We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amour d'Auberge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amour d'Auberge
Save
You added Amour d'Auberge to your Saves list
1 and 2 Derb Chaabane | Rue riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Poznan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Small but pretty nice hostel, almost at the 'Jemaa el-Fna' square, which is one of main atraction of Marrakech. My room was very small so if you like a spacious rooms it is rather not a place for you. The staff was friendly and helpful. Simple and good breakfast, free internet. I also met an interesting people there. If you travel on your own it is a place for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I recommend this hostel to anyone who is travelling to Marrakech for the first time..and the second time.. and the third time :-)

The hostel is clean, close to the essential places (souks, restaurants, laundromat),and it even has a pc with internet access. If you have a laptop, they have free wifi. It's a bit slow but its enough if you just need to rebook a flight or check your email.

The hostel's decor and breakfast gave us a taste of Morocco even before we explored the landscape and got pulled into the souks. Breakfast is a great social activity because we ate with the other guests in the living are. I love their tea!

The best part is that the staff made the Marrakech experience even more memorable. Helpful and super friendly, they gave good (and honest) recommendations for places to eat and visit. Ali and Aissam, you guys are amazing! :-)

Room Tip: Rooms at the 2nd floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merosg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Amour d´Auberge was a great place to stay in Marrakech. It was relatively easy to find from where the bus drops off from the airport when asking directions. It had an excellent location, close to everything, but provided a nice, clean, and safe retreat from the city. Staff was very friendly, rooms were clean, and there was a nice communal area. Definitely would stay there again, can´t be the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

The hostel was bright and clean, with friendly staff, as well as friendly travellers. I heard rumours of the beds being very narrow, which they were, with no rails on the top bunks. I was a bit worried about off, but had no problems in the end, and a comfortable sleep! The rooms are filled with beds, and leave little space for luggage, although this shouldn't be a problem for a backpacker, and it is well worth the money! It could also be a little nosy at night as some bedrooms were right off the main sitting room, and showers weren't always warm!

I hadn't booked, and there was a little confusion over whether there was a spare bed or not. I stayed for 3 nights, without notice, only asking if there was a spare bed each day, and each night there was indeed a bed, and the staff were more than welcoming.

I stayed here during the protests (20/02/11) and the staff were amazingly helpful and reassuring. It also has to be said that the breakfasts are great, especially since they are included! There is also free Wifi, and use of the hostel laptop when it's free!

The best thing about this hostel is the friendly atmosphere - when the world seems crazy outside, you feel right at home here as if you are with friends. A must for the poor solo traveller!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I would stay at this Hostel again. First I reserved 2 nights but ended up staying 5. They helped me book a 3 day trek to Merzouga. They gave me info on many day trips and stuff to do around Marrekesh. I saw how the staff heped other travelers that didn´t have reservations but found a place for them anyway. Even lending laptops when the others were in use. They would bring a person to do henna in the hostel instead of on the street. (it was better and cheeper) The rooms are small but clean. Hot water and traditional breakfast. The location is fantastic!! VERY close to Jemaa El Fna. The friendly staff really made my visit to Marrakesh unforgetable. And you CAN´T beat the price. Very cool Hostel!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

this is not a fancy hotel. it is a hostel. but for a hostel, it is fantastic. under 100 dirhams (~ 10 euros) per person per night. there are shared rooms, 4 to a room. the sheets are clean. bathroom is shared but is also clean, warm showers. nice staff. fantastic location about 3-5 minutes walk from the djemaa el fna. there is also a nice free breakfast! the only thing is that the rooms surround an interior "courtyard" and the doors are thin so there might be noise at night depending on how many people are staying there. that being said, if you are looking for a budget option, this is definitely a great choice!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#145 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
#261 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,760 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#64 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#35 of 1,136 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amour d'Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amour d'Auberge

Address: 1 and 2 Derb Chaabane | Rue riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amour d'Auberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.