We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely overpriced mediocre food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa des Orangers

La Villa des Orangers
6 rue Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
+212 (0)5 24 38 46 38
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 612 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
Restaurant details
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hugely overpriced mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had dinner at the restaurant a few days ago. The food was utterly unimpressive, the worst being a dessert which had been out of a freezer and into a microwave non long enough...
And the bill was outrageous. Avoid

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    10
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We splurged one evening in Marrakech and had a celebratory dinner in this beautiful hotel. We arrived without reservations and too early for dinner but were shown to a beautiful lounge where we ordered drinks and were given delicious munchies. This intimate restaurant is really beautiful, having a big fireplace (like the lounge) and gorgeous decoration. The tables are spaced well apart. We had very good food and a very decent red under the label Mogador (produced in the region not far from Essaouiria). The staff were kind and courteous.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charmless beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If only the beauty of the place would be reflected in the attitude of management.The bar is off limits if you are not a registered guest,thats how I was told,although accompanied by elegant friends from Florence;who wanted to have a look.I have eaten in the Villa.Great service ,great food,high prices,but my friends booked elsewhere,royal suite,royal treatment,welcome at the bar.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful but very overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The restaurant is in a beautiful setting by the pool, when we visited there were about 10 tables of which 6 were occupied so it's small and quiet. Service was attentive and efficient, perhaps a bit quick but we do like to take things slow so it may suit others better.

First things up, drinks. The wine was overpriced - we ordered a branded bottle that is available in other restaurants and hotels in the city and it was almost twice the price, which seemed a bit unreasonable.

Food. Its a set price menu for 2 or 3 courses, typically french style. We had the lobster ravioli and foil gras terrine to start both of which were really excellent. The steak as a main was also excellent, but I had the scallops and It came with 3 of them... admittedly they were reasonably sized and very tasty but this was a starter portion not a main. So overall I felt mine was overpriced for what it was, but my partner's was actually quite reasonable.

Back to service. When they'd cleared the plates they just gave us the bill ... Felt like they just wanted to try and get rid of us, even though there were 2 other parties left in the bar. And to top it all off the deputy manager came out and after a nice enough chat tried to sell us into staying at the hotel, he said he'd bring us the brochure and we asked not to have it brought to the table but we'd take it (out of politeness) on our way out, and then some other waiter brought the brochure anyway with the bill. Literally speechless! It left a slightly sour taste to the night which was actually a birthday celebration. We hadn't said anything as we don't like fuss for these things but my belief is they should treat everyone like it could be, just in case it is. Shame.


overall - worth a visit if you like a serene setting and don't mind a gamble on portion sizes. Food is better value than the wine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Thanks to good, although limited, reviews from tripadvisor, my bf and I decided to visit after exhausting the main square for the evening.

We struggled to find the restaurant using the map location from tripadvisor (explained later*) but on arrival we were taken aback by the fine decor of the building. We were led through to the pool area, where the tables are elegantly scattered around, and took our seats. The menu, rolled as a scroll, was then handed to us. I decided on the sole with a Provençal source while my bf opted for lamb. Both cooked to perfection and really delightful.

The desserts were also really good. Creme brûlée my bf had ("the best I've ever had") and macaroon for myself, really good, crisp and flavoursome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed La Villa des Orangers also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Villa des Orangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa des Orangers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.