We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure in Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hidden Treasure in Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Villa Makassar is a beatiful calm Art Deco-type hotel that really takes your breath away. It's a secret little hideaway from the busy streets of Marrakech. The rooms are iconic, the service is excellent and the staff is very generous, friendly and service minded. Make sure you ask them for recommendations on restaurants and bars, because they really know the top spots of the city. They sent me and my girlfriend to La Salama by horse(!), and we had the best meal we probably ever had. Go go go!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    44
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
264
22
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hertford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This boutique hotel (Raid) is absolutely one of the best accommodation I have ever stayed in. The service is 1st class and no amount of money could buy how well we were looked after.
Throughout our stay every little detail had been taken care of by the staff at Villa Makassar.
We stayed from Friday 22nd March to Monday 25th March for my hen weekend and when deciding where to go we were looking for something reasonably priced but a place that was special and we could feel spoilt.
We were definitely spoilt from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Everything we needed or requested help with was taken care of. The rooms and every area of the hotel decor is stunning. When you arrived all you could see was a wall with a wooden door but when the door opened you felt like you had just walked in to the secret garden, a magical place that nobody knew was there.
We had breakfasts and two evening meals at the hotel, the food was gorgeous and the service outstanding.
The Villa Makassar and all the staff made my hen weekend very special, happy memories that will last forever.
I would highly recommend this Raid to anyone wanting to stay in Marrakech.
Thanks to everyone at Villa Makassar

Room Tip: We upgraded and the rooms were stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was very suprised to find this Art Deco hotel in Marrakech, it was like stepping into another world, unique rooms with all details designed to perfection. Very helpful staff who even advised me to a fantastic restaurant, thank you Juliette!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Wow..Villa Makassar was above and beyond our expectations!!
The service provided by Souheil and his team is just excellent,its precise and custom made.They helped us with organizing,tours with private guides,amazing choose of restaurants,shopping and everything was so "right on the spot of what we like".
Souheil and his team treated us like they known us for several years and knew exactly how to make hour stay in Marrakesh an outstanding experience!
I have to highlight that you can have your breakfast,lunch and dinner when and where you want at Villa Makassar...the crepes for breakfast is just the best I have ever tasted.
We are already planning the next visit.

F & F

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Villa Makassar exceeds expectations from the moment you walk through the door from the busy narrow Morrocan street. We were greeted with mint tea while the manager provided information on our location and local attractions followed by a tour of the Riad, our home for the next three days. The property is exquisitly decorated, each room uniquely furnished. The staff and service were second to none, nothing was too much trouble. I would also recommend the Spa services.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Villa Makassar is a lovely hotel with an Art Deco theme. Each room is different. I had a standard room and found it very palacial. Souheil and his team couldn't do enough for my group. Everyone was so helpful and kind. The hotel is situated within a 20 minute walk to the main square. I hope to revisit it again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This Riad with it's warm friendly welcome should not be missed. We were given a very friendly welcome to our "home" for 3 nights by the Manager Souheil. This was my first trip to Morocco and I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the high standard of comfort and furnishings, all very art deco. My room was amazing and the hotel was calm and the staff were very attentive. A big thank you to Souheil and his team; I had the very best time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.