We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful peaceful place to be.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Save Saved
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful peaceful place to be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently stayed in Villa Makassar with a group of girlfriends, as soon as we walked into the Riad we were impressed. It was our first time to Morocco and we couldn’t have stayed in a more perfect place.

We were met by the Manager Souheil with mint tea and Moroccan pastries. The staff are welcoming and friendly. Throughout our stay the level of service was excellent, all went out of their way to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible.

We had dinner on the first night in the hotel and the food was delicious.

Souheil organised a day tour to the High Atlas mountains and our guide Noureddine was extremely knowledgeable and an excellent guide.

Whilst at the hotel we had a traditional Hamman in the hotel spa – not to be missed.

The Villa Makassar was a beautiful peaceful place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    31
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
195
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was a surprise trip from my girlfriend, and what can I say....this Riad is amazing.
The staff are very attentive - but not overly so that its annoying. The rooms were great and the décor is incredible. On arrival they talk to you about the owner and the décor - and its a great story. This was great for both of us, and at times it really felt like our own home - as we would sit in the court yard and not see any other guests for ages......very relaxing. The pool was great, the rooms great, service great.....no wonder everyone else has given it 5 stars!
We went for 4 days - and we plan to go again but for longer. If you want to go and relax - but enjoy the hustle and bustle of the square in the evening - this is your place.

P.S Try the Hammam Spa too.......amazing!!

Room Tip: Junior suites were a pretty standard size hotel room - but the big suites looked amazing (we had a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed the most wonderful holiday in your stunning Villa. It was our first time to Morocco and we couldn’t have stayed in a more perfect place. Everything about your hotel was perfect and it felt such a privilege to be surrounded by so much beauty. The staff are all so wonderfully helpful and special thanks goes to Souheil, the manager, who went out of his way to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It was like walking into a palace off of the crazy streets of Marrakech! The staff were extremely friendly as soon as we arrived at VM. I stayed with my sister for 3 nights & we had a lovely time. The place was just amazing and we were treated very well. The rooms were immaculate, everywhere was kept extremely clean and the food was amazing! Would definitly visit again!

Room Tip: As it was my sister's birthday I actually emailed them & they upgraded us for free - no hass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My mother and I recently stayed in Villa Makassar and were thoroughly impressed by the Riad as soon as we walked through the door. You would never expect such a beautiful place to be there when you're on the manic but amazing streets in the Medina.
We were met by extremely friendly and welcoming staff and the level of help and service we received throughout our stay never wavered. The riad itself is stunning, the furnishings and layout are amazing and the fact that the owner spent five years travelling the world to find them gives it a lovely touch. It is so calm and peaceful, you could easily never see another guest if you wanted to and we certainly were never disturbed by anyone despite there being a large group of women staying there at the same time!
We ate in the hotel for dinner and lunch on two separate occasions and the food was delicious, we certainly would have eaten there more were there not so much else to explore in the city!
On our fist full day Juliette organised a tour guide for us for the morning, he was a very friendly chatty man who took us to all of the main attractions, gave us some great advice on haggling, eating and where to go and what to see. He also took us for a proper Moroccan meal which was fantastic.
We also experienced a traditional Moroccan Hammam in the hotel spa where we were scrubbed to within an inch of our lives and left with glowing, soft skin. Certainly worth a try if you stay, just don’t expect it to be relaxing.
In summary, we would recommend this to any traveller, I am 28 and would return with a group of friends or a boyfriend and likewise my mother would happily go back with my father or even a group of her own girlfriends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wonderful, charming and discreet luxury. The beautiful owner, Juliette and all the staff will do everything to ensure that you are comfortable and happy and we certainly felt like privileged guests. Make full use of the facilities.The hamman/ jacuzzi is state of the art relaxation at its best. We' didn't want to leave and we're planning our next stay!

Room Tip: The Sassoon suite is marvelous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at Villa Makassar after seeing an offer for the hotel on Travelzoo.

Villa Makassar is a tranquil, luxurious oasis amidst a busy city, run by a passionate owner and helpful staff. Stepping in off the street through a large, heavy door, you’re instantly met with the scent of orange blossom and the gentle sound of a babbling fountain in the interior courtyard. After a traditional complimentary minty tea in the comfortable lounge, we were given a tour of the building by the owner, Fouad. It was fascinating hearing about his five year long quest to renovate the Riad in an art deco style, picking pieces from around the world and bringing them together to produce a striking visual.

Our stay felt luxurious and relaxed, the highlight being a breakfast of the freshest, sweetest local orange juice, Moroccan pastries and minty tea, which we took daily on the roof terrace in full view of the Atlas mountains. We also took advantage of the traditional spa (the ‘Hammam’) for a steamy full body scrub, massage and pedicure. The staff looked after us very well, recommending and booking excellent restaurants and trips at our request. Any problems we had were swiftly taken care of.

If we ever re-visit Marrakech, we will definitely think of staying at Villa Makassar again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.