We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and warm staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Save Saved
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and warm staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Villa Makassar, within the walls of the Medina and only a ten minute walk from the lively square Jamma al Fna. The hotel has been completely refurbished in an Art Deco style with original furniture and original art, including 19th Century posters adorning the walls of the rooms and the public areas. We were there last week at the beginning of the tourist season, but the weather was against us with average unseasonable temperatures of around 16C, if we were lucky. The staff are superb and very attentive. The Spa offers a Hamman (steam room) and massage facilities with a jacuzzi. The walled outdoor pool looked fabulous, but due to the weather, we decided to give it a miss. The owner Fouad Graida is perfect as "mine host" and will make sure you have a good time. Will we go back - certainly.

Room Tip: Keep the hotel card in case you need a ride back in a taxi as I defy you to pronounce the street nam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    32
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
199
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
manchester, uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a memorable 3 night stay at Villa Makassar. We can't speak highly enough of the accommodation, levels of service, friendly and helpful staff and the great location in the Medina. In particular the manager Sofiane is efficient, friendly and welcoming. He arranged excellent guides for us for a walking tour of the Medina/Souk and a trip to the Ourika mountains and recommended a beautiful Italian restaurant where we dined. Our room (Jules Leleu) was stylish, spacious and comfortable and breakfast on the roof terrace each morning was a particular highlight. The Riad was an oasis of tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. We both had relaxing massages in the Spa at the Riad and there are small indoor and outdoor swimming pools. I would recommend the Riad for a relaxing stay in wonderful Marrakech and wouldn't hesitate to return for another stay in the future.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My mother & I had a memorable stay at the Villa Makassar in December 2011. We used a travelzoo voucher to treat ourselves to a trip to Marrakesh with a stay at a luxury riad :) Villa Makassar is situated down a slightly noisy street in the Medina, but you would never know it as its a quiet zen of a place once you walk inside.

The voucher was a fantastic offer as it is a very beautiful art deco riad, beautifully laid out with its own indoor pool and hammam. The deal included dinner as well as a hammam. Dinner was delicious; canapes, chicken tagine and a delightful pastry dessert called Ktefa. Our waiter was particularly attentive and very friendly and helped teach us some arabic words to get us by during the stay :)

We had a lovely twin room. We had a problem with the shower as it didnt have hot water but as soon as we reported it someone came to look into it immediately and when he couldnt help the charming owner came round to investigate. We were promptly given a key to another room we could use for the duration of our stay to use the shower there (even though our shower was fixed the next day).

Our hammam at the riad was a fantastic experience. Do not leave without having one!

On the whole a delightful stay in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

An amazing Art Deco riad, made of two riads joined together, so you have plenty of communal areas and it does not feel clostrophobic like some smaller riads do. I have NEVER seen such attention to detail and luxury in a riad (and I have visited many). No wonder this hotel has been featured in top interior design magazines! The owner is delightful and the staff very attentive. After the Mamounia was re decorated in a less art-deco way, Marrakech needed a beautiful art deco place and this is it! Easy access by car all the way to the riad's entrance, great central area.
And it has a pool and a state of the art spa. Note that the pool is separated from the rooms so even if kids play in it, you won't be disturbed by the noise.
The riad is very quiet, you won't get woken up by the call for prayer at 5am!
Could not recommend it more to anyone looking for elegance, luxury and style in Marrakech.

Room Tip: All rooms and suites are unique and delightfully decorated with art-deco antiques.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This place itself is stunning however to sum it up there are two very different levels to this place and what they offer. If you stay here paying full 'rack rate' I imagine it is perfect. I had a peek at the other rooms and they look amazing. Myself and my partner stayed here on a Groupon / Living Social Deal, still at 130 quid a night and as we were on the 'deal' you could not help but notice you were offered sub-standard service. The room we had was 'okay' nowhere near as nice as the others. Shower pressure is rubbish and there was a leak from the roof the ceiling into the bathroom which was left to drip onto a towel.
We were looking forward to our inclusive meal which turned out to be a joke. Soup for starter was awful, one chicken leg for our mains course accompanied with nothing, was actually quite tasty and dessert consisted of 3 slices of oranges & 2 Slices of Kiwi Fruit & a dusting of cinnamon. Soup & Dessert was sent back to the kitchen with not even a question to ask how our meal was. Wine was paid for and very poor taste, along with the poor tasting coffee throughout the stay. Breakfast is not even worth typing about.

