We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only we could have stayed Longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
london
1 review
“If only we could have stayed Longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

i have never posted a review on tripadvisor but always used its services but upon returning from this stay in villa makassar i felt i must share my experience so others will hopefully stay at this place is so amazing

Having just returned from this riad /villa i can only say what a special place this is in marrakesh From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like royalty the service from all the staff and owner is second to none we were greeted with such genuine warmth and interest
Such a nice surprise after a early flight from gatwick
its was lovely to stay in a absolutely stunning property with such a attention to detail to the art deco era .
This place is massive its about three or four riads together so it feels like you have it to yourselfs i think its only has 10 rooms and suites
The owner Fruad (fred for short )was so passionate about the riad giving us a tour of every area
It was so nice to meet someone so passionate about his riad and making his guest's feel totally at home and explaining where he had sourced all the beautiful furniture from around the world was amazing, everything had a story attached to it .
The spar was amazing with the hammam and massage being probably one of the best treatments ive ever had
the location is great 15min walk to the main square and souks .
Fred arranged everything for us with no pressure we had a excellent day trip to the atlas mountains to see berber villages waterfalls mountain walks and lunch .
He recommended us a restaurant for saturday night his recommendation was spot on just what our group wanted .
i can honestly say that there is not many hotels i would go back to just for the fact that its good to try different hotels but i would definitely go back to villa makassar and hope to very soon such a amazing place and only 3.5 hours from london

Thanks Fouad for this special trip i will never forget your special riad in Marrakech

Room Tip: all rooms are excelente
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    34
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
209
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have just returned from a four day break in this beautiful villa. I researched the villa on the internet before I arrived and the place really is as stunning as the photographs. The owner Fouad has excellent taste and each area has been furnished to a very high standard. It is a truly peaceful haven to come back to after all the bustle of this very busy city. The staff really couldn't do enough for you and I must give special thanks to Ismael and Rabii. The food was excellent with lovely freshly cooked breakfasts. A cocktail on the roof terrace is also to be recommended!! I would certainly come back to this lovely villa. Thank you for making my stay so special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have just returned from a short break in Marrakesh and I normally do not write reviews but this time I can't help myself as I believe that everyone should know about this gem in the middle of a busy city!
Villa Makassar has every possible comfort, beautiful and tastefully designed rooms and relaxing surroundings that made our return from the busy Medina, like walking into a man-made paradise!
It was my pleasure to meet the owner, Fouad who made our stay very special and his personal attention and care was very much appreciated.
His staff is carefully selected and I feel obliged to name Ismael and Rabii who were so nice, helpful, "VERY GOOD SINGERS" and genuinely lovely people and made our stay very special. Thank you guys!
There is no other place I would stay if I went back to the amazing Marrakesh! Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are all fantastic and individually designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I went to the Villa Makassar with my 16 year old daughter and we had a fabulous time. The hotel and staff were second to none. They looked after us so well and made the holiday spectacular. They helped us with trips and maps and told us about places to explore. The hotel is beautifully furnished and really luxurious. A real treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We don't usually go back to the same place let alone the same hotel but Villa Makassar in Marrakech has proved the exception and for very good reasons. Morocco is a relatively short flight to a warmer climate and our last visit in June 2013 to Villa Makassar was such a treat we decided to return this year in April. Once again we were not disappointed. The standards of service and accommodation met all our expectations and the overall atmosphere of the Riad was peaceful and relaxed despite being fully booked.

There was a change from last year but a change for the better. The new chef has introduced an extended menu adding international cuisine to the existing Moroccan dishes. We ate in the Riad's restaurant 4 times this visit and on each occasion the food was of the highest quality and beautifully presented.

As other recent reviews have stated the staff, the owner and the setting are all perfect and its location in the old part of Marrakech means it is in easy walking distance of all the historic parts of the city that visitors would want to visit. For those that want to travel further afield then the staff will make all your arrangements for you with a minimum of fuss. We went on a day trip to the Atlas Mountains and that was very special with excellent guides and booked by the Riad at a really reasonable price.

We are already thinking about our next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique, cool and quiet. If you can go for a junior suite double rather than the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Fantastic stay! The riad, the decoration, food and service! An oasis in the middle of the buzz from the Medina. The owner, who is super nice, is the cherry on top of the cake. Recommended 100%. It was our first stay with them and definitely not the last!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I have just spent five nights at this lovely riad. An oasis of calm and cool ' art deco' elegance. Lovely room and a huge bathroom which could have come straight from a 1920's film set but with all mod. cons. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble.We ate there on three nights. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent.. We especially enjoyed the live guitar music from Ismail. Breakfast on the roof terrace is a treat, but beware of the wasps.After a day in the souks this is the perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.