We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Paradise!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Save Saved
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“True Paradise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived and we were greeted by Souheil the Manager of Villa Makassar, from this moment on until we left we were truly in Paradise. We arrived late evening and Souheil had arranged a beautiful romantic Moroccan Meal on the terrace lit with Moroccan candle lit lanterns, it was out of this world. The following morning the same little table was dressed on the terrace for our breakfast and laden with freshly squeezed orange juice, pancakes, French toast and other wonderful nibbles followed by omelettes and toast. We had a tour around this beautiful riad with suprises in each area. A lovely refreshing Pool to cool off in on what was a scourcher of a day, a beautiful sun terrace (straw hats included to keep the heat off yr head) and an amazing Spa area with Jacuzzi pool and treatment rooms. The Art Deco design of this hotel is of outstanding beauty and really mixes well with the oldy worldy riad and the fresh plants and greenery make it truly exotic. The Villa is very central and only a ten minute walk away from the main square, we had fun along the way buying a magic carpet as a souvenir of our stay. We had paid for a junior suite, beautifully designed in art deco but were upgraded to the most amazing luxury Asian Art Deco Theme Suite across the way which made our stay even more amazing. The staff were absolutely fantastic so kind, caring and on hand at all times. We had a Hamamm scrub in the Spa and the experience was out of his world our skin was like a babies when we left and you felt comfortable in the company of the beautician at all times .. a real must at villa Makassar. The food we experienced during our stay was amazing, the cook was on hand and so friendly. From club sandwiches to the amazin Moroccan soup everything was cooked from scratch with fresh ingredients. Souheil and his lovely lady in reception helped us to find wonderful entertainment for both the day and evening and we visited some wonderful places during our five night stay. We really have to thank you Souheil and all your staff for making our holiday one in Paradise .. we will most definitely be back x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for such a detailed review.

It has been a true pleasure for me and my team to make your holidays special and we definitly hope to see you back in your Moroccan Home.

On behalf of the whole team I wish you all the best.

Kindly,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    31
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
193
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Me and my wife recently spent 9 days at the Villa Makassar. From day 1 the staff couldn't do enough for us! Whatever we wanted (and I am not an easy resident!), they did their best to make sure we got it. What more can I ask? The position is good for all main attractions and of course it is quiet, unobtrusive and select. I'm going to stay there again - why don't you?

Room Tip: The rooms are quite dark, which would be one comment I would make. Try to get a bright room if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our first time in Morocco and we didn't know what to expect . We were very pleasantly surprised by the high standard of accommodation and excellent personal service offered by the staff especially the General Manager who went "above and beyond " to ensure our every need was catered for. The Villa Makassar itself is a delightful, elegantly decorated, peaceful and tranquil building in the heart of the Kasbah. The contrasts between the inside of the Hotel with its tasteful Art Nouveau decor, cool and calm environment and the busy streets outside couldn't be more extreme, but we loved it. A quick foray into the busy Souk to pick up a few hand made goods and then return to the hotel far from the madding crowd was a welcome relief . In fact we really didn't leave the hotel that much - just relaxed in this perfect place.
.
Thank you Souheil and the staff - we will definitely see you again !

Room Tip: Get the executive suites .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for our anniversary,loved the original Art Deco furnishings they were so beautiful and coming back after an afternoon in the medina it felt like a different world, it is easy to forget you are in the middle of a city! The staff couldn't be more helpful and we didn't want to leave! Hoping to return again with my mother and sister, I would highly recommend it. (Also relax in the courtyard and read through some of the stunning books from the reading room) Needless to say breakfast was amazing and huge- you won't need lunch!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our first trip to Morocco and Marrakech was made entirely memorable by the superb reception and service provided by Villa Makassar. A Riad in the Medina with 10 rooms all of which are presented in genuine art deco style, as is the whole Riad. Everywhere you look you see pieces and furniture from that period. We stayed in the Leleu room (a great upgrade) with the furniture all from the designs of Jules Leleu. The room was a picture as we arrived and Juliette who showed us round the whole Riad made clear that this was to be treated as our home for the next 6 nights. And that is the beauty of this hotel - you feel like you are at home with staff, whilst there when you need them, not pressing you, always smiling and polite but also friendly.

The freedom to come and go as you please around the Riad, making use of all the wonderful facilities such as the peaceful roof terrace or the cooling pool. The Spa facilities were excellent and the massages that we both enjoyed were of the highest standard.

We ate dinner twice during our stay and on both occasions were treated to home cooked traditional Moroccan food which was delicious.

Never having been to Marrakech we found the advice of the staff and the manager really helpful when planning our days and our situation in the Medina meant that we were never far from the sites of interest and the hustle and bustle that typifies Marrakech.

We travel frequently and like to vary our destinations but we have promised ourselves that we shall be returning to Marrakech next year and Villa Makassar. Perfect Riad, perfect staff and perfect situation.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed whichever room you choose but the deluxe suites such as the Leleu Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is noisy, the tv in our suite did not work, the air-conditioning did not work, the plugs in the bathroom did not work and at 10pm we had to ask the hotel staff to turn down the music played for the 1 or 2 dinner guests. The hotel appears to pay little attention to detail and it is not up to the standard we were expecting after reading the good reviews. Although there were some redeeming factors (we were upgraded to a very pretty suite and the manager organised us a salad after hours even though we did not book dinner) I would look elsewhere, even if I had to pay marginally more. The location of the hotel is also not ideally located in the Medina.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your review is totally unfair and basically wrong and some explanations have to be given.

First of all, your arrived on late afternoon from a long trip from the coast, as you have been sick because of the fish you ate at the Hotel were you stayed (you gave 4 stars in your review to that Hotel).
You have booked a Junior Suite and as I have noticed your illness state, I upgraded you to our best room so as you can have some rest, knowing that you were leaving in the next morning (which means very little time to recover and be able to assess the quality of service).

The TV and the AC were working properly, you just have not been able to use them correctly as we could not do a normal check in with you (being sick), and give you full explanations about your room (you asked me to skip the check in)

As soon as you called us, TV and AC were set properly.

As for the music, it was a saturday evening, and we play a very smooth, lounge jazzy music, that all our guests appreciate. Again, being sick, everything could seem annoying.

Your forgot to mention that our Chef prepared a complementary traditionnal herbs drink used for stomach problems, just to make you feel better.

We care about every single detail in Villa Makassar, and hopefully (almost) all our guests are able to assess that.

We have one of the best location in the Medina, in the Royal Palace area, very quite and peacefull and accessible by car, which is quite rare in the old city (I let you imagine if you had to walk in the heat, in your state to get to us on your arrival).

At Villa Makassar, we do accept criticisms and even ask feedbacks to our guests, as it is the only way the improve our quality of service.

But when it comes to an unfair review, as yours, where the main cause of your disapointment has to do with your sickness, caused by another Hotel, to whom you gave 4 stars in your review and titled it "almost perfect" (we basically do not have the same conception of perfection), I let the community of travellers make their own opinion by reading the other reviews, for an overall vision.

Bad experiences happen when you travel, but accusing the wrong persons/hotel is very exagerated.

I wish you had a safe journey back home and I would like to thank you for sharing your experience.

Best regards,
Souheil (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful week long stay at Villa Makassar. Having spent a while reading the previous reviews on trip advisor before we went we arrived with high expectations.

The Riad surpassed all our expectations. As soon as you walk through the door it is like walking into an oasis of calm and tranquility. We were greated by the owner and Souheil the general manager, paperwork was kept to a minimum and we were shown to a lovely cool lounge area with mint tea and pastries before being offered a tour of the riad.

The Riad itself is about 15 mins walk from the main square and only about 5/10 mins walk from the square for the jewish quarter with shops and restaurants as well as palais badi and the saadian tombs.

Facilities:

The Riad itself is just beautiful, the courtyards, lounges and seating areas are maintained to a high standard, the roof terrace was one of the highlights of our stay. Perfect for a relaxed breakfast, chill with a book on one of the daybed sun loungers - lovely padded cushions with towels and lovely big straw hats so you can stay nice and cool, or a sun downer drink watching the walls glow orange in the sunset - just gorgeous and so peaceful it is easy to forget you are in the middle of a city!!

We also used the pool area - the pool isn't heated but is warmed by the sun during the course of the day - it is rather chilly but lovely to cool off in! I only ever managed a paddle but my husband swam and assured me it warmed up over time.

One of the great things about the Riad is the peace and quiet, you don't have waiters hovering over you every minute making you feel you should be buying drinks etc. Instead there are buttons around all the public areas that you press should you need assistance like towels or drinks. I loved this aspect of the Riad as it meant you could really enjoy time together and as there are only 10 bedrooms and plenty of different areas to relax, often we didn't see any other guests despite the Riad being pretty much full the whole time we were there.

Spa

As the weather was so good whilst we were staying and we did so much sightseeing we didn't have much opportunity to use the spa but did have a 1 hour massage each. The spa area itself looked lovely with a jacuzzi pool, the hammam and treatment rooms. My massage was excellent - very relaxing and well done


Food

We ate at the Riad 3 nights out of the 7 we were there. One was a complimentary meal we received as part of our booking. On one of the evenings we chose to have a cookery lesson with Fatima the chef where we learnt to make moroccan salads and tagine - a great experience and the Riad arranged for Abdul to translate for us as our French is a little rusty!! On our final night we tried the couscous and a lamb tagine. Every meal was equally as good - the food is freshly cooked - you need to let the Riad know in advance if you plan to eat that evening as Fatima goes to the market and buys the products and herbs and spices fresh for each meal. Fatima is an extremely talented chef who seems to put her heart and soul into her cooking!

Breakfast was a great experience. We ate on the roof a few mornings and sometimes down in the restaurant - it is really up to you. Breakfast again is freshly made - we usually had homemade yoghurt or fresh fruit followed by a selection of baked goods - varying from moroccan pancakes, cakes, french toast and rolls. Different every day - served with Fatimas homemade jams and then the opportunity to have eggs as well. - we only managed lunch one day as the breakfast was so substantial! The orange juice served at breakfast tastes amazing!!

Service:

What sets this Riad apart from others is the staff who work there. Having spent time in Asia last year we didn't think we would find the kind of service experienced there again ... how wrong we were!! The staff go above and beyond to ensure your holiday is as special as possible! Nothing is too much trouble, everyone in the Riad smiles at you and over time it really felt like a home from home.

During our stay it was our first wedding anniversary and Souheil and the rest of the team did so much to ensure we had a special stay. We were given a cake, had our room covered in rose petals, and as a suprise after spending the day out of the Riad visiting Essaouria we returned to find out that our room had been packed up and we had been upgraded to a suite for our last two nights - they had even moved everything for us!

One of the nicest things about the way the Riad is run is the fact your happiness and enjoyment of your stay is at the centre of everything. Throughout our time at Villa Makassar the whole team provided excellent service recommending restaurants - including booking for us and arranging the taxis, directing us to points of interest, arranging guides, making sure we had a drink after we checked out before we set off for the airport, giving us our room until we need to leave for the airport late afternoon.

They are so determined to improve and be the best they can - we were asked by a number of the staff how our stay was if there was anything that we thought could be improved on.

We have never been so sad to leave a holiday and would recommend Villa Makassar to anyone who wants to experience "Real Morocco", have a unique experience and have the relaxation and flexibility that comes from being in a small riad compared to a large hotel.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.