We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful Riad in an excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chayma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Chayma to your Saves list
Riad Chayma
8 Derb Taabout | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #61 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful Riad in an excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Riad Chayma along with another couple and had an absolutely wonderful time. We had the Mint Room and the other couple had the Bougainvillea Suite both of which were very comfortable and clean.
The staff were all extremely helpful and went out of their way to make us feel at home. We were welcomed with mint tea and a map with lots of helpful tips on where to visit. All of Shareef's restaurant recommendations were spot on. Breakfast was excellent with some variation everyday and kept us full for a while! It was very peaceful in our rooms and on the lovely terrace which was needed after a busy day in the markets.
The Riad is very conveniently located with the main square, the souk, the new town and the palaces within a maximum 20 min walking distance, so we barely took any taxis.
Highly recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
113
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
México, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I really loved Riad Chayma! It is the perfect place to rest and enjoy. The service was excellent, the food was delicious, and all the people working there were very kind and helpful.
It was very clean and decorated with the nicest taste.
I fully recommend this Riad if you are planning a vacation in Marrakech.

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed at the Mint Room, it was really pretty, but I think it was a little small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Have just returned from 10 days in Riad Chayma. We were met at the airport and taken to the Riad. It was a real wow moment to arrive there. We had a chat with Shareef and a pot of tea then we were shown our rooms. My husband and I had the Orange Suite and my teenager daughter had the Mint Room. Both rooms were lovely. We then had a complimentary dinner on the terrace which was very good. We spent most mornings scouring the souks and sightseeing in the Medina and out in the new town. We ate in the square as well as the new town. Breakfast at the Riad was delicious and plentiful so we didn't need lunch.
Our afternoons were spent relaxing on the terrace, in the salon or our rooms. The plunge pool was a lovely way to cool down when we came back from the souks.
Some evenings we came back from our evening meal and chilled in the salon watching TV.
This is a fantastic Riad that looks gorgeous, is very comfortable and is perfectly situated near one of the Medina gates and a short walk from the souks and main square.
The main thing about the Riad is the staff. The day manager Shareef, night manager Adjil and the two women all give the best service. Shareef, who we saw most often is so helpful and obliging. Nothing is too much trouble for him. My husband had a massage and pedicure in house. We had tea in the salon. Shareef arranged our trips with Aziz which were great.
All in all an amazing stay.

Room Tip: The rooms we had were on the ground floor. All the other suites are on the first floor and are bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

As soon as I saw pictures of this Riad I fell in love. I never thought the Riad could look any more amazing in person. Oh how I was wrong. The Riad was absolutely spectacular. We started our Morocco experience in the 35+ degrees heat of Marrakech before heading to Agadir. From booking to arrival, Rochelle and her team made out stay enjoyable. Once inside the Riad you couldn't hear a thing from outside. The Riad is truly a wonderful place to stay. It was intimate and friendly. Shareef and Adil completely made me feel safe and welcomed. The plunge pool was to die for and the breakfast in the mornings was yummy. Breakfast is included in the price. I stayed in the Saffron suite on the 2nd floor.

It was spacious and gorgeous. The bathroom was luxurious and the room was equipped with a powerful AC unit, which was needed! I am not sure if I would go back to Marrakech as I feel like its an experience you don't need to re-live, however if I ever do, i would definitely stay at this Riad again. I would highly recommend booking a taxi via the Riad to pick you up from the airport.

Room Tip: book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at Riad Chayma for three nights to end our surfing trip in Agadir and it really was a perfect way to finish our holiday. Marrakech is a bustling city but the Riad is tranquil and peaceful and the perfect place to relax after hitting the souks and city sights.

The Riad itself is a beautiful and charming place. A lot of attention and thought has been put into its design/ layout and the attention to all the little details is clear to see. The house is very clean and modern but it still has a traditional Moroccan feel. The staff were brilliant - they were very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly and I have to say a big thank you to Shareef and Adil who made us feel so welcome and comfortable at all times.
We stayed in the mint room - the only twin room and this was very spacious and beautifully designed. The food in the Riad is also excellent- we had a fabulous dinner on arrival and the breakfasts were plentiful and fresh.

The Riad is in walking distance to the souks and main square but not in the thick of it which we really liked and once we got our bearings getting around on foot was easy. We really enjoyed our stay and I would highly recommend Riad Chayma to anyone travelling to Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in Riad Chayma for seven nights and didn't want to leave. We felt extremely well looked after by the wonderful staff all the way through the trip. The riad itself is a lovely place to relax after a busy day getting lost in the medina, and our room (Deluxe Bougainvillea) was spacious and comfortable. The dinner we had on the first night was delicious, so much so that we opted to have dinner there again another night. I wish I had dined at the riad even more during our stay, as those were some of the best meals we had in Marrakech! It was also very reasonably priced considering we had the terrace to ourselves that evening.

I was really glad we picked Riad Chayma as the location was perfect - easy access to the souks and Jemaa el-Fna but also walking distance to Gueliz which has a lot of restaurants/cafes and a nice contrast from the medina. Trust me, being a little bit removed from the main square is a good thing! The street outside the riad is great because it is mainly locals rather than tourists, so when you walk back in the evening you can just blend in and not get any hassle as you may encounter in the main souks!

The riad itself is beautiful and relaxing, but the thing that really makes it stand out is the staff. You get a really personalised experience as you can ask Shareef and Adil literally anything about Marrakech and they will do their best to help you. We really enjoyed chatting to both of them and finding out about Morroccan life, and we always felt at ease and looked after during our stay. Aziz took us to and from the airport and also on the Atlas Mountains tour, which was an unforgettable experience and was made all the more special by Aziz, who we are really glad to have met.

Overall, Riad Chayma is a five star experience with fantastic staff and great attention to detail. We are already planning our next trip as we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Comfortable, stylish riad with good mix of traditional and cool contemporary - with wonderfully courteous, helpful and welcoming staff. Booking was easy and efficient, reminders were emailed to us and they arranged great airport transfer service with very amusing, interesting taxi driver - definitely recommend the airport transfer as riad may be difficult to find on your own the first time! Rooms were beautifully looked after and clean and we were served delicious breakfasts on the roof terrace. Ideal central location in Medina. Overall great value for money and we felt very happy and relaxed for our whole stay. Criticisms? None other than the plunge pool is SO amazingly cold that I couldn't use it! But maybe I am just a wimp...! If being really picky, the roof awnings and seating/lounger covers on the roof terrace could perhaps do with being renewed soon as they are a little bit "tired/weatherbeaten" and this would give the roof terrace area a more luxurious feel. Otherwise everything else in the Riad is smart and great quality - linen and towels etc are all lovely. Highly recommend and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chayma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chayma

Address: 8 Derb Taabout | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English speaking Riad in Marrakech Medina, Morocco. Romantic Honeymoon Packages, Special sale rates & Free room nights. Riad Chayma holds true to the meaning of its Arabic name. A fusion of traditional Moroccan architecture, artisan lighting and bespoke furniture, together with high quality modern fixtures, fittings and linens; combine to create a beautiful Moroccan home away from home. Located in a traditional neighbourhood within the Medina walls and perfectly placed between Jemaa El Fna and Marrakesh Plaza. Giving you easy access to explore the old and new cities. English owned and managed. Riad features luxury suites, daily breakfast, fireplace, roof terrace, swimming pool, free wifi, concierge service, airport transfers, day tours, gourmet meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Chayma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chayma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chayma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.