Do not pay for a massage as it turns out to be a back rub by one of the kitchen staff. Very annoyed we did not bring this to the owners attention.

Having said that, as a whole, the Riad is beautiful and if you were paying full price and if the food on offer is as suggested in their website then, fully recommend it. If you are going on a 'deal', well put it this way, we certainly won't be going back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fouad926, Propriétaire at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
The partner of this customer was very impressed with Villa Makassar. During their 2 night stay, we asked them manytimes if everything was ok (as we do with all our clients) and they answered that they were very happy. So we are very surprised to read this review and we don't understand why they do this.
Indeed, they had a special deal for a junior suite and we gave them a stunning Suite Deluxe with a beautiful desk in galuchat shagreen, an antique bed from Birma , a large dressing, a Bang & Olufsen TV and a shower with light and radio.
Our food is fresh and different every day and most of our customers eat at Villa Makassar many times during their stay.
This customer finished the bottle of wine THEY choosed but they should have returned it if it was so tasteless.
The breakfast is a large choice of hot drinks, different morrocan cakes, fruits, yoghurt, cheese, eggs, fresh orange juice, bread, butter and jam.
Obviously, the staff for the massage don't work in the kitchen. You should have bring this to our attention than writing this afterwards. We are very curious to know how you got this idea.
We work very hard to satisfy ALL our customers and fortunately 99% of them appreciate. Many customers got the same deal in January and the reviews posted were very positive.
Unfortunately, this customer try to spoil our image with subjective and unfounded arguments. We still don't understand why and we are not interested in having this kind of traveller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We've just stayed in this fabulous hotel situated right in the old part of the town in the medina.It was absolutely fantastic.We want to go back as soon as we can. The service from Soufiane the manager and his attentive team was superb. From when we arrived,to the mint tea provided before our free transfer to the airport was faultless. The Art Deco interior is amazing, we've never stayed in a hotel as beautiful or luxurious before. Our room was so comfortable,I wish I had a bedroom like it at home.We've not slept so well for ages.Very quiet.The bed-linen and pillows felt lovely to the touch.
The food was excellent,a real slice of authentic Morrocco cuisine,and we could even have an alcoholic drink, which is hard to come by outside.The breakfast was up on the sunny roof-terrace,a great start to the day.There was even a lift provided for elderly/disabled residents.
The bathroom was plush and lavish. The shower was incredible,it even had music.Large,thick dressing-gowns and slippers were provided. There was plenty of storage space,a large digital tv and air-conditioning/heater.
We'd certainly reccommend this hotel to anyone,we hope to go back very soon.A big thank you to the team for such a wonderful stay.All the very best !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying in Villa Makassar for 5 nights recently and cannot praise it highly enough. We arrived by taxi arranged by the hotel and were slightly anxious when it drew up in a narrow street in the heart of the Kasbah where nothing appeared to have changed in hundreds of years - but what a surprise as we entered the hotel through a dimly lit corridor into a beautiful courtyard where all was calm and tranquility! We were warmly greeted by very gracious staff and from then on we were treated to nothing but first class service and attention. Villa Makassar is a stunning bistro hotel, restored in traditional riad style but exquisitely furnished with original Art Deco furniture and accessories - the whole building is a work of art. We were very fortunate to be upgraded to the grande executive room which was fabulous, however we were able to see some of the other rooms which are all stunning, each with a different theme but with the Art Deco style running throughout. During our stay we treated ourselves to a hammam in the lovely spa which we can highly recommend. The charming owner, Fouad Graidia, can be justifiably proud of what he has created at Villa Makassar and his wonderful staff make it very hard to leave when it is time to go!

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous - select a room with a walk-in shower if you don't like baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.