We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'atelier Faim d'Epices

L'atelier Faim d'Epices
Marrakech, Morocco
0600048800
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 444 activities in Marrakech
Type: Classes/Workshops
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cours de cuisine à Marrakech Cooking class in Marrakesh. We pick people up to their location about 9:30am and drive them to our building in the fields,20 min from city center.In half a day They learn to make a complete Moroccan dish,including bread,salads,and a main meal changing every day, trained by our two Moroccan cookers.They prepare their own meal and eat it on our terrace looking at the olive trees...
Useful Information: Stroller parking
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our trip. We made a delicately flavoured meal with breads and salad. So much fun and really helpful. Well worth spending a day doing especially if you have an interest in food. Great tutors and perfect hosting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    51
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“HIGHLIGHT OF OUR TRIP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

After reading other TA reviews, we booked our cooking class with Michel. It turned out to be a definite highlight of our trip to Morocco. The facilities were lovely and spotlessly clean. Michel was a wonderful host - very welcoming, informative and entertaining. Nezha was lovely and such a talented instructor and was very patient with us! The blind spice smell test was fun and informative. The tagine of fish we prepared was really delicious. All in all, it was a wonderful day filled with memories of good food, fellowship and new friends. Highly recommend Faim d'Epices!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hot kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were not sure what to expect but the day started well when we were picked up on time.The "school" was down a dusty road but a lovely kitchen training area awaited us. Here we were introduced to Michel and his team, we were given a brief exolanation of what the day would consist of and it was straight into the blind smell test. Our group was of mixed nationalities and as we were all in the dark it made us all come together quickly. The whole day was one of laughter and i am sure none of us expected our efforts to turn out so well as we were not really taking it too seriously. A lovely day that i would recommend to everyone no matter what their culinary skills may or may not be.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a fantastic experience in Marrakech, and if you are visiting for a few days I definitely recommend you book a space. Michel is a great host for the day and really makes you feel at home. The experience is a whole day from about 9am to 4pm including hotel pick ups. The day incorporates a spice class, and then cooking Moroccan bread and the days tagine from scratch. Unfortunately you only get to watch as the cook makes the sides and desserts. Ideally it would be great if they could let guests make these as well, as there is plenty of waiting around on the day. Be prepared to take lots of breaks and soak up the sun in their beautiful fruit garden. The staff are absolutely lovely. There is no pressure to buy anything like everywhere else in Marrakech. Thank you to Michel and his amazing team for a fun day that we will remember for years to come.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The spice of life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked a cooking class with Michel and his team after reading good reviews on trip advisor. We were picked up on time and taken out of the city to a very well appointed cooking room located on a farm. Michel greeted us and proceeded to make our experience very enjoyable. He used the blind spice smell test as a method to explain the use of different spices in Moroccan cooking. We were shown how and also prepared our own Moroccan bread as well as a Chicken Tajine and Moroccan pancakes. A great day well recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'atelier Faim d'Epices also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to L'atelier Faim d'Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'atelier Faim d'Epices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added L'atelier Faim d'Epices to your Saves list