We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and Tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Save Saved
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Calm and Tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It has really all been said by other reviewers.

We had a lovely 4 night stay at Villa Makassar. All of the staff were really helpful and gave us good advice and recommendations, booking taxis, restaurants etc and made us feel very welcome. We decided we would like to use a guide for the first day for a few hours to get to know our surroundings and he promptly arrived and whisked us off to see the sights. He was very good.

Once inside the Riad you forget the hustle and bustle of the outside world. The rooms, bed linens, décor, spa, relaxing areas were all fabulous.

We had the best scrub ever in the hamman, never had anything like it before and our skin felt wonderful and still does.

Thank you to everyone at Villa Makassar in making our stay so wonderful. We really did feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    30
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
187
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Villa Makassar is a beautifully tranquil riad in an excellent location in Marrakech. It is beautifully appointed with care in the Art Deco style, obviously a passion for the owners. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and the rooftop is a quiet spot for lounging and breakfast. The staff were extremely attentive. The hammam was one of the best that I have been to- relaxing, invigorating and served by a professional staff.
The only problem I had was a bad odor in the room as it had just rained and apparently that can be a problem with sewage - fortunately I was able to move to another room that was smaller but it was so lovely I didn't mind downsizing. I would not hesitate to recommend this riad as it is a welcomed break from the sights, sounds and smells of Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently spent four wonderful nights at Villa Makassar. It was my third visit Marrakech but the first time I had stayed in a riad, and I can honestly say that it was an amazing experience. As a fan of Art Deco, I was in awe of the beautiful collection that villa possesses, particularly the pieces from La Mamounia. The staff were so kind and helpful and assisted with recommending and booking places to visit and ensuring that we were comfortable at all times during our stay. The relaxing atmosphere in the villa certainly made it feel like home. The rooms are stunning and very comfortable with individual décor. Quality of food served is of a high standard and my mother would definitely recommend the pastilla as it is the best she has ever tasted. Spa staff also provide excellent treatments, particularly the hammam experience. We were also able to keep our room until check out so that we could enjoy our last day without rushing to pack. Very few places would offer this facility and was a very kind gesture. My mother was also offered another room on the first night to make her stay more comfortable, which was very kind of the staff. Many thanks to Souheil and his wonderful team for looking after us during our stay. I am looking forward to my next trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The owner and staff really make you feel welcome! It is quite evident that the owners have invested a great deal of money in the Riad and each room is wonderfully unique. I would highly recommend Villa Makassar to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I spent 4 days in Villa Makassar with my boyfriend. When we arrived the manager offered us some tea and upgraded our room: they let us choose the room that we liked more! they offered us an amazing breakfast - this was only the beginning. Rooms are luxury rooms with high end technology everywhere. The staff is always smily: they support you in every situation, from booking restaurants till contracting the price for a cab. The SPA experience was a rebirth. When we had to check out they checked us in into another available room to have a last shower in the afternoon, to feel better, without anything additional to pay. It's not just that I would recommend it, I will certainly come back. That was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

The fact that you would like to come back and renew the experience at Villa Makassar is such a great achievement for us.

We love our guests and make our best to please them and fullfill their needs and demands.

Indeed, the Spa experience is so re juveniting and relaxing, everyone should try it at least once.

We are looking forward to your next stay and until then we wish you all the best.

Sincerly,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a long review, but I have so much to say and I promised it is worth the read!

Arriving at the huge beautiful door outside the alleys of Marrakech gave away little to what paradise I would find inside. My husband and I travelled from Toronto (via Paris) with our 3 boys ages 3, 6 and 8. After combing tripadvisor for the perfect Riad four our family we decided on Villa Makassar. And oh my what a decision. My words cannot express the feeling of tranquility as they opened the door. The candle lit hallway and perfumed aroma set the mood for Marrakech. We were immediately greeted by Souheil the manager who we had been corresponding with from Toronto. As we proceeded through the villa we came to an open courtyard and two beautifully appointed 1920 styled lounges. Further into the villa was a dinning room, second courtyard and kitchen. Souheil kindly showed my bouncing boys the pool area. To my delight the pool was nicely shaded and protected from the Morocco Sun and relief from the 45 degree heat. The area around the pool was quite narrow and seating was limited, but enough for the children to play. Once we finished the ground floor tour we headed back to one of the lounges where Souheil had arranged for fresh fruit, cold water and 3 bowls of ice cream! We learned quickly what “Marrakech time” was as we leisurely had a chit chat and then were leisurely shown to our rooms.

ROOMS:
The Parental suite was a large room with a king size bed and an adjoining room with two single beds and a rollaway for the toddler that they had pushed together as per my request. The décor stayed with 1920 theme with dark woods, a curved chest of drawers and writing table in the boys rooms. Both rooms had flat screen tv’s and built in closets, not a lot of drawer or table space for longer stays. The master bath had a huge almond shape tub, and the children’s room had a stand up shower, both very clean and modern.

I must say that this Riad and the unbelievable service made Marrakech for us. Never have I found a more hospitable establishment. The riad felt like a home away from home. My boys roamed freely around, no safety issues. They even started breakfast alone under the watchful eye of our waiter and cook who greeted them every morning with hugs and kisses! One afternoon my husband and I booked a hamaam treatment that Souheil insisted that we tried while he looked after the boys. Souheil gave us the feeling of ease and comfort. After our 2 hr treatment we found the kids playing with him with smiles on their faces. Souheil honestly felt like family just half way through our stay. Our hamaam experience was also like no other. I highly recommend it.
Lastly we also took tours, a city tour and the Atlas mountain tour. Souheil had arranged our driver Noorideen, who spoke very good English and was very informative. I also recommend booking this through the hotel for less hassle.

I will finish by saying that this Riad and especially Souheil made our trip. Coming from the west, I am a service oriented person, especially travelling with young kids. I am so happy that we choose the Riad experience rather than a 5-star American style hotel that I could get anywhere. Staying in a Riad ensures you that personal service where the staff anticipate your ever move to make your stay more comfortable without being annoying. Souheil arranged for our tours, negotiated our taxi’s, made reservations in the best restaurants, and loaned us a Marrakech cell phone to arrange for our pick ups from the restaurants when we were done. I highly recommend this Riad. Thank you to all the staff of Villa Makassar

A few tips:
-laundry was no extra for the kids, a complete BONUS
-elevator for the stroller
-extremely safe environment and child friendly
-free wifi

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for such a detailed review.

It has been a pleasure for us to host you and your lovely family.

Taking care of the boys was a great and unusual moment (normally children under 12 are not allowed at Villa Makassar, except sometimes in summer time when we host only families).

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and for all your compliments.

On the behalf of the staff I wish you all the best.

Kindly,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visited this beautiful hotel for three nights in July.

I booked a Junior Suite but we were upgraded to a larger room with an amazing open-air walk in shower and a separate bath.

Lovely cosy pool on the ground floor, nice comfy loungers on the terrace (sadly no plunge pool). Dining room is and common areas are beautiful.

Food is great, service is perfect.

Pre-book your spar-access though as sadly we couldn’t get in.
I would recommend this hotel to couples looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#34 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Luxury, Romanti...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
#43 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center, Lu...
Show More
4.0 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#9 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Pool, Luxury, R...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#35 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Charming, Luxur...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#21 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.