We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acacia Villas & Riad

Save Saved
You added Acacia Villas & Riad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Acacia Villas & Riad
Km 6 Route du Barrage (direcion d'Amizmiz) | Chrifia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Provo, Utah
1 review
“Magical Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our family of 6 had the most incredible stay here in late May! We arrived after having taken an early flight from Paris (Beauvais airport which meant a super early wake-up with four kids) and couldn't believe the magic that awaited us at Acacia Villas & Riad. We were instantly welcomed like family by Katia and Marco and their fabulous staff. As our room wasn't ready, we were given a tour and then treated to delicious Moroccan pastries and mint tea at one of the gorgeous outdoor lounge areas. We were instantly transformed into relaxed happy travelers and ready for the pool. Seriously, we didn't want to leave to check out the medina and souks because our lunch was so fabulous, the pool so beautiful and refreshing, and our kids were in absolute heaven (exploring the grounds, playing pool and ping pong, visiting the turkeys and chickens, and swimming). When we were ready to venture into Marrakech Katia and Marco called for a taxi, which they also managed for us when we headed to Essaouira the next day. In a nutshell, we can't say enough good things about this riad. It truly was an incredible experience and we were sad that we had only planned for one night here. Our room was spacious, comfortable, quiet and beautifully decorated. Also, they managed to add another bed to our room so that all 6 of us slept comfortably. We hope to return to Marrakech just for the chance to experience Acacia again! Thank you Katia and Marco!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    9
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
26
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I am American, I dwell in Paris. I visited Acacia Riad in mai 2012 after having read fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor. The Ryad is just beautiful. The rooms are very welcoming. We enjoyed a lovely lunch in the beautiful gardens surrounded by orange trees and birds. We were pleasantly surprised at dinner times. The food was scrumptious and I truly could not fault anything on the menu. The portions were too big for me but I am not complaining. It really is a place you have to go and experience for yourself as reading a review cannot capture the atmosphere the owners have managed to build.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful holiday here. The hotel is so quiet (not counting the wildlife!) and peaceful. There were so many birds singing away from dawn to dusk in their little "oasis" away from the noise and chaos of the city centre. One thing we were surprised at was the wonderful feeling of space - riads can be quite small, but everywhere we went in this place felt spacious, as if it was built to accommodate a much larger number of people.

The hotel owners and staff were so helpful and friendly, we really felt welcomed into their extended family. Even though we had to get in a taxi to go anywhere (although only a 10 minute ride to the Medina), it was well worth it, and we'd definitely go back here if we decide to return to Marrakech, which we probably will.

I only put a sleep quality of 3 out of 5 simply because the week we were staying, loads of toads decided it was time to congregate at night and make their mating calls. Having said that, two of the staff took it upon themselves to catch and relocate them, which was a service beyond the call of duty, we thought!

Room Tip: All the rooms were nice. We had one with a corner bath & overhead shower which was nicer than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a truly wonderful stay at Acacia Villas, Marrakech. Our main reason for selecting this hotel was to escape the 'Rat-race', enjoy some quality relaxation and some sunshine. Next on the list was visiting Marrakech centre and thereafter the Atlas Mountains.

The hotel was very comfortable in a truly beautiful setting (approx 2 hectares) of orange trees, lush, green garden with an inviting pool. There were ample shaded areas in the garden and a large comfortable lounge with a full sized pool table. Occasional entertainment was provided discretely by the goats, ducks, chickens and 2 very friendly dogs, who all added to the charm of the place. Our room was clean and tastefully decorated. There was a very homely, family atmosphere at the hotel and we were able to enjoy some peace and quiet together, as well as chatting to other guests. We were very well looked after by Babs, Acacia's head waiter and managed to communicate fairly easily with our rusty 'fr-anglais'. We enjoyed bountiful breakfasts, delicious lunches and filling dinners.

