We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Berkshire UK
1 review
“Memorable from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Villa Makassar was the perfect venue for a recent short break where a number of friends and I stayed. Just a short journey from the aiprort and located in a quiet road off the main busy routes,but still a pleasant walk to all the main sites. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and "at home" - nothing was too much trouble. My room was beautiful,very comfortable and the bathroom exceptional, just a little more light and it would have been perfect.Breakfast was a real treat and varied each morning. Souheil the Manager and all off his staff made our visit memorable,so friendly,always had a smile for you and very professional. This Riad is definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MC11_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently stayed in Villa Makassar with a group of girlfriends, as soon as we walked into the Riad we were impressed. It was our first time to Morocco and we couldn’t have stayed in a more perfect place.

We were met by the Manager Souheil with mint tea and Moroccan pastries. The staff are welcoming and friendly. Throughout our stay the level of service was excellent, all went out of their way to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible.

We had dinner on the first night in the hotel and the food was delicious.

Souheil organised a day tour to the High Atlas mountains and our guide Noureddine was extremely knowledgeable and an excellent guide.

Whilst at the hotel we had a traditional Hamman in the hotel spa – not to be missed.

The Villa Makassar was a beautiful peaceful place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was a surprise trip from my girlfriend, and what can I say....this Riad is amazing.
The staff are very attentive - but not overly so that its annoying. The rooms were great and the décor is incredible. On arrival they talk to you about the owner and the décor - and its a great story. This was great for both of us, and at times it really felt like our own home - as we would sit in the court yard and not see any other guests for ages......very relaxing. The pool was great, the rooms great, service great.....no wonder everyone else has given it 5 stars!
We went for 4 days - and we plan to go again but for longer. If you want to go and relax - but enjoy the hustle and bustle of the square in the evening - this is your place.

P.S Try the Hammam Spa too.......amazing!!

Room Tip: Junior suites were a pretty standard size hotel room - but the big suites looked amazing (we had a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benjumanji2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed the most wonderful holiday in your stunning Villa. It was our first time to Morocco and we couldn’t have stayed in a more perfect place. Everything about your hotel was perfect and it felt such a privilege to be surrounded by so much beauty. The staff are all so wonderfully helpful and special thanks goes to Souheil, the manager, who went out of his way to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niyakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It was like walking into a palace off of the crazy streets of Marrakech! The staff were extremely friendly as soon as we arrived at VM. I stayed with my sister for 3 nights & we had a lovely time. The place was just amazing and we were treated very well. The rooms were immaculate, everywhere was kept extremely clean and the food was amazing! Would definitly visit again!

Room Tip: As it was my sister's birthday I actually emailed them & they upgraded us for free - no hass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My mother and I recently stayed in Villa Makassar and were thoroughly impressed by the Riad as soon as we walked through the door. You would never expect such a beautiful place to be there when you're on the manic but amazing streets in the Medina.
We were met by extremely friendly and welcoming staff and the level of help and service we received throughout our stay never wavered. The riad itself is stunning, the furnishings and layout are amazing and the fact that the owner spent five years travelling the world to find them gives it a lovely touch. It is so calm and peaceful, you could easily never see another guest if you wanted to and we certainly were never disturbed by anyone despite there being a large group of women staying there at the same time!
We ate in the hotel for dinner and lunch on two separate occasions and the food was delicious, we certainly would have eaten there more were there not so much else to explore in the city!
On our fist full day Juliette organised a tour guide for us for the morning, he was a very friendly chatty man who took us to all of the main attractions, gave us some great advice on haggling, eating and where to go and what to see. He also took us for a proper Moroccan meal which was fantastic.
We also experienced a traditional Moroccan Hammam in the hotel spa where we were scrubbed to within an inch of our lives and left with glowing, soft skin. Certainly worth a try if you stay, just don’t expect it to be relaxing.
In summary, we would recommend this to any traveller, I am 28 and would return with a group of friends or a boyfriend and likewise my mother would happily go back with my father or even a group of her own girlfriends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoebeCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wonderful, charming and discreet luxury. The beautiful owner, Juliette and all the staff will do everything to ensure that you are comfortable and happy and we certainly felt like privileged guests. Make full use of the facilities.The hamman/ jacuzzi is state of the art relaxation at its best. We' didn't want to leave and we're planning our next stay!

Room Tip: The Sassoon suite is marvelous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraBen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#65 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#18 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#58 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Villa des Orangers
La Villa des Orangers
#39 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
3.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#64 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing