We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service above and beyond !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Save Saved
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service above and beyond !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights of our 7 night trip to Morocco here.

Above and beyond any other praise I can give was the service we received. I travel a great deal to some very exclusive hotels/resorts and never have I experienced such outstanding service. The manager Souheil Hmittou is exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble.

From start to finish. His advice was superb on all aspects of our stay from shopping, bargaining, places to avoid, things to see. His recommendations were accurate. He went above any beyond even organising all our restaurant bookings for the remainder of our trip after our departure from the Riad. He organised the same taxi driver to stay with us all week and negotiated the cost. When the jacuzzi didn't work in out room we were given complementary hammam and scrubs. Honestly I have never seen service like it. Always with a heart warming smile and such efficiency. He is an asset to Villa Makkassar and makes your the maze that is Marrakech that little bit easier.

The Riad itself is in an easy to find street in the Kasbah area and felt very safe. Only a 10/15 min walk to the main square. The decor is lovely and it's a tranquil calm space within the chaotic Medina. They even have a small outdoor pool as well as a wonderful roof terrace to soak up the sun.

Our scrub in the Hammam was truly amazing and I would recommend to anyone staying there.

Overall, a great place to stay with service that you rarely find these days. Thank you Villa Makkasar. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms here are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    32
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
196
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed for a long weekend with some friends, what a beautiful villa, rooms were lovely and had all amenities. Staff were friendly and helpful, I could not have asked for more. Would recommend anyone to stay here, it can't be faulted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My first short break in Marrakech with my daughter and we found Villa Makassar to be the perfect Riad to stay with. Located just within the medina walls close to all the exciting hustle and bustle of Morrocan life and famous sights. The Riad was tranquil, peaceful and welcoming. The mint tea we were given on our arrival was delicious as was all the food that was prepared for us.
I would certainly stay there again and recommend it to everyone I know.

Room Tip: There are ten rooms that are all different. We chose the only twin room which was lovely and met wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is surely for you if you like Art Deco. The owner is a collector and "displays" his collection in the hotel and in the rooms. The hotel has just got professional management and soon could be THE place to stay in Marrakech as for the moment it slightly lacks liveliness. It is in the medina, but not too close the bustle. It's staff is fantastic. The only downsides are the pool: which you should use in the morning if you want sun too and the price - try to negotiate. There is also a spa, but we have not used it...

Room Tip: All rooms are different, choose your style/colour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Villa Makassar is a beatiful calm Art Deco-type hotel that really takes your breath away. It's a secret little hideaway from the busy streets of Marrakech. The rooms are iconic, the service is excellent and the staff is very generous, friendly and service minded. Make sure you ask them for recommendations on restaurants and bars, because they really know the top spots of the city. They sent me and my girlfriend to La Salama by horse(!), and we had the best meal we probably ever had. Go go go!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This boutique hotel (Raid) is absolutely one of the best accommodation I have ever stayed in. The service is 1st class and no amount of money could buy how well we were looked after.
Throughout our stay every little detail had been taken care of by the staff at Villa Makassar.
We stayed from Friday 22nd March to Monday 25th March for my hen weekend and when deciding where to go we were looking for something reasonably priced but a place that was special and we could feel spoilt.
We were definitely spoilt from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Everything we needed or requested help with was taken care of. The rooms and every area of the hotel decor is stunning. When you arrived all you could see was a wall with a wooden door but when the door opened you felt like you had just walked in to the secret garden, a magical place that nobody knew was there.
We had breakfasts and two evening meals at the hotel, the food was gorgeous and the service outstanding.
The Villa Makassar and all the staff made my hen weekend very special, happy memories that will last forever.
I would highly recommend this Raid to anyone wanting to stay in Marrakech.
Thanks to everyone at Villa Makassar

Room Tip: We upgraded and the rooms were stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was very suprised to find this Art Deco hotel in Marrakech, it was like stepping into another world, unique rooms with all details designed to perfection. Very helpful staff who even advised me to a fantastic restaurant, thank you Juliette!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.