Taxis to the centre, a trip to a good Hammam and a day visit to the mountains were arranged with ease. Whilst the hotel's taxi (Abdo) maybe marginally more expensive than relying on other local taxis, he is very courteous and reliable. If shopping is on your agenda, he could save you this difference in cost many times over by first showing you the fixed price Government emporium in the centre (Kasbah) to buy local trinkets (rugs etc) before you tackle the mayhem in the suqs.

Marco and Katia, the owners, were very helpful and friendly and were keen to ensure that we were well catered for and satisfied throughout our stay.

Our stay at Acaccia Villas fully met our expectations and we look forward to a return visit; since our return to England we have also been recommending the place enthusiastically to many of our friends.

Room Tip: Room 3 in main building fine (overlooking pool), you may also stay in a separate 'villa' in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Charming little riad-style villa's set just outside of the main town medina- which although is great to visit we were definitely glad to be able to get away from it all and get back to the sanctuary of the hotel- Staff and owners are all brilliant and very accommodating as well as friendly and personable-Food was great and surroundings very peaceful with clean rooms and facilities as well as a little animal farm at the front of the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sitdeus
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

With a maximum of 22 guests, this quality riad can feel like your private villa with staff thrown in. Being in the middle of nowhere, it is peaceful and quiet. The owners (and staff) are really welcoming and there are loads of places to lounge around by the large pool and elsewhere. There is also an excellent pool table.

However there are no TVs (or other facilities) in the room so in the evening there is nowhere to go apart from Marrakesh (5 miles by cab £23 return fare) or the communal lounge which, although beautifully decked out and includes a large HD TV (great range of French speaking channels, but no English), is shared with the pool table and the restaurant (pool value: £14 + drinks per head for a very disappointing meal) and the owner's family, including their two young kids, having their own evening meal

Room Tip: My tips are these: 1) it is cheaper (100 dhrms) to hail your own taxi back from the rank between th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I visited Acacia Riad in February 2012 after having read fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor. We arrived at the airport expecting our driver to be waiting for us. Unfortunately there was no one with our name on a board as expected. We called the Riad and they were ever so apologetic and informed us that they had accidentally got there dates mixed up. We got into a local taxi and headed over to the Riad. Halfway through our journey we had about 10 missed calls on our mobile. On arrival at the Riad the owner, Marco, would not let us pay for the taxi fare and was very sorry. The Riad is just beautiful. The rooms are very welcoming. We enjoyed a lovely lunch in the beautiful gardens surrounded by orange trees and birds. We were served by Babs who had a 'nothing is too much' attitude. There was a language barrier however we managed to get by with the help of our IPad translator app. We were pleasantly surprised at dinner times. The food was scrumptious and I truly could not fault anything on the menu. The portions were too big for me but I am not complaining. There is a big chill out area where all the guests can congregate, where there is a pool table, a TV and where dinner and breakfast are served. It really is a place you have to go and experience for yourself as reading a review cannot capture the atmosphere the owners have managed to build.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acacia Villas & Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Villas & Riad

Address: Km 6 Route du Barrage (direcion d'Amizmiz) | Chrifia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Acacia Marrakech is a guest house five stars situated ten minutes from the centre of Marrakech and the famous Jemaa El Fna square , in the touristic road of Barrage and Amizmiz, and just minutes from the airport. Surrounded by gardens where you can relax around swimming pool. The is property of over 2 hectares of garden, trees, swimming pool, sunbed, bar and restaurant, barbecue, large dining room with pool table, lounge area and restaurant. We have a cocktail bar and snack menu for the day and restaurant for the evening. We also propose a selection of treatments and massage with a intense feeling of well-being. We have three suites, one family suite and four rooms supérior. Every room and suite are decorated in a different way allying the Moroccan tradition. The rooms are air conditioned with bathrooms private.Acacia Villa Marrakech combining luxury and genuine comfort is a perfect venue for to enjoy the calm and serenity in this small part of paradise after the agitation the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Acacia Villas & Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acacia Villas & Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.