We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best kept secret in Marrakesh!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best kept secret in Marrakesh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Thank you everyone at Villa Makassar for making our trip so special – we have fallen in love with Marrakesh! Fouad and his team have created a unique and luxurious palace where anything is possible and nothing is too much trouble. The hospitality is outstanding – it was like staying at a very good friend’s house, because the staff made us feel at home straight away and couldn't do enough for us. They were generous, discreet and attentive and the service was impeccable.

My boyfriend took me to Villa Makassar for my birthday and the staff made it unforgettable – from the flowers in my bedroom and bathroom the night before, to an amazing breakfast on the roof terrace in the sun. They even went to the trouble of recording my favourite songs on a CD and putting a flower decoration of Irises on the table (my middle name)!

There are only 10 bedrooms but the riad is enormous so it feels very private and you could easily spend a whole day there without bumping into anyone else. Every room has a different personality and a different story with pieces of art collected from all over the world. They have thought of everything and the passion that has gone into creating the riad is obvious from the moment you step inside from the open log fire in our room to the goldfish in the ceiling of the spa to the chairs that match the mosaic fountain in the middle of the riad. We’ve already told our friends and family and we’re going to be coming back again soon before everyone else finds out about it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    45
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
288
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This Riad is spacious and stylish with large rooms decorated with authentic art deco furnishings gathered from around the world. The rooms are beautiful, it has a roof top terrace, small open air pool, and indoor jacuzzi.
Food was quite nice but not particularly special.
It is in the Kasbah district at the very edge of the Medina. The advantage of this is that you get the good feeling of being in the Medina and it is quite. The disadvantage is that you have a 20-30 minute walk to some of the main places in the Medina.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband & I had the extreme pleasure of visiting Marrakech, and stayed at the Villa Makassar via Living Social deal in September 2012. Even before arrival to Villa Makassar, I was in contact w/ the owner Mr. Fouad Graidia. He was extremely gracious, and assured us that we would have a great time staying at the Villa & Marrakech. The trip did not disappoint! As a lover of Art Deco, I absolutely loved the decor, vibe, and style of the Villa. The staff were extremely welcoming & gracious, and made us feel nothing short of family during our entire stay. My husband got to experience first hand the joys (not) of having your luggage lost for 4 of the 7 days we were there. The staff made daily calls to the airport trying to track his lost luggage, and laundered what he had on daily without request to do so. The fantastic experience extended to the guide that works wi the hotel, Noureddine. Nour was knowledgeable, and beyond fun. The outings exposed us to the many sides of Marrakech which was extremely rewarding. We would do it all over again in a heartbeat, and if we ever get back to Marrakech - Villa Makassar would be our choice. My only regret is that it took so long to finally write the review - life in the U.S. is unfortunately back to normal. We need another vacation!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard receive a lovely serenade by local birds in the early evening - very cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We got a great deal for 4 nights at Villa Makassar via Travelzoo. To be honest, reading the reviews on here I did wonder if they were too good to be true.... but they are all true! This is a beautiful Riad, lovingly restored and refurbished to an amazing level by the owner Fouad 2 years ago. The art deco style in all the rooms is sumptuous, and there is attention to detail everywhere from the B&O TVs to the wonderful 'rain' shower in the bathroom. The staff were lovely, and couldn't do enough to help us. The spa was beautiful, and very relaxing (great massage). Its a 10minute walk from the riad to the souks, or the staff will call a taxi to take you anywhere you want to go. As another reviewer noted, the riad truly is like a oasis; as you step in from a visit to the dusty, noisy (but not to be missed) souks you find yourself in a beautiful, tranquil space that is perfect for relaxing. Not to be missed! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

WOW!!! This hotel is excellent,the staff couldn't do enough for us,the decor fantatic,we felt that we were guests in a private beautiful house..a wonderful experience..I would highly recommend staying here ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Villa Makassar.
Well located in the heart of Marrakesh. This is a calm and relaxing hotel.
It is decorated with taste in an art deco style.
If you have to go in Marrakesh either for business or tourism, I highly recommend this place !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My friend and I have been dreaming of a trip to Marrakech for years, and Villa Makassar exceeded our expectations. From the moment we were met at the airport, we felt in solid, welcoming hands. The staff were extremely professional, kind, and so hospitable. They helped us quickly find our bearings in the Medina and devise a plan for our stay. The meals were lovely and the hammam is a hidden gem. The staff there is also fantastic. It quickly felt like a home away from home, and we were sad to leave!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#49 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#10 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
#74 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#51 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,082 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Splendia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.