We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tin Mal Mosque

Tin Mal Mosque
Street R 203 | Medina,Marrakech, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 676-124587
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 91 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Still being restored but really interesting to see the intricate work inside. Liked the journey to get there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Being restored to former glory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We arrived on foot as part of a walk in the N'Fis River Valley area. We approached along farm tracks, passing an ancient cemetery which added to the atmosphere. The mosque is being restored, but the shape of it is clear to see, with wonderful geometric precision giving harmony to the overall design. Well worth a trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Andalucia, Spain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“If you are in the area, Tin Mal Mosque is unmissable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Unlike in Turkey, for instance, Mosques in Morocco are closed to non-muslims. This one, renovated by a French team, is absolutely stunning. It becomes a "working" mosque on Fridays but is otherwise open to tourists (sort of). We got there about 4.00pm and were shown around by a very knowledgeable gentleman who said that the voluntary contribution (€20) we gave him was going towards the on-going renovation and that he was just an unpaid enthusiast. It was worth every penny to have a private guide around one of the most impressive buildings in Southern Morocco (and with no other tourists!). As soon as we left he left too so you have to be lucky or persistent to get admitted. You can ask at one of the local shops and I'm sure you will get in somehow during normal hours. This was certainly one of the highlights of our trip and is an easy day journey from Marrakech.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very interesting country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Don't shop anything in the first sight, the longer you stay, the cheaper the souvenir.

Visited October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Mal Mosque also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Tin Mal Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin Mal Mosque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tin Mal Mosque to your Saves list