We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Places like this need 6 stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Save Saved
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Watford
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Places like this need 6 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed in Villa Makassar last week and had a completely exceptional experience from start to finish. We were collected by the airport by their representative who was charming and informative and dropped us at this elegant and delightful riad. Fouad met us and sat us down with a cup of Moroccan tea and pastries and talked us through the riads concept and construction and then showed us around all the parts before taking us to our room. A wonderful space, open, large, massive comfortable bed, two wardrobes, bang and olufsen tv, fabulous bathroom with a stand alone bath, huge shower and fabulous touches, the water snake skin head board, the cups brought back from the Taj Mahal, the chairs bought from La Mamounia, just lovely. This really set us up for the rest of our trip where the whole concept of this riad is you do everything on your own time. Wake up when you like, call down and say in 10 minutes I'd like breakfast on the terrace and hey presto, breakfast! Which leads me nicely to food.

The food here is amazing, breakfasts of fruit salads, yogurts, fresh baked cakes, pastries and breads, luxurious jams, Moroccan tea which we loved and juices. Then if you want more, eggs anyway you like, whatever you want. We had dinner here too and the food was excellent at dinner, in fact the apple desert was sublime and the best desert we had in Marrakech and we did eat in some fantastic restaurants. The lemon chicken tagine comes highly recommended too. I'll leave it to Fouad to tell you the story of the chefs pedigree!

House keeping was fantastic. I can not fault it in any way at all, everyday, everything was as clean and tidy as when we arrived and yet I only actually saw them in our room once! They seemed to know when you were on the terrace or out and worked around you, whatever the time of day. The general cleanliness and neatness of the whole riad was without fault.

We used the spa too which again, world class. If you book spa treatments you get the whole area to yourselves so that's the jacuzzi/small pool and all the small but perfectly formed treatment area. We had the hammam, body scrub and massage package and I don't want to give too much away because it'd spoil your surprise but what an experience, delivered by two of the friendliest, most professional people I have encountered and both my husband and I have had treatments in some of the best places in the world and I would come back here for this treatment, over all of them.

The riad is beautiful and you can tell the love and dedication that has gone into it's renovation, it has a history too so you do feel that you are in an amazing building. We loved it's position at the end of Rue de la Kasbah, it felt like being in the real Marrakech, walking down after sightseeing and seeing the shops and sellers and children playing football around us. It was a fifteen/twenty minute amble to Jemaa el fna but you really get to see some sights just getting there. And you can get a cab up to the door which is unusual here and worth it when you have cases.

Finally, almost! The staff are amazing. 10 rooms and 20 members of staff, you don't get better looked after than that. All of them were friendly, charming, accommodating and professional, happy to chat with you and share stories of their lives which we were so happy to hear and really added to our experience, full of humour and kindness. They know we have a choice over where we stay and they really want to make sure you have a great time, we genuinely believed that. Happy to make recommendations, bookings and help when their silly guests loose their cameras, phoning all over Marrakech! I find it hard to single out staff as they were all amazing but Jusef and Noelle were just brilliant.

And, if you are considering Marrakech and another destination then I can tell you that Marrakech is vibrant, busy, chaotic, so different an experience to other short breaks, populated by some of the funniest and nicest people you could wish to meet. And Villa Makassar is the oasis of calm. Will we head back? Oh yes!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    32
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
198
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

First off - this place is gorgeous. Certainly the best example of art deco design that I've come across. It is also, as the other reviews state, a calm, quiet oasis in the middle of what is a frenetic, crazy place. The moment you step in, you leave the world outside behind. However, while it is a truly lovely place to stay, it did have a few issues.

Location: At the far south end of the old city, in a relatively quiet street of the Kasbah. Everything in the old city is at walking distance - all the monuments and the markets. Great location for the old city.

Design: Absolutely brilliant example of art-deco, combined with subtle touches of Morrocan design. The public areas are wonderful, especially the two libraries/sitting rooms downstairs.

Rooms: This is where the problem lies. We had booked a deluxe suite but the room left us slightly shocked on arrival. For starters, the room had a disgusting smell that hits you in the face the moment you walk in. Secondly, the room itself was narrow, stuffy, overheated and extremely dark. We also noticed that there was a 5cm gap between the door of this room and the wall itself! This meant that when the kitchen, that was located below the room, closed at night, our room was flooded with the greasy smell as they aired the kitchen out. On the contrary though, this room had an amazing bathroom - beautiful art-deco touches, full of light, a big bathtub, a rain shower and lots of space. The bathroom itself was almost as big as the room. We weren't happy with this room though, so we requested to see if any others were available - they showed us the only other room available at the time, which was even smaller - and surprise, surprise, this room stank as well. So we declined the offer and stayed in our suite - requesting them to do something about the horrendous smell - suggesting that they could perhaps use one of their incense oil burners in our room? They did, but it surprised us that they did not think of it themselves before offering us the room! Then, we discovered that the bathroom drain was dirty and clogged. They arranged a plumber to come look at it, who cleaned it out with his hands and it was sorted. We also discovered that they had only supplied us with one hand towel between two people, so we requested an extra towel, which was delivered. However, the receptionist (one of the two French women) decided to be condescending about it the next day and went on to explain how many towels hotels typically supply and how drains work (!). This one person was incredibly rude and patronising (contrary to the rest of the staff who were all polite, charming and did their best in the face of any issues) and we were glad we did not see too much of her during our stay. Her attitude really annoyed us. We also thought that for a hotel that charges as much as it does, they really should buy a new set of guest towels because the ones they supply have clearly been used a million times and are nearly threadbare!

We were however promised an upgrade to the Grand Suite as a gesture of goodwill on our last day, and we gladly accepted. The Grand Suite was absolutely lovely - and we noticed that the service we received in this suite improved vastly as well. But here's the catch - while the room was gorgeous and one of the best we've ever stayed in (and we've stayed in a lot of gorgeous design hotels around the world!), the bathroom attached to this room was entirely another story. For one, it did not have a shower. It had a hand shower attached to the bath, which was impossible to use without sitting in the tub. It was also much smaller than the bathroom of the deluxe suite we were in earlier. And to our utter amazement, while this bathroom was well-appointed in other respects - in a hotel that prides itself on its art-deco theme, and does it rather well - this bathroom had Indian (Rajasthani) decor! Quite befuddling and completely out of place. Also, little things in the suite itself - for example, two large, beautiful art-deco lamps frame the desk - and neither is plugged into a power source and there is no way they can be plugged in either. Why are they there, then?! Still, we had a lovely stay in this suite and we appreciated the gesture. Strongly recommend to give the lower suites a pass and book the Grand Suites right away. The deluxe suites are certainly not worth the price, but the Grand Suites are, even at the top rates they charge. Had we know, this is what we would have booked.

Food: This was the highlight of our stay. The food here is simply the best we had on our trip and we ended up eating in most of the time. The service in the restaurant was also really good - and almost everything that we tried on the menu was delicious. Highly recommended!

Service: Most of the staff and management were excellent - they do their very best to please, and nothing was too much trouble for them. In fact, Juliette, the manager, met us personally to review and sort out the issues we had had early in our stay. That was a nice touch, and we truly appreciated it. We just wish we hadn't come across this one lady (mentioned above) whose attitude was supercilious, condescending and patronising. With that kind of attitude, she really shouldn't be in that job.

Overall, a great place to stay in despite all the (minor) issues. We felt that this hotel lacks attention to detail - a lot of little things are wrong, which add up to a large number and end up impacting your stay. Still, they do their best to sort things out and make your stay memorable. If we return to Marrakesh, we will still stay here - and hope they would have sorted things out by then.

Room Tip: The deluxe suites are not worth it - go for the Grand Suites. And if it matters to you, ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had a lovely stay there and would go back, will go back! Don't waste your time in the souks/markets because they are a waste of time, there are plenty of other interesting places and things to do in and around Marrakech

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at this riad for 4 nights last week and we both agree it is the most stylish and lavish place we have both stayed. It's nestled in an unassuming road in the heart of the medina and it's very easy to get to jamna el fna from the riad on foot. Behind the front door however is a totally different world. From the moment we arrived, we experienced brilliant customer's service from all the staff, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Service was always prompt and efficient. Their moroccan food was particularly good, and we actually opted to eat in the riad on more occasions than we initially intended because of this. We had a really enjoyable cookery class there too. In terms of the riad itself, we were blown away by every aspect. A stunning courtyard was surrounded by gorgeous living and dining rooms done up in art deco style. Every aspect of the interior design from paintings, sculptures, furniture and fitting and fixtures were original art deco pieces and it was such a visual treat for us. I think the biggest selling point for us however was our art deco bedroom suite, the photos on the website don't do justice to this magical room...id come back to marrakech for this alone! Excellent value for money too, we honestly don't have a bad word to say about villa makassar. Thanks to the entire team for an unforgettable week

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

if you need some rest in an entirely renovated Art Deco Style Riad , you will fine calm and elegance in " la Villa Makassar" . We have spent there a very nice WE with a very welcoming staff.
Fouad Graidia and his wife have spent a lot of time and energy to achieve their project and the result is admirable . Despite some small imperfections, we have highly appreciated our stay in this magic place.

Room Tip: do not hesitate to choose a suite ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This villa is fabulously designed and the attention to detail is superb. The Art Deco detailing is consistant throughout the villa from the square bowls in the restaurant to the art deco handles on the bathroom handles.
The rooms are individually furnished. One of the rooms are dark but the others have great lighting. The rooms are very comfortable and the meals prepared by the chef there is out of this world. They even offer cookery courses if you wish.
Even though the villa was almost fully booked, it still feels quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful Art Deco riad. The attention to detail is incredible. The staff are very friendly & helpful. Our dinner was delicious & breakfasts were plentiful with homemade yogurts, breads & pastries plus eggs if you wish. The rooftop terrace is a wonderful space to soak up the sun or stargaze. The hammam & massage were lovely & most welcome after a day in the souks. It is a reasonable walk to the main square, but worth it to stay in such a peaceful place. Only one minor hint - the twin room very compact & bit gloomy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.