period. Opening the door and walking inside was like entering an oasis of calm and beauty. The central courtyard was full of sunlight and shade. The rooms (we had a total of 3) were charming, beautiful, quaint and clean all at the same time.
Isabelle ushered us through the official paperwork over Moroccan tea and cookies. After a nap Christian took us around the city through the streets which at first were confusing but turned out to be totally understandable and navigable. He quickly showed us our way around so we would be able to find it all on the following day. Instinctively he knew what would be most overwhelming and made it familiar. In fact, whenever we were trying to find our way to a destination over the course of the visit, he would take us there or make sure we knew where we were going.
It's not just that the Riad is beautiful and that Christian and Isabelle are amazing people. The food for breakfast was more than we had ever expected. On our return from our desert trip we had dinner at the Riad rather than going out and it was better than any restaurant we had visited. Sakhrina is not just incredibly pleasant and capable but a great cook too. (Wait til you see how clean the three of them keep things).
The itinerary that Isabelle organized through the Atlas mountains and the Gorges and the Desert was right on the money. Our guide, Adil, is competent and intelligent and was incredibly tolerant of a rambunctious family. He became our friend and in so doing made our connection to Morocco and its people real. We can't wait until we're able to return , renew our friendships and explore more of this incredbly beautiful and rich country.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for your stay at Riad Badi with your family. Thanks for having trusted us to organize your stay in Morocco. Thanks for taking the time to write this wonderful and full review.
We are glad to have met you and we are delighted to have contributed to the success of your holidays and have gave you the desire to return to discover this wonderful country.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Riad Badi is not just a bed and breakfast. This is the house of gracious hosts Christian and Isabelle. Upon entering its big door, all we could say was, "Wow!" We were astonished and speechless as to how lovely this place is. The pictures posted on this site is how you see it. We booked the turquoise room and we loved it. The room was wonderfully decorated. It was very clean. There is a heating system which was very comforting since our trip was during winter. The toilet was clean as well. Coffee and the local mint tea were offered to us, which we both enjoyed.

Christian showed us around the square and the souks. He gave us tips on how to be street wise in their area. He advised us on how to maximise our stay by identifying which destinations we should prioritize.

What we found really touching was when Isabelle gave us a cold pack for my girlfriend's massively swollen ankle. For us, it was a kind and caring gesture. We felt like we are not just guests. We were valued guests, perhaps like close friends or even family.

Thank you for welcoming us to your abode, Christian and Isabelle. We will definitely come back and visit you some time in the near or far future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thanks Ted for having chosen the Riad Badi for your first anniversary and thanks for taking your time to write the VERY nice review.
You organized yourself your Moroccan trip and you wanted to see as much as possible. You stayed two nights at Riad badi before leaving for your great tour: Casablanca, Ouzazate, Merzouga and Fez. The marvelous views of Atlas mountains, the hike along the Sahara desert and the sunset at Erg Chebbi are unforgotten.
We were delighted to meet you and to have contributed to the success of your trip.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Badi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.