We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of calm and art deco ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Save Saved
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An Oasis of calm and art deco ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had a lovely stay there and would go back, will go back! Don't waste your time in the souks/markets because they are a waste of time, there are plenty of other interesting places and things to do in and around Marrakech

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    32
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
199
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at this riad for 4 nights last week and we both agree it is the most stylish and lavish place we have both stayed. It's nestled in an unassuming road in the heart of the medina and it's very easy to get to jamna el fna from the riad on foot. Behind the front door however is a totally different world. From the moment we arrived, we experienced brilliant customer's service from all the staff, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Service was always prompt and efficient. Their moroccan food was particularly good, and we actually opted to eat in the riad on more occasions than we initially intended because of this. We had a really enjoyable cookery class there too. In terms of the riad itself, we were blown away by every aspect. A stunning courtyard was surrounded by gorgeous living and dining rooms done up in art deco style. Every aspect of the interior design from paintings, sculptures, furniture and fitting and fixtures were original art deco pieces and it was such a visual treat for us. I think the biggest selling point for us however was our art deco bedroom suite, the photos on the website don't do justice to this magical room...id come back to marrakech for this alone! Excellent value for money too, we honestly don't have a bad word to say about villa makassar. Thanks to the entire team for an unforgettable week

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

if you need some rest in an entirely renovated Art Deco Style Riad , you will fine calm and elegance in " la Villa Makassar" . We have spent there a very nice WE with a very welcoming staff.
Fouad Graidia and his wife have spent a lot of time and energy to achieve their project and the result is admirable . Despite some small imperfections, we have highly appreciated our stay in this magic place.

Room Tip: do not hesitate to choose a suite ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This villa is fabulously designed and the attention to detail is superb. The Art Deco detailing is consistant throughout the villa from the square bowls in the restaurant to the art deco handles on the bathroom handles.
The rooms are individually furnished. One of the rooms are dark but the others have great lighting. The rooms are very comfortable and the meals prepared by the chef there is out of this world. They even offer cookery courses if you wish.
Even though the villa was almost fully booked, it still feels quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful Art Deco riad. The attention to detail is incredible. The staff are very friendly & helpful. Our dinner was delicious & breakfasts were plentiful with homemade yogurts, breads & pastries plus eggs if you wish. The rooftop terrace is a wonderful space to soak up the sun or stargaze. The hammam & massage were lovely & most welcome after a day in the souks. It is a reasonable walk to the main square, but worth it to stay in such a peaceful place. Only one minor hint - the twin room very compact & bit gloomy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from our visit to this amazing riad - it's impeccable and one of my favourite places I've ever stayed! Besides being spotless, the rooms are beautiful and each so different (we were lucky enough to get an upgrade on our last night which was very kind).
You just feel so at home here - there are several rooms downstairs where you can just chill out as well as the pool and the rooftop terrace (we had breakfast up there one morning). The breakfasts are amazing as well!
The staff are all great, especially the manager. One of our bowls we bought from the souk was damaged when moving rooms and he was so kind in replacing it. Thank you!
A great stay and we would definitely return - I urge you to go and have a relaxing stay (our massages were very good as well).

Room Tip: Just be aware the back rooms don't get the wifi but there's a perfect signal downstairs! It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Its the first time I went to Villa Makassar with my wife. A friend of us told us a lot about this riad.

Indeed, everything was perfect from our arrival till the end.

I loved the tasty food served anywhere and anytime you like.
The riad is very well located closed to the center and very calm area
I will definitely be back !

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Mehdi,

Many thanks for your feedback.

It has been great to welcome you and your wife at Villa Makassar.

We would be pleased to see you again and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.