We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Makassar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Villa Makassar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wonderful, charming and discreet luxury. The beautiful owner, Juliette and all the staff will do everything to ensure that you are comfortable and happy and we certainly felt like privileged guests. Make full use of the facilities.The hamman/ jacuzzi is state of the art relaxation at its best. We' didn't want to leave and we're planning our next stay!

Room Tip: The Sassoon suite is marvelous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    36
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
228
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at Villa Makassar after seeing an offer for the hotel on Travelzoo.

Villa Makassar is a tranquil, luxurious oasis amidst a busy city, run by a passionate owner and helpful staff. Stepping in off the street through a large, heavy door, you’re instantly met with the scent of orange blossom and the gentle sound of a babbling fountain in the interior courtyard. After a traditional complimentary minty tea in the comfortable lounge, we were given a tour of the building by the owner, Fouad. It was fascinating hearing about his five year long quest to renovate the Riad in an art deco style, picking pieces from around the world and bringing them together to produce a striking visual.

Our stay felt luxurious and relaxed, the highlight being a breakfast of the freshest, sweetest local orange juice, Moroccan pastries and minty tea, which we took daily on the roof terrace in full view of the Atlas mountains. We also took advantage of the traditional spa (the ‘Hammam’) for a steamy full body scrub, massage and pedicure. The staff looked after us very well, recommending and booking excellent restaurants and trips at our request. Any problems we had were swiftly taken care of.

If we ever re-visit Marrakech, we will definitely think of staying at Villa Makassar again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Thank you everyone at Villa Makassar for making our trip so special – we have fallen in love with Marrakesh! Fouad and his team have created a unique and luxurious palace where anything is possible and nothing is too much trouble. The hospitality is outstanding – it was like staying at a very good friend’s house, because the staff made us feel at home straight away and couldn't do enough for us. They were generous, discreet and attentive and the service was impeccable.

My boyfriend took me to Villa Makassar for my birthday and the staff made it unforgettable – from the flowers in my bedroom and bathroom the night before, to an amazing breakfast on the roof terrace in the sun. They even went to the trouble of recording my favourite songs on a CD and putting a flower decoration of Irises on the table (my middle name)!

There are only 10 bedrooms but the riad is enormous so it feels very private and you could easily spend a whole day there without bumping into anyone else. Every room has a different personality and a different story with pieces of art collected from all over the world. They have thought of everything and the passion that has gone into creating the riad is obvious from the moment you step inside from the open log fire in our room to the goldfish in the ceiling of the spa to the chairs that match the mosaic fountain in the middle of the riad. We’ve already told our friends and family and we’re going to be coming back again soon before everyone else finds out about it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This Riad is spacious and stylish with large rooms decorated with authentic art deco furnishings gathered from around the world. The rooms are beautiful, it has a roof top terrace, small open air pool, and indoor jacuzzi.
Food was quite nice but not particularly special.
It is in the Kasbah district at the very edge of the Medina. The advantage of this is that you get the good feeling of being in the Medina and it is quite. The disadvantage is that you have a 20-30 minute walk to some of the main places in the Medina.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband & I had the extreme pleasure of visiting Marrakech, and stayed at the Villa Makassar via Living Social deal in September 2012. Even before arrival to Villa Makassar, I was in contact w/ the owner Mr. Fouad Graidia. He was extremely gracious, and assured us that we would have a great time staying at the Villa & Marrakech. The trip did not disappoint! As a lover of Art Deco, I absolutely loved the decor, vibe, and style of the Villa. The staff were extremely welcoming & gracious, and made us feel nothing short of family during our entire stay. My husband got to experience first hand the joys (not) of having your luggage lost for 4 of the 7 days we were there. The staff made daily calls to the airport trying to track his lost luggage, and laundered what he had on daily without request to do so. The fantastic experience extended to the guide that works wi the hotel, Noureddine. Nour was knowledgeable, and beyond fun. The outings exposed us to the many sides of Marrakech which was extremely rewarding. We would do it all over again in a heartbeat, and if we ever get back to Marrakech - Villa Makassar would be our choice. My only regret is that it took so long to finally write the review - life in the U.S. is unfortunately back to normal. We need another vacation!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard receive a lovely serenade by local birds in the early evening - very cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We got a great deal for 4 nights at Villa Makassar via Travelzoo. To be honest, reading the reviews on here I did wonder if they were too good to be true.... but they are all true! This is a beautiful Riad, lovingly restored and refurbished to an amazing level by the owner Fouad 2 years ago. The art deco style in all the rooms is sumptuous, and there is attention to detail everywhere from the B&O TVs to the wonderful 'rain' shower in the bathroom. The staff were lovely, and couldn't do enough to help us. The spa was beautiful, and very relaxing (great massage). Its a 10minute walk from the riad to the souks, or the staff will call a taxi to take you anywhere you want to go. As another reviewer noted, the riad truly is like a oasis; as you step in from a visit to the dusty, noisy (but not to be missed) souks you find yourself in a beautiful, tranquil space that is perfect for relaxing. Not to be missed! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

WOW!!! This hotel is excellent,the staff couldn't do enough for us,the decor fantatic,we felt that we were guests in a private beautiful house..a wonderful experience..I would highly recommend staying here ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.