We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely go back and recommend Riad Badi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Badi

Save Saved
You added Riad Badi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Badi
56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back and recommend Riad Badi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We got our deal through Voyage Prive and stayed here for 4 nights. Riad Badi is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are well decorated, with rose petals everywhere (even in the loo :)) and Isabelle and Christian make a real effort to make your stay special. It's well situated, with a short walk to the main square, but you have peace and quiet away from the intense streets.

Breakfast was amazing, fruit, yoghurt, cake, cheeses, pancakes or other local breads/pastries etc. We had breakfast on the sun terrace and enjoyed soaking up the last rays of sun we might see for a while!

I would definitely recommend this Riad to friends and would definitely go back!

My suggestion is to book the taxi that is offered on the website, as finding the Riad for the first time is tricky, but once you have found it the first time its fine!

At the Riad there are recommendations of where you can visit, they have connections with a Hammam spa and suggest places to eat.

Go - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for your stay at Riad Badi. Thanks for your very nice review. Thanks to recommend Riad Badi to your friends.
We are pleased you enjoyed these few days at Riad Badi: we receive our guests as we would be received; we serve hearty breakfasts and varied and we try to make you discover Moroccan specialties.
It was a real pleasure to receive you.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
207
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houten, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have stayed 4 nights at the Riad Badi and had an excellent time. Isabelle & Christian work very hard to make your stay wonderful. The first night we had a traditional dinner at the riad, a very nice kefta tajine served with Morroccan wine. The riad is stylish decorated and spotless clean, the rooms are comfortable and romantic. And quiet....it is amazing that you hear really no sound from the hectic medina outside. In the morning we had our breakfast at the roof terrace with stunning views of the stork birds. Isabelle & Christian are always around to help you, for example to book a trip. We decided in the morning to go to the Ourika valley and they arranged quickly a guide/driver for us. This trip we can really recommend, it was beautifull in the mountains. They also booked a massage for us at 5 Elements spa, but we would not go there again, the massage was average. We also went to Hammam Ziani, and that was a great experience for a much better price.The riad has a good location, with some nice restaurants around like Dar Essalam, Le Tanjia and the Kosybar for some drinks. We heared that we were the first guests from The Netherlands, so we hope many more will follow. It is difficult to choose from all the riads in Marrakech, but we are very glad that we went to Riad Badi. Thanks again for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks Marjon for your stay at Riad Badi and for your very wonderful review.
You are the first Dutch guests. In spite of the rain you visited many places , ate in nice restaurants and went to the Ourika valley.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Badi and are delighted that you keep a nice souvenir of Marrakech.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Perfect place to get away from the hustle & bustle of the Medina. Thank you Isabelle & Christian for being such wonderful hosts, even walking us to the Turkish Hamman as we surely would have gotten lost!

The Riad was lovely, spacious, with all the amenities required. Wifi was great. Loved the traditional breakfast spread and delicious mint tea. The Riad is about 8 mins walk from the main square.

Our room was beautifully presented when we arrived, with rosebuds etc. Lovely welcome! Thank you !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sivashna,
Thank you to have chosen the Riad Badi to celebrate your anniversary. Thank you for taking your time to write an excellent review.
During your stay you visited many places, ate in great restaurants and went to the hammam. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Badi and are happy that you keep a nice souvenir of Morocco, of Marrakech and of Riad Badi.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budaors, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have stayed two nights at Riad Badi in Marrakesh before leaving home from our Moroccan vacation. It was the absolute highlight in the city for us. Spotlessly clean place with fantastic interior design, perfect to the details. In the evening lights make a magical atmosphere, the next day followed by a breakfast (very tasty locally prepared fresh food) served on the roof terrace. You enjoy there the morning sun while looking at the white storks on the walls of Badi Palace. Great! On the top Christian guided us in the labyrinth of the Medina and gave us some instructions to Jemaa el Fnaa. Very friendly and relaxed place, real luxury at a reasonable price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks Istvan to have written the very nice review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the riad by its architecture and its brightness and also by our Moroccan complete breakfast served on the terrace in front of the Badi Palace.
What a surprise to see you early in the morning with your wife and your friends on the terrace with your cameras in front the wall of Badi Palace to take nice pictures of storks.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in Marrakech for the last weekend and it was the first time we had come to this city. I would say Riad Badi was one of the best attractions of the city: we were so delighted at the atmosphere of this riad and we really enjoyed the comfortable rooms. Besides, the staff were really kind, taking a lot of time to give us tips for our visit of the city. Although I got back in Paris yesterday only, I have already started recommanding this riad to my friends! PS: must have breakfast on the upper terrace!

Room Tip: I have no specific room to recommend: they are all perfect and each of them has its own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks Antoine for your stay at Riad Badi and for your very nice review. In spite of Aïd El Kebir you have able to visit the medina and the most of museums. You have tasted Moroccan cuisine and replaced the coffee with milk by the "noos noos".
We have spent a pleasant time with you.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

A fantastic place to stay. The Riad was spotless, comfortable and great value with a stylish morrocan feel, a good modern spacious bathroom and large bedroom . The welcome we received from Isabelle and Christian could not have been bettered and Christian's guided walk around Marrakech was superb giving us the confidence to go out into the Souks and be sure we could find our way back and not get into any trouble. The location within the Medina (old town) was great, it was easy to walk anywhere and get to all the main attractions. The haunting and exotic sounds of Marrakech were everywhere but as you entered the Riad an air of peace and tranquility washed over you. The breakfasts were delicious and you could eat in and have a home cooked morrocan meal if you wanted to, which we much enjoyed, or walk to any number of restaurants in the Jemaa el fina Square or elsewhere. Can't recommend this Riad highly enough if you want to explore Marrakech and feel looked after and part of it all this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks Janny for having taken your time to write the very nice review. Thanks Janny for your stay at Riad Badi.
During your stay in Morocco you have visited all the museums, have walked on the main narrow streets of the médina and have gone in the new town with the touristic bus and you have appreciated the Majorelle garden with its quiet and its numerous types of plants.
We were delighted to meet you and we know you will think about the Riad Badi when you take a tea with a dash of milk.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was the best place to stay, Christian and Isobell were absolutely wonderful! The Riad was spotlessly clean, the food was great, and the location was perfect to either walk, taxi, or bus to all of Marrakech. We were three women (of a "certain age") doing our "bucket list" of places we always wanted to go, and Marrakech was the top of our list. I doubt we could have found a better place to stay, with a better host and hostess. Christian and Isobell made sure we knew where to go, how to act, and how to stay out of trouble during our visit. When we would return to the Riad Christian would climb the numberous stairs to the terrace with our multiple evening bottles of wine, always with a smile and a warm welcome. Isobell made sure we were well fed, the breakfast every day was delicious, and I would recommend staying in for at least one evening meal, she is a great cook! I would rush back to stay there again, and highly recommend it to any one planning to visit Marrakech.

Room Tip: Christian and Isobell arranged the room with three beds and plenty of space, even for three women! N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks Pat for your stay at Riad Badi and for the lovely review. After five nights at Riad, the Medina has no secret for you. We spent a pleasant time with you and your friends. Your joy and your laughter we miss them already. I had prepared your favorite dessert and for the rest of the meal I have already sent your compliments to Soukaïna. Come back anytime.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Badi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.