We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sanctuary !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Badi

Save Saved
You added Riad Badi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Badi
56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Sanctuary !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Perfect place to get away from the hustle & bustle of the Medina. Thank you Isabelle & Christian for being such wonderful hosts, even walking us to the Turkish Hamman as we surely would have gotten lost!

The Riad was lovely, spacious, with all the amenities required. Wifi was great. Loved the traditional breakfast spread and delicious mint tea. The Riad is about 8 mins walk from the main square.

Our room was beautifully presented when we arrived, with rosebuds etc. Lovely welcome! Thank you !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sivashna,
Thank you to have chosen the Riad Badi to celebrate your anniversary. Thank you for taking your time to write an excellent review.
During your stay you visited many places, ate in great restaurants and went to the hammam. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Badi and are happy that you keep a nice souvenir of Morocco, of Marrakech and of Riad Badi.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
233
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budaors, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have stayed two nights at Riad Badi in Marrakesh before leaving home from our Moroccan vacation. It was the absolute highlight in the city for us. Spotlessly clean place with fantastic interior design, perfect to the details. In the evening lights make a magical atmosphere, the next day followed by a breakfast (very tasty locally prepared fresh food) served on the roof terrace. You enjoy there the morning sun while looking at the white storks on the walls of Badi Palace. Great! On the top Christian guided us in the labyrinth of the Medina and gave us some instructions to Jemaa el Fnaa. Very friendly and relaxed place, real luxury at a reasonable price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks Istvan to have written the very nice review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the riad by its architecture and its brightness and also by our Moroccan complete breakfast served on the terrace in front of the Badi Palace.
What a surprise to see you early in the morning with your wife and your friends on the terrace with your cameras in front the wall of Badi Palace to take nice pictures of storks.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in Marrakech for the last weekend and it was the first time we had come to this city. I would say Riad Badi was one of the best attractions of the city: we were so delighted at the atmosphere of this riad and we really enjoyed the comfortable rooms. Besides, the staff were really kind, taking a lot of time to give us tips for our visit of the city. Although I got back in Paris yesterday only, I have already started recommanding this riad to my friends! PS: must have breakfast on the upper terrace!

Room Tip: I have no specific room to recommend: they are all perfect and each of them has its own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks Antoine for your stay at Riad Badi and for your very nice review. In spite of Aïd El Kebir you have able to visit the medina and the most of museums. You have tasted Moroccan cuisine and replaced the coffee with milk by the "noos noos".
We have spent a pleasant time with you.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

A fantastic place to stay. The Riad was spotless, comfortable and great value with a stylish morrocan feel, a good modern spacious bathroom and large bedroom . The welcome we received from Isabelle and Christian could not have been bettered and Christian's guided walk around Marrakech was superb giving us the confidence to go out into the Souks and be sure we could find our way back and not get into any trouble. The location within the Medina (old town) was great, it was easy to walk anywhere and get to all the main attractions. The haunting and exotic sounds of Marrakech were everywhere but as you entered the Riad an air of peace and tranquility washed over you. The breakfasts were delicious and you could eat in and have a home cooked morrocan meal if you wanted to, which we much enjoyed, or walk to any number of restaurants in the Jemaa el fina Square or elsewhere. Can't recommend this Riad highly enough if you want to explore Marrakech and feel looked after and part of it all this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks Janny for having taken your time to write the very nice review. Thanks Janny for your stay at Riad Badi.
During your stay in Morocco you have visited all the museums, have walked on the main narrow streets of the médina and have gone in the new town with the touristic bus and you have appreciated the Majorelle garden with its quiet and its numerous types of plants.
We were delighted to meet you and we know you will think about the Riad Badi when you take a tea with a dash of milk.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was the best place to stay, Christian and Isobell were absolutely wonderful! The Riad was spotlessly clean, the food was great, and the location was perfect to either walk, taxi, or bus to all of Marrakech. We were three women (of a "certain age") doing our "bucket list" of places we always wanted to go, and Marrakech was the top of our list. I doubt we could have found a better place to stay, with a better host and hostess. Christian and Isobell made sure we knew where to go, how to act, and how to stay out of trouble during our visit. When we would return to the Riad Christian would climb the numberous stairs to the terrace with our multiple evening bottles of wine, always with a smile and a warm welcome. Isobell made sure we were well fed, the breakfast every day was delicious, and I would recommend staying in for at least one evening meal, she is a great cook! I would rush back to stay there again, and highly recommend it to any one planning to visit Marrakech.

Room Tip: Christian and Isobell arranged the room with three beds and plenty of space, even for three women! N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks Pat for your stay at Riad Badi and for the lovely review. After five nights at Riad, the Medina has no secret for you. We spent a pleasant time with you and your friends. Your joy and your laughter we miss them already. I had prepared your favorite dessert and for the rest of the meal I have already sent your compliments to Soukaïna. Come back anytime.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Myself and my parnter spent 9 nights in this Riad in October 2012and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice.

The location is perfect, it's only a 5 minute walk from Jemaa el fna square (the main square in the medina) and therefore close to the souks and easy walking distance to just about all of the medina. It is also over looking the walls to the Badi Palace and all the storks roosting on top. However despite being in such a central location it is a minute or two down a quite derb (small street) and is therefore remarkably quiet. The riad is also beautifully decarated mostly with local items.

The price was very reasonable compared with other riads of a similar look and location. Also prices when at the riad are good, for example on one night we ate our evening meal there and were charged 20euro each for a 3 course meal, wine was between 10euro and 15euro a bottle and was saved for you if you didn't drink it all! It also turned out to be one of the best meals we had on the holiday. The breakfasts are great too, all homemade by their cook (even the yogurt!) and delicious.

The best reason to stay here however has got to be the service which was more personal and helpful than I have ever come across. Christian and Isabelle greeted us as though we really were coming to stay in their home, gave us advice on what to do and see and made sure we had everything we could want from homemade biscuits and treats on arrival to buying us in wine they thought we might like to try. On your day of arrival you are walked to the main square to help get your bearings which was invaluable for first timers in Marrakech and we were even walked to and from our hammam as it was in the middle of the maze that is Marrakech! Their staff are equally polite and helpful and made sure we were always catered for.

I suppose it says it all that we have both agreed to go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you Rachel and your partner for taking your time to write such a very nice and detailed review. The Riad Badi's team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We have spent lovely times together to discuss your many walks in the medina, Moroccan culture and the life in Morocco.
That is with pleasure we welcome a second time at the Riad.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We are a group of four friends who absolutely loved Riad Badi. We were warmly welcome on arrival by Christian and Isabelle who were great hosts, extremely helpful, willing to go the extra mile to make sure our stay was a pleasant one. Our rooms were extremely comfortable and well-appointed and the food was wonderful. What more can we say? Riad Badi is an excellent place to stay. Highly recommended.

Marjolaine, Estelle, Thalia, Laura

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking to you the time to write a great review and recommend the Riad Badi.
You have chosen Morocco and the Riad Badi for finding you after your entry into working life. This trip was a success and we are pleased to have contributed.
We were delighted to have met you.
Thank you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Budget Places, Expedia, HostelBookers and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Badi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.