We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing riad, made our holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing riad, made our holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I can't really praise both the staff and setting of Villa Makassar enough. My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights and have just come back today.

We'd never experienced staying in a riad before and weren't sure what to expect. Upon arrival we pulled up into a small, busy street within the medina walls of Marrakech. The unassuming doorway led into a gorgeous, tranquil space with high ceilings and two beautiful courtyards. The decor is Art Deco and very tasteful; a nice twist on the traditional Moroccan riad architecture.

We were greeted warmly and served traditional mint tea. We were told to treat the riad as our home during our stay - breakfast would be served whenever and wherever we liked (huge bonus!).

The hotel is spacious and quiet as there are only 10 rooms, so perfect for an adult relaxation break. There is a huge roof terrace, and a nice pool area. Staff are very attentive and there are little touches that enhance the experience of staying there, such as sun hats on each of the sunbeds, and the fact that staff bring you towels when you're by the pool or on the terrace sunbathing.

The breakfast was a wide selection of Moroccan pastries / pancakes which was lovely. We had 60 minute massages in the spa which were excellent - the spa area has a jacuzzi and hammam which all guests were free to use.

Our room was the S. Delauney junior suite and we were delighted to have a jacuzzi bath, robes and slippers provided.

Upon check out we were very kindly provided with a room (which was actually an upgrade from our suite) to use free of charge until our flight which was late in the evening. I've seen from other reviews that they have offered this to many other guests, which just shows the consistency of the excellent service they provide.

The location was spot on, close enough to walk to all the main attractions within the medina walls.

Lastly we had a day trip to the Ourika Valley included in the deal we had purchased with the hotel that was a great experience, particularly the visit to a Berber house and the hike to the beautiful waterfalls.

All in all I'd say this is the best hotel experience I have ever had, which is why I was so keen to leave my review.

I will be highly recommending Villa Makassar to friends and family and hopefully returning some time soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Melissa,

Many thanks for your detailled review, our futur guests can easily assess the quality of our place through it.

Thanks to a great team, we are able in Villa Makassar to deliver consistent high quality in everything we do.

Indeed, our place is perfectly located to visit the city, and offers many options for relaxing and recovering from a stressfull life.

You are more than welcome to renew the experience and we are looking forward to it.

Kind regards,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    36
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
228
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is situated in the old part of town (Medina area), literally 10 mins walk to Jemaa el Fna. You have to go through a few small roads to get to the hotel but after a day or two you will easily find your bearings. The hotel itself is immaculate. The owner really took care in designing this place and the little details really made it unique. The staff were great, really friendly and provided the best service we could have ever asked for. We ate at the hotel restaurant a few times and the food was great. I took advantage of the Spa facilities which were fantastic and the girls down there were so lovely. The managers are great, anything we needed they would arrange and also get us the best prices. The area which it is located in is quite busy at night but you cannot hear a single thing behind the Hotel walls. It was an incredibly calm and relaxing retreat. Only tiny negative was that our room had an odd smell but I can't complain because soon as we mentioned this to the manager, he provided scented candles everyday without fail.

Overall, it was an amazing hotel with such fantastic service and ambience, on top of that, the staff were incredible and treated us like family. We are already planning to go back and visit and would definitely book again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Taslema,

Many thanks for your review, it has been a pleasure to host you and your lovely family.

Indeed, our place is well located to visit the old city (Médina) and our staff look well after very guest.

All the best,

Kind regards,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It has really all been said by other reviewers.

We had a lovely 4 night stay at Villa Makassar. All of the staff were really helpful and gave us good advice and recommendations, booking taxis, restaurants etc and made us feel very welcome. We decided we would like to use a guide for the first day for a few hours to get to know our surroundings and he promptly arrived and whisked us off to see the sights. He was very good.

Once inside the Riad you forget the hustle and bustle of the outside world. The rooms, bed linens, décor, spa, relaxing areas were all fabulous.

We had the best scrub ever in the hamman, never had anything like it before and our skin felt wonderful and still does.

Thank you to everyone at Villa Makassar in making our stay so wonderful. We really did feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Villa Makassar is a beautifully tranquil riad in an excellent location in Marrakech. It is beautifully appointed with care in the Art Deco style, obviously a passion for the owners. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and the rooftop is a quiet spot for lounging and breakfast. The staff were extremely attentive. The hammam was one of the best that I have been to- relaxing, invigorating and served by a professional staff.
The only problem I had was a bad odor in the room as it had just rained and apparently that can be a problem with sewage - fortunately I was able to move to another room that was smaller but it was so lovely I didn't mind downsizing. I would not hesitate to recommend this riad as it is a welcomed break from the sights, sounds and smells of Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently spent four wonderful nights at Villa Makassar. It was my third visit Marrakech but the first time I had stayed in a riad, and I can honestly say that it was an amazing experience. As a fan of Art Deco, I was in awe of the beautiful collection that villa possesses, particularly the pieces from La Mamounia. The staff were so kind and helpful and assisted with recommending and booking places to visit and ensuring that we were comfortable at all times during our stay. The relaxing atmosphere in the villa certainly made it feel like home. The rooms are stunning and very comfortable with individual décor. Quality of food served is of a high standard and my mother would definitely recommend the pastilla as it is the best she has ever tasted. Spa staff also provide excellent treatments, particularly the hammam experience. We were also able to keep our room until check out so that we could enjoy our last day without rushing to pack. Very few places would offer this facility and was a very kind gesture. My mother was also offered another room on the first night to make her stay more comfortable, which was very kind of the staff. Many thanks to Souheil and his wonderful team for looking after us during our stay. I am looking forward to my next trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The owner and staff really make you feel welcome! It is quite evident that the owners have invested a great deal of money in the Riad and each room is wonderfully unique. I would highly recommend Villa Makassar to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I spent 4 days in Villa Makassar with my boyfriend. When we arrived the manager offered us some tea and upgraded our room: they let us choose the room that we liked more! they offered us an amazing breakfast - this was only the beginning. Rooms are luxury rooms with high end technology everywhere. The staff is always smily: they support you in every situation, from booking restaurants till contracting the price for a cab. The SPA experience was a rebirth. When we had to check out they checked us in into another available room to have a last shower in the afternoon, to feel better, without anything additional to pay. It's not just that I would recommend it, I will certainly come back. That was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

The fact that you would like to come back and renew the experience at Villa Makassar is such a great achievement for us.

We love our guests and make our best to please them and fullfill their needs and demands.

Indeed, the Spa experience is so re juveniting and relaxing, everyone should try it at least once.

We are looking forward to your next stay and until then we wish you all the best.

Sincerly,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.