We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chayma

Save Saved
You added Riad Chayma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Chayma
8 Derb Taabout | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in Riad Chayma for seven nights and didn't want to leave. We felt extremely well looked after by the wonderful staff all the way through the trip. The riad itself is a lovely place to relax after a busy day getting lost in the medina, and our room (Deluxe Bougainvillea) was spacious and comfortable. The dinner we had on the first night was delicious, so much so that we opted to have dinner there again another night. I wish I had dined at the riad even more during our stay, as those were some of the best meals we had in Marrakech! It was also very reasonably priced considering we had the terrace to ourselves that evening.

I was really glad we picked Riad Chayma as the location was perfect - easy access to the souks and Jemaa el-Fna but also walking distance to Gueliz which has a lot of restaurants/cafes and a nice contrast from the medina. Trust me, being a little bit removed from the main square is a good thing! The street outside the riad is great because it is mainly locals rather than tourists, so when you walk back in the evening you can just blend in and not get any hassle as you may encounter in the main souks!

The riad itself is beautiful and relaxing, but the thing that really makes it stand out is the staff. You get a really personalised experience as you can ask Shareef and Adil literally anything about Marrakech and they will do their best to help you. We really enjoyed chatting to both of them and finding out about Morroccan life, and we always felt at ease and looked after during our stay. Aziz took us to and from the airport and also on the Atlas Mountains tour, which was an unforgettable experience and was made all the more special by Aziz, who we are really glad to have met.

Overall, Riad Chayma is a five star experience with fantastic staff and great attention to detail. We are already planning our next trip as we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
95
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Comfortable, stylish riad with good mix of traditional and cool contemporary - with wonderfully courteous, helpful and welcoming staff. Booking was easy and efficient, reminders were emailed to us and they arranged great airport transfer service with very amusing, interesting taxi driver - definitely recommend the airport transfer as riad may be difficult to find on your own the first time! Rooms were beautifully looked after and clean and we were served delicious breakfasts on the roof terrace. Ideal central location in Medina. Overall great value for money and we felt very happy and relaxed for our whole stay. Criticisms? None other than the plunge pool is SO amazingly cold that I couldn't use it! But maybe I am just a wimp...! If being really picky, the roof awnings and seating/lounger covers on the roof terrace could perhaps do with being renewed soon as they are a little bit "tired/weatherbeaten" and this would give the roof terrace area a more luxurious feel. Otherwise everything else in the Riad is smart and great quality - linen and towels etc are all lovely. Highly recommend and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Well, what can I say about Riad Chayma...Simply Beautiful!

My two sister's and I booked a 4 night stay at Riad Chayma to celebrate their birthdays. Unfortunately our inbound flight was cancelled due to the French air strike and the only other flight we could get was to Fez which is 240 miles away from Marrakech and a 5 hour drive :( This was no challenge for Riad Chayma owner Rochelle who arranged for a private car to collect us from Fez airport and deliver us safely to the riad. This was customer service and care at its finest and only the beginning of the lengths that Rochelle and her team went to to ensure I stay was a delight. When we finally arrived to the Riad the team had arranged a late dinner reservation at a hip local restaurant as it was my sisters birthday, we had a lovely meal and Rochelle surprised us with a candle lit personalised birthday cake for my sisters delivered by singing waiters :)).

Riad manager Sharif and his team delivered an outstanding service throughout our stay and the riad is a peaceful retreat in the midst of the hussle and bussle of a busy city. Great location, beautiful riad and excellent atmosphere. We are already planning our next stay at Riad Chayma so see you guys soon xx

Room Tip: The Jasmine suits is gorgeous and fully equipt
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived at Marrakech airport to be met by Kamal who drove us to the Riad in an air conditioned people carrier. At the Riad we were met by Adeel who was warm and welcoming. Our room was clean, tidy and nicely decorated - as were the rest of the rooms.

The staff were brilliant. Sharif and the team made sure we had everything we needed to make our 7 nights with them a wonderful experience. Nothing was too much trouble.

The breakfasts were delicious - something different each morning - and the evening meal we had on the roof terrace at the Riad was tasty and very well presented.

Rushy & Rochelle, the owners, where there at the same time - two lovely people who were very welcoming and helpful.

They and the staff made sure our stay with them was relaxing and enjoyable.

I would very much recommend staying at Riad Chayma for anyone wanting to visit this fabulous city. 10 out of 10 on all counts at the Riad !!! xxx

Room Tip: All the rooms are very well presented - there are two suites but even the smaller rooms are nicely d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked direct via email and all emails were replied to really promptly with Rochelle giving me lots of useful info re car hire.
If you are coming to the Riad straight from the airport I recommend the transfer. We were driven straight to the Riad, we had no hassles and didn't have to worry at all.
The evening meal we had on arrival was the best we had in Morocco! The breakfast on the terrace was yummy too. We also had lunch, which was very good value as the portions were a good size! We stayed in the saffron suite which was beautiful, we made use of the air con and wifi and the water in the room was replaced every day.
We were really well looked after by all of the staff at Riad Chayma, nothing was too much trouble.
The location was great, on a busy market street for locals so you could browse without getting hassle. The BBQ meat stall smelt so good, we wish we'd bought something. When planning our trip, I wasn't sure if the Riad was too far from the square, but when we got there, we found it was a fair walk, but there was always something to see and actually handy because the Riad wasn't too far to the supermarket where we bought some wine. It looked very easy to get a small taxi, but we always walked.
I spent a lot of hours looking for a Riad, and there are a lot of them! I am so pleased that we were a able to stay at Riad Chayma and I have been recommending it to all my friends. We'd love to be able to return one day!

Room Tip: The Saffron suite is on the first floor along with 2 other suites. They were all gorgeous, if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our stay at the Riad Chayma was really excellent. The service was great, with all the staff going out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay. The Riad was really beautiful and in an excellent location. A short walk from the main square and other attractions, but also really peaceful and relaxing. Our dinner at the Riad on the first night was excellent, as was breakfast on the roof terrace every morning. I would highly recommend staying at Riad Chayma!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mint Room as it was the only room with twin beds (I travelled with my Mum), but I b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hard, Austria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The riad is perfect located for a visit in Marrakech. The way to the souks is only a 15-minutes-walk, the location is calm enough to get some relaxing hours between the vibrant time in the old town. The welcome at the riad was very warm, you feel like at home. We got all informations and best help for any questions we had. Even the breakfast on the terrace was familiar: Fresh orange juice as well as fruit plate or homemade bakery. We also recommend the offers from the riad to visit sights, landscapes or towns outside from Marrakech. Ask for Aziz and his great journeys. You will love them!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Chayma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chayma

Also Known As:
Riad Chayma Hotel Marrakech
Riad Chayma Hotel
Address: 8 Derb Taabout | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English speaking Riad in Marrakech Medina, Morocco. Romantic Honeymoon Packages, Special sale rates & Free room nights. Riad Chayma holds true to the meaning of its Arabic name. A fusion of traditional Moroccan architecture, artisan lighting and bespoke furniture, together with high quality modern fixtures, fittings and linens; combine to create a beautiful Moroccan home away from home. Located in a traditional neighbourhood within the Medina walls and perfectly placed between Jemaa El Fna and Marrakesh Plaza. Giving you easy access to explore the old and new cities. English owned and managed. Riad features luxury suites, daily breakfast, fireplace, roof terrace, swimming pool, free wifi, concierge service, airport transfers, day tours, gourmet meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Chayma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chayma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.