We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab-u-lous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fab-u-lous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful Art Deco riad. The attention to detail is incredible. The staff are very friendly & helpful. Our dinner was delicious & breakfasts were plentiful with homemade yogurts, breads & pastries plus eggs if you wish. The rooftop terrace is a wonderful space to soak up the sun or stargaze. The hammam & massage were lovely & most welcome after a day in the souks. It is a reasonable walk to the main square, but worth it to stay in such a peaceful place. Only one minor hint - the twin room very compact & bit gloomy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    32
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
201
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from our visit to this amazing riad - it's impeccable and one of my favourite places I've ever stayed! Besides being spotless, the rooms are beautiful and each so different (we were lucky enough to get an upgrade on our last night which was very kind).
You just feel so at home here - there are several rooms downstairs where you can just chill out as well as the pool and the rooftop terrace (we had breakfast up there one morning). The breakfasts are amazing as well!
The staff are all great, especially the manager. One of our bowls we bought from the souk was damaged when moving rooms and he was so kind in replacing it. Thank you!
A great stay and we would definitely return - I urge you to go and have a relaxing stay (our massages were very good as well).

Room Tip: Just be aware the back rooms don't get the wifi but there's a perfect signal downstairs! It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Its the first time I went to Villa Makassar with my wife. A friend of us told us a lot about this riad.

Indeed, everything was perfect from our arrival till the end.

I loved the tasty food served anywhere and anytime you like.
The riad is very well located closed to the center and very calm area
I will definitely be back !

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Mehdi,

Many thanks for your feedback.

It has been great to welcome you and your wife at Villa Makassar.

We would be pleased to see you again and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Villa Makassar is truly one of the best places we have ever stayed. Absolutely Impeccable!
This Riad has been beautifully restored with gorgeous Art Deco items in every room. The staff are superb being helpful and charming and nothing is too much trouble at any time of the day.
The calm of the Riad was wonderful after the dust and noise of the City.
We were made to feel like one of the family, and a very happy family at that.
Thank you all at Villa Makassar for a wonderful five days. We hope to return to you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful so I would leave it to Souheil ......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Jes1London,

It has been great meeting you at Villa Makassar.

Such a great review from an accomplished traveller as you are, is just the best compliment we can expect.

Indeed, at Villa Makassar it is all about feeling home away from home and thanks to a great staff, we manage to reach that.

We are passionate by our commitment to our guests, and happiness is all around.

We wish all the best and hope to see you very soon.

Kind regards,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our first trip to Marrakech and what a find.
When you arrive from the airport and climb out of the cab it's a little like entering a parallel universe. This Riad is simply stunning, decorated in original Art Deco pieces and immaculately clean it really is a pleasure to stay here.
Our host Souheil and his staff were extremely helpful and polite without being overbearing and the service given was impeccable.
We ate here on 2 nights and the food was delicious, as was the breakfast each morning.
We were actually upgraded for no additional cost to one of the suites, we thought the normal rooms were nice but the suites really are decadent.
Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I organised a hen do for 14 girls to Marrakech in March 2013 and we stayed in Villa Makassar. We found a great package which included accommodation, transfers and some food.

Villa Makassar was like a hidden oasis - the rooms and the Riad were beautiful. The rooms were all individually decorated and were stunning.

The location was great if you wanted to be in the old town, and the Riad organised taxis/minibuses for us to take us to the new town - mainly for the evenings.

The food was delicious; we had dinner one night at the Riad and then we had our breakfast on the roof top terrace each morning. All the food was freshly prepared.

The staff were amazing - and very attentive, and nothing was too much trouble. We also used the spa facilities which were great too.

And Juliette, who helped me organise the hen do was a super star. She gave me advice, answered hundreds of my questions, made me feel confident and comfortable about everything I organised for the hen do and ensured the bride-to-be and all the hen's had an unforgettable weekend.

I couldn't recommend Hotel Makassar more = PERFECT!

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the suites which was a beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear LuckyTraveller,

We were indeed very lucky to host such a nice group as your friends and you.

For a romantic honeymmoon, a friend's trip, a peacefull retreat....our place can be be booked for different purpose but with always the same commitment from us: serve you the best way possible.

On behalf of the whole staff and Juliette, I wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Went with my wife in May of this year and this hotel is amazing! The hotel itself is beautiful and peaceful, and the rooms fantastic. Our room was big and well equiped, and located close to all the local attractions.

The staff are so helpful and friendly, and made us feel at home. They went out to change money for us with minimum fuss, and greeted us with some traditional mint tea and delicious cakes and pastries. There was complimentary wifi which was invaluable when looking online for places to visit and the breakfasts were excellent. As well as being a top class hotel, the staff were so helpful and that makes the difference between a very good hotel and an excellent one.

We also used the spa facilities, getting a back massage which was relaxing. We also used the pool area which was very nice.

If we ever go back and visit Marrakech, then we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank your for sharing your experience at Villa Makassar.

The willing to visit us again is a the greatest compliment for us.

On the behalf of the all team, I wish you all the best and hope to welcome you soon.

Kind regards,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.