We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'atelier Faim d'Epices

L'atelier Faim d'Epices
Marrakech, Morocco
0600048800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 529 Activities in Marrakech
Type: Classes/Workshops, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cours de cuisine à Marrakech Cooking class in Marrakesh. We pick people up to their location about 9:30am and drive them to our building in the fields,20 min from city center.In half a day They learn to make a complete Moroccan dish,including bread,salads,and a main meal changing every day, trained by our two Moroccan cookers.They prepare their own meal and eat it on our terrace looking at the olive trees...
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Gotham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

So many good reviews of this already. Michel is a wonderful and humorous host and really brings the group together. Plenty of help and guidance is available for the cooking and the whole atmosphere is very relaxed. The tagine we made tasted great, really great. Overall this was my favourite day in Morocco.

A nice surprise was an email containing some photos from the day plus some additional recipes, which arrived a week after I got back to the UK.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    56
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful day, host and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We don't want to repeat what's already been said about how your day unfolds but do want to share our thoughts on what a gracious host Michel was, start to finish, and how we enjoyed the entire event. From the time we were picked up (on time!), welcomed with tea/coffee and introduction to our day and then led through the day in the very well organized kitchen and cooking stations, to our shared late lunch with wine and dessert served by our host, we enjoyed every part of the event. Great to spend time with someone who truly enjoys what he does and shares his enthusiasm with his guests.
Michel's assistant, Nizha, was a great tutor and patient with the many questions she had to field.
As it happened, we booked the cooking school and spa experience afterward as a package deal through Faim d'Epices. The spa was excellent as well. Cooking school from 10 to 4 or so, then they took us to the spa afterward for a hammam and massage from 5 to about 8. Best day of our whole trip!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
1 review
“a Realy nice day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

At This day we had the most famos dish form Marocco, and one of the best days of our
stay. We enjoyed the day laerning and cooking with a lot of information and fun!
Thanks

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spicy Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We (three senior sisters, celebrating a big birthday) thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. We were picked up on time and taken to the venue which is set in orange and lemon groves, very peaceful, outside bustling Marrakech. Michel, Nezha and staff were all very welcoming. Each stage was explained very clearly and we all produced bread, a Lamb and prune Tagine, followed by a crispy pancake. The blind testing of herbs and spices was very interesting. Participants were from various countries and we learnt much about different cultures. A fantastic day which I would recommend to anyone visiting Marrakech who has a day to spare.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our trip. We made a delicately flavoured meal with breads and salad. So much fun and really helpful. Well worth spending a day doing especially if you have an interest in food. Great tutors and perfect hosting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'atelier Faim d'Epices also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to L'atelier Faim d'Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'atelier Faim d'Epices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.