We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class treatment!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chayma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Chayma to your Saves list
Riad Chayma
8 Derb Taabout | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #61 of 1,079 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“first class treatment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed at Riad Chayma for the second time from 1 January to 5 January 2013 in the Mint Room along with my cousin. We were greeted at the airport by our driver and were immediately taken to the riad which was a short trip from the airport. Upon arriving to the riad, it was as beautiful as the last time I was there, with some great additions such as a plunge pool. Each day we had a lovely breakfast spread which changed each day for variety. On our first day we had a driver in which we hired for 1/2 a day. Aziz (who I highly recommend!!!!) took us to the Palmeraie for a camel ride, and to a couple of sites and then to Un Dejeuner a Marrakech for cocktails and appetizers. We then went off to Les Bains de Marrakech for a lovely spa afternoon. Thereafter we had dinner, through recommendation of the riad, at Le Comptoir where there was also a belly dancing show which was a great experience! The following day, the riad arranged for us to head to the Atlas Mountains for the day ... a stark contrast to the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, it was quite beautiful and picturesque. Upon our return we headed for dinner at Jamaa el Fna for amazing authentic Morrocan dinner. On the 4 January 2013 we explored the souks ... but could not find the leather knapsack and jewelry box that I wanted. Shareef took it upon himself to bring a selection of leather bags and jewelry boxes to our room at the riad for my cousin and I to choose from! We then had an AMAZING high tea lunch at the riad followed by a dinner cooking class at La Maison Arabe.

My overall experience at the riad was lovely, and any hiccups were immediately corrected by the staff there. The mint tea and food was superb and the riad was an excellent value for the service that we got (booking trips for us, answering my many emails since July 2012, walking us to La Maison Arabe, preparing early breakfasts for us to accomodate our early tour departues etc.). Its convenient location enabled us to walk almost everywhere and we felt extremely safe as we are two young, under 30 women from North America. Thank you riad Chayma for another unforgettable experience. I will be sure to come back inshAllah!

Samantha, Toronto, ON

Room Tip: The Mint room was perfect us. However, the next time, I would like to stay in either the Deluxe Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
113
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at Riad Chayma for 3 nights including Christmas. We were greeted by Sharif who met us where the airport transfer dropped us off and helped us carry our bags to the riad which was a short 5 minute walk. He sat us down and showed us all the local points of interests and routes to the square and souks. The first evening we ate at the Riad and this had to be one of the best meals we had in Morocco in the week we stayed. The walk to the square is about 15/20 minutes, if you don't get lost. The rooms are big and comfortable and my 6 year absolutely loved the huge black marble bath. The breakfasts on the terrace were also the best we had in Morocco. Can't fault this riad, we had a truly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: One of the ground floor rooms only has a shower, but this is advertised when selecting the room. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights and I can't fault it. Everything about the stay was great and the credit lies with the staff. Sharif and his team truly did look after us. Airport transfