We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't of made a better choice even after seeing lots more places when we were there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chayma

Save Saved
You added Riad Chayma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Chayma
8 Derb Taabout | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #70 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Couldn't of made a better choice even after seeing lots more places when we were there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

All communication before we arrived was polite and so helpful. Collection at airport perfect. The Riad is located in the heart of the old city a little disconcerting when you arrive but when you settle in its the best thing ever. The rooms are stunning clean and very comfortable beds. We had the Saffron Suite which has a magical little enclave for the bed. Even being right on the street as down a sideturning you have no problems with noise. Adil and Sherriff the day and night managers couldn't of been more helpful. They did everything we asked. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. Roof terrace great for sunbathing even a dip pool! Kitchen staff and room maids lovely and helpful too. There is a even a gym directly next door !
It's about a 15 min walk to the main square but everything is local to the riad that you need. That's it really a very well furnished smart riad. Wifi is good and always available too. Great trip, great memories and great choice !!!!! Choose the Saffron room !!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
102
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh on Sea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Having just come back from a 4 night stay at the Riad Chayma we can only agree with other comments posted. From the time we arrived to the time we left, we were looked after by Shareef and Adil and not to forget the girls in the backroom/kitchen.
We stayed in the Jasmine Suite which was very comfortable and met all our requirements. One word of warning, if you want a light lunch, don't go for the burgers!!!! Very filling. It is tucked away down a small sidestreet off a very busy local market which seems to be in full flow from morning till night. We learnt to dodge the many bikes/scooters, donkeys etc over the course of our stay. The immortal words of "Bike Alert" were mentioned many a time.
The position of the Riad is ideal for both the new town and souks and square. we recommend a trip to the Atlas Mountains and Aziz is just the man to take you.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay, thanks to our new friends Shareef, Adil, Aziz and co. We look forward to going back one day to meet them again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at Riad Chayma in honor of my 30th birthday during the first week of January 2013. There are simply no words to describe the exquisite beauty, calm, charm, and exemplary customer service that we experienced at the riad. Tucked away in a side street, away from the bustle of a colourful local market, the riad is quite simply an oasis. We were greeted by Shareef, a wonderful host, who fast became our good friend! He served us fragrant mint tea, supplied us with maps and advice, and showed us to our suite - Bougainvillea.

Our accommodations were heavenly, with crackling fires lit every night in the fireplace of our private living area. We opted to have dinner in the riad on our first night and could not have been more delighted with both the food and the service. An intimate candlelit setting complemented the sumptuous meal perfectly. Order the beef and prune tagine - delicious!

The location of the riad is fantastic. If you turn left out of the alleyway and walk straight down you will be in the Souks within 15 min (or longer if you are like us and stopped to take photos of everything!) After our first day braving the hustle of the markets and dodging motorbikes, it was a real treat to have twin massages in our suite!

The following day we indulged in a hammam which, like the in-suite massages, was also arranged through the riad. We were scrubbed and pampered to perfection. And on our second to last day we opted for a day trip to the Atlas mountains where we climbed to waterfalls and took in the breathtaking views.

I was incredibly sad to leave at the end of our trip, but I enjoyed the experience of a lifetime. Superb staff (thank you Shareef and Adil!), gorgeous accomodations, and a truly personalised visit. There is so much more I could say about Riad Chayma (the efficient airport transfers, the plush bedding, the late night chats with Adil), but I will let it speak for itself. If you visit this riad you will never forget it!

Undoubtedly the best riad in Marrakesh.

Room Tip: If you travel in the cooler winter months, choose a suite with a fireplace. It adds such a cosy touc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Liberia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent reception, staff. Location is right in the middle of the action we were looking for. Staff provided excellent local recommendations for eating and entertainment. Food at Riad was good. Room was near excellent and had everything we wanted/needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

In the middle of an untouristic and lively street of Marrakesh, we stayed in the calm, perfectly designed Riad Chayma. We enjoyed the peace of the hotel, the beautiful patio and the amazing kindness of the staff. We could always relay on their reccomendations and they kindly organized everything (rent-a-car, hammam ...). They picked us up at the airport, offered a free dinner, included in the hotel offer (best is to book directly via the hotel web-page) and prepared a lovely breakfast on the roof terrasse. It was always so nice to return from our trips - and see the welcoming kind smiles. We also appreciated the combination of traditional and modern design a lot.
February is a good time to visit Marrakesh - not to hot, not too many tourists.

Room Tip: There are not many rooms in Riad Chayma. In the higher floors there are bigger rooms or appartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

9 of us stayed at Riad Chayma Thursday to Sunday weekend before last (21st to 24th Feb. 13). It was one of the best holidays I've ever had. Location is excellent and the service received from the owners and housekeepers both before our trip and whilst in Marrakech was exceptional (many, many thanks to Sharif). I can highly recomend this beautiful Riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Top place to stay. Has every thing you need, rooms are beautifully done in Moroccan theme. Quiet oasis from the wonderful hectic medina buzz which runs right past the entry to the riad. Shareef the manager was very helpful with any questions and recommended some good places to eat. We did the day trip to the Atlas mountains and Ourika valley. Amazing views in the valleys and some of the sights in the berber markets I'll never forget. Aziz our guide was very good. Spoke english well and is very passionate in the way he describes his country. Well worth the cost of the tour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Chayma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chayma

Address: 8 Derb Taabout | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English speaking Riad in Marrakech Medina, Morocco. Romantic Honeymoon Packages, Special sale rates & Free room nights. Riad Chayma holds true to the meaning of its Arabic name. A fusion of traditional Moroccan architecture, artisan lighting and bespoke furniture, together with high quality modern fixtures, fittings and linens; combine to create a beautiful Moroccan home away from home. Located in a traditional neighbourhood within the Medina walls and perfectly placed between Jemaa El Fna and Marrakesh Plaza. Giving you easy access to explore the old and new cities. English owned and managed. Riad features luxury suites, daily breakfast, fireplace, roof terrace, swimming pool, free wifi, concierge service, airport transfers, day tours, gourmet meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Chayma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chayma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chayma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.