We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE DID NOT ENJOY OUR STAY” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Save Saved
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“WE DID NOT ENJOY OUR STAY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is noisy, the tv in our suite did not work, the air-conditioning did not work, the plugs in the bathroom did not work and at 10pm we had to ask the hotel staff to turn down the music played for the 1 or 2 dinner guests. The hotel appears to pay little attention to detail and it is not up to the standard we were expecting after reading the good reviews. Although there were some redeeming factors (we were upgraded to a very pretty suite and the manager organised us a salad after hours even though we did not book dinner) I would look elsewhere, even if I had to pay marginally more. The location of the hotel is also not ideally located in the Medina.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your review is totally unfair and basically wrong and some explanations have to be given.

First of all, your arrived on late afternoon from a long trip from the coast, as you have been sick because of the fish you ate at the Hotel were you stayed (you gave 4 stars in your review to that Hotel).
You have booked a Junior Suite and as I have noticed your illness state, I upgraded you to our best room so as you can have some rest, knowing that you were leaving in the next morning (which means very little time to recover and be able to assess the quality of service).

The TV and the AC were working properly, you just have not been able to use them correctly as we could not do a normal check in with you (being sick), and give you full explanations about your room (you asked me to skip the check in)

As soon as you called us, TV and AC were set properly.

As for the music, it was a saturday evening, and we play a very smooth, lounge jazzy music, that all our guests appreciate. Again, being sick, everything could seem annoying.

Your forgot to mention that our Chef prepared a complementary traditionnal herbs drink used for stomach problems, just to make you feel better.

We care about every single detail in Villa Makassar, and hopefully (almost) all our guests are able to assess that.

We have one of the best location in the Medina, in the Royal Palace area, very quite and peacefull and accessible by car, which is quite rare in the old city (I let you imagine if you had to walk in the heat, in your state to get to us on your arrival).

At Villa Makassar, we do accept criticisms and even ask feedbacks to our guests, as it is the only way the improve our quality of service.

But when it comes to an unfair review, as yours, where the main cause of your disapointment has to do with your sickness, caused by another Hotel, to whom you gave 4 stars in your review and titled it "almost perfect" (we basically do not have the same conception of perfection), I let the community of travellers make their own opinion by reading the other reviews, for an overall vision.

Bad experiences happen when you travel, but accusing the wrong persons/hotel is very exagerated.

I wish you had a safe journey back home and I would like to thank you for sharing your experience.

Best regards,
Souheil (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    32
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
196
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful week long stay at Villa Makassar. Having spent a while reading the previous reviews on trip advisor before we went we arrived with high expectations.

The Riad surpassed all our expectations. As soon as you walk through the door it is like walking into an oasis of calm and tranquility. We were greated by the owner and Souheil the general manager, paperwork was kept to a minimum and we were shown to a lovely cool lounge area with mint tea and pastries before being offered a tour of the riad.

The Riad itself is about 15 mins walk from the main square and only about 5/10 mins walk from the square for the jewish quarter with shops and restaurants as well as palais badi and the saadian tombs.

Facilities:

The Riad itself is just beautiful, the courtyards, lounges and seating areas are maintained to a high standard, the roof terrace was one of the highlights of our stay. Perfect for a relaxed breakfast, chill with a book on one of the daybed sun loungers - lovely padded cushions with towels and lovely big straw hats so you can stay nice and cool, or a sun downer drink watching the walls glow orange in the sunset - just gorgeous and so peaceful it is easy to forget you are in the middle of a city!!

We also used the pool area - the pool isn't heated but is warmed by the sun during the course of the day - it is rather chilly but lovely to cool off in! I only ever managed a paddle but my husband swam and assured me it warmed up over time.

One of the great things about the Riad is the peace and quiet, you don't have waiters hovering over you every minute making you feel you should be buying drinks etc. Instead there are buttons around all the public areas that you press should you need assistance like towels or drinks. I loved this aspect of the Riad as it meant you could really enjoy time together and as there are only 10 bedrooms and plenty of different areas to relax, often we didn't see any other guests despite the Riad being pretty much full the whole time we were there.

Spa

As the weather was so good whilst we were staying and we did so much sightseeing we didn't have much opportunity to use the spa but did have a 1 hour massage each. The spa area itself looked lovely with a jacuzzi pool, the hammam and treatment rooms. My massage was excellent - very relaxing and well done


Food

We ate at the Riad 3 nights out of the 7 we were there. One was a complimentary meal we received as part of our booking. On one of the evenings we chose to have a cookery lesson with Fatima the chef where we learnt to make moroccan salads and tagine - a great experience and the Riad arranged for Abdul to translate for us as our French is a little rusty!! On our final night we tried the couscous and a lamb tagine. Every meal was equally as good - the food is freshly cooked - you need to let the Riad know in advance if you plan to eat that evening as Fatima goes to the market and buys the products and herbs and spices fresh for each meal. Fatima is an extremely talented chef who seems to put her heart and soul into her cooking!

Breakfast was a great experience. We ate on the roof a few mornings and sometimes down in the restaurant - it is really up to you. Breakfast again is freshly made - we usually had homemade yoghurt or fresh fruit followed by a selection of baked goods - varying from moroccan pancakes, cakes, french toast and rolls. Different every day - served with Fatimas homemade jams and then the opportunity to have eggs as well. - we only managed lunch one day as the breakfast was so substantial! The orange juice served at breakfast tastes amazing!!

Service:

What sets this Riad apart from others is the staff who work there. Having spent time in Asia last year we didn't think we would find the kind of service experienced there again ... how wrong we were!! The staff go above and beyond to ensure your holiday is as special as possible! Nothing is too much trouble, everyone in the Riad smiles at you and over time it really felt like a home from home.

During our stay it was our first wedding anniversary and Souheil and the rest of the team did so much to ensure we had a special stay. We were given a cake, had our room covered in rose petals, and as a suprise after spending the day out of the Riad visiting Essaouria we returned to find out that our room had been packed up and we had been upgraded to a suite for our last two nights - they had even moved everything for us!

One of the nicest things about the way the Riad is run is the fact your happiness and enjoyment of your stay is at the centre of everything. Throughout our time at Villa Makassar the whole team provided excellent service recommending restaurants - including booking for us and arranging the taxis, directing us to points of interest, arranging guides, making sure we had a drink after we checked out before we set off for the airport, giving us our room until we need to leave for the airport late afternoon.

They are so determined to improve and be the best they can - we were asked by a number of the staff how our stay was if there was anything that we thought could be improved on.

We have never been so sad to leave a holiday and would recommend Villa Makassar to anyone who wants to experience "Real Morocco", have a unique experience and have the relaxation and flexibility that comes from being in a small riad compared to a large hotel.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Villa Makassar. The decoration, the staff, the SPA, the food, the rooms, the details...
We arrived very tired and we left very relax. Thank you to Souheil the Director, to Fatima the fantastic cook, to Zineb for the massage and Youssef for the service.
We miss you and we will come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a beautiful place; the Riad was absolutely stunning, the finish was excellent and the whole place is very well maintained.

Location: The Riad is located about 10-15 minutes walk from the main square and the souks; it's not very far away and it's a nice walk. The location itself is near the old city wall and quiet.

Service: The service here was excellent, I mean really above and beyond what you would expect. The manager spent some time with us coming up with places to go, drawing where they were for us on the map and talking us through how to get there and what to expect. Additionally all those working here were very helpful and courteous. When we had dinner the waiter took the tables outside as it was a nice evening.

Rooms: The room we had was the most basic room and I have to say it was a little small BUT having said that, it was n't tiny and it was very well appointed and maintained. I really like it.

Spa / Pool / rest of the hotel: The pool of the hotel is it ground level and is generally shaded, also somehow the water is freezing (as it's meant to be) which is a refreshing, it's a nice area. The hotel also has a Hammam which also contains a jacuzzi which is more the size of a swimming pool. It's really refreshing and a great place to relax after going out for the day.

All-in-all this is a great place to stay, I know people have a tendency to rate place more highly that already have a high rating but this really was an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and taking time for such a detailed and positive feedback.

You perfectly pointed and measured all the efforts made by the whole team to please and satisfy every guest at Villa Makassar.

We are involved on a daily basis to keep on improving the quality of our services and bring the passion in every single detail.

Looking forward to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Villa Makassar.

Kind regards,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had 3 nights at this beautiful restored art deco themed Riad.Our room was exceptionally large, a suite. The bed very comfortable with soft linens.Staff were always ready to help without being asked.No one was intrusive.Breakfast offered everything we wanted. The location was within the Kasbah where got the sensation of "this is Morocco". One small thing there are very few toiletries offered ie shower cap.We did make this suggestion to the management.
We recommend Villa Makassar if you want to experience staying in the Kasbah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

What a relief when we arrived at La Villa Makassar.The beauty of the place , the kindness of all the staff and the impeccable service..Coming from Thailand ,we get used to a 5 stars treatment and we got the same feeling in this somptuous Riad .Decorated with an excellent taste,all the confort in the room.The spa and the hammam are a must .Wonderful breakfast that you can take any time and any where in the Riad.It was so peaceful that we did not want to go out .
It was my first experience in Morocco and I did definitely the right choice for our stay .
Will recommend this gem to anyone who want to see the real Moroccan hospitality .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is such an achievement for us to be able to share the Moroccan hospitality.

Being compared to asian high standards is a great compliment and we would like to thank you.

Indeed, we aim guest satisfaction in everything we do, and we take as exemples best hospitality pratices worldwide.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kindly,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

On entering Villa Makassar, it is immediately obvious that you have chosen well. It is an oasis of calm and tranquillity. The bedrooms are stylish and the bed and bed-linen is luxurious and comfortable.

As with the majority of reviews for this property, I would agree the service is excellent - not obtrusive in any way but every need is carefully catered for. Breakfast is served wherever you would like it and at whatever time you would like it - how often is that the case? Usually breakfast is served at the convenience of the hotel not the guest..

I have no doubt that Villa Makassar will quickly become one of the in places to know and visit, a lovely experience and one I would not have any hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, General Manager at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the whole team, we would like to thank you for sharing your very positive experience at Villa Makassar.
Indeed, at Villa Makassar we deliver a custom made service to our guests, to exceed their expectations and make their stay the best possible.
We will be pleased to have the chance to welcome you again, and share a little bit more of Marrakech and Morocco delights.
We wish you all the best.
Kindly,
Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.