We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet luxury place with familiar service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chayma

Save Saved
You added Riad Chayma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Chayma
8 Derb Taabout | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #71 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Hard, Austria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet luxury place with familiar service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The riad is perfect located for a visit in Marrakech. The way to the souks is only a 15-minutes-walk, the location is calm enough to get some relaxing hours between the vibrant time in the old town. The welcome at the riad was very warm, you feel like at home. We got all informations and best help for any questions we had. Even the breakfast on the terrace was familiar: Fresh orange juice as well as fruit plate or homemade bakery. We also recommend the offers from the riad to visit sights, landscapes or towns outside from Marrakech. Ask for Aziz and his great journeys. You will love them!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
102
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A little oasis in the middle of all the hustle and bustle that is Marrakech. Shareef and his team were outstanding in the quality of service that they provided and their attention to detail. The breakfasts on the roof terrace every morning were delicious and varied from day to day. We have already highly recommended this Riad to our friends and would to any one reading this review. Exceptional!

Room Tip: All rooms were tastefully interior designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have visited this particular Riad THREE times - and that wouldn't be the last.
it may not be the biggest Riad, but it's the best.
The staff go above and beyond to make you feel like it's your home, breakfast is just brilliant with Morroccan inspired dishes with little English touches like yoghurt, fruit and little cake sprinkles!
Enjoy dinner under the stars - we did, and enjoy amazingly affordable rates for something so high quality, with outstanding service.
You are met by one of the hotel staff who will happily walk you to the Riad, its at the end of the Medina - and almost like the madness of a James Bond movie!
The hotel can fix up any trips and advice you of excellent restaurants - no motives. And again, hotel staff will be happy to walk and direct you to either a car or to the venue.
Amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

リヤドの場所は、少し汚めの野菜と肉市場の通りを横に入った場所にあり、入口の扉もまるで昔の倉庫に入るかの様で、とても中に宿泊施設があるとは思えない環境だった。
しかし中に入ると別世界の様だった。
今回、デラックス・ジャスミン・スウィートに3泊したが、バスルームも広くセカンド・ルームも綺麗で、€125/泊のチャージはかなりリーズナブルと思える。
朝食をとった屋上テラスも綺麗で、特にオムレツの具が日替わりで毎回とても美味しかった。スタッフの対応も非常に良く、様々なリクエストもそつなく時間厳守で答えてもらえた。
あえて難を言えば、マイナス面はバスルームの蛇口からお湯が出るまでに時間がかかった点と、朝に鳥の鳴き声が少々うるさかったくらい。あるブログで、近くのモスクから聞こえる早朝のコーランの声が気になるとのコメントもあったが、これはさほど気にならなかった。
日本人宿泊客は、リアドのオープン以来私たちで二組目とスタッフから聞いたが、ぜひ日本の旅行者にも宿泊して頂きたい。(少しばかり英語でのやり取りを勉強して)

This riad is located on the back street of local jumbled vegetable and meat market, and the entrance door looked like the traditional warehouse, but once enter into inside its interior is so luxurious.
This time we stayed 3 nights in “Deluxe Jasmine Suite”, the bath room is so wide and the second room is so neat that room charge EUR125/night is reasonable for us.
The rooftop terrace is also luxurious and especially the omelet of breakfast at this terrace was delicious with daily changed ingredient.
The staff had courteous reception, they cope with our several requests punctually and sincerely.
If I dear to mention the defect, it needs slightly long time to supply hot water from the tap of bath room, and in the morning time it is noisy by the twitter of small bird.
Just before our visiting we saw some comments in the web log that the Koran voice from the nearest Mosque had annoyed in the early morning, but it was no problem.
We heard we were the second guest since the riad opened, so I’d like Japanese tourists to stay Riad Chayma when they visit Marrakech, with just a little pre-study of English communication.

Room Tip: 許される予算の範囲内で、できるだけグレードの高い部屋を選択してください。 Please choose the highest room to the full extent possible of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent Riad, great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Agree with all recent reviews we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back. Nothing was too much trouble for Shareef and his team they were extremely helpful as and when the need required. Excellent breakfast on the rooftop terrace which we enjoyed every day of our visit.
If you we're to pick a Riad this would be top of the list, I'm sure we will return one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

All communication before we arrived was polite and so helpful. Collection at airport perfect. The Riad is located in the heart of the old city a little disconcerting when you arrive but when you settle in its the best thing ever. The rooms are stunning clean and very comfortable beds. We had the Saffron Suite which has a magical little enclave for the bed. Even being right on the street as down a sideturning you have no problems with noise. Adil and Sherriff the day and night managers couldn't of been more helpful. They did everything we asked. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. Roof terrace great for sunbathing even a dip pool! Kitchen staff and room maids lovely and helpful too. There is a even a gym directly next door !
It's about a 15 min walk to the main square but everything is local to the riad that you need. That's it really a very well furnished smart riad. Wifi is good and always available too. Great trip, great memories and great choice !!!!! Choose the Saffron room !!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Having just come back from a 4 night stay at the Riad Chayma we can only agree with other comments posted. From the time we arrived to the time we left, we were looked after by Shareef and Adil and not to forget the girls in the backroom/kitchen.
We stayed in the Jasmine Suite which was very comfortable and met all our requirements. One word of warning, if you want a light lunch, don't go for the burgers!!!! Very filling. It is tucked away down a small sidestreet off a very busy local market which seems to be in full flow from morning till night. We learnt to dodge the many bikes/scooters, donkeys etc over the course of our stay. The immortal words of "Bike Alert" were mentioned many a time.
The position of the Riad is ideal for both the new town and souks and square. we recommend a trip to the Atlas Mountains and Aziz is just the man to take you.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay, thanks to our new friends Shareef, Adil, Aziz and co. We look forward to going back one day to meet them again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Chayma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chayma

Address: 8 Derb Taabout | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English speaking Riad in Marrakech Medina, Morocco. Romantic Honeymoon Packages, Special sale rates & Free room nights. Riad Chayma holds true to the meaning of its Arabic name. A fusion of traditional Moroccan architecture, artisan lighting and bespoke furniture, together with high quality modern fixtures, fittings and linens; combine to create a beautiful Moroccan home away from home. Located in a traditional neighbourhood within the Medina walls and perfectly placed between Jemaa El Fna and Marrakesh Plaza. Giving you easy access to explore the old and new cities. English owned and managed. Riad features luxury suites, daily breakfast, fireplace, roof terrace, swimming pool, free wifi, concierge service, airport transfers, day tours, gourmet meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Chayma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chayma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chayma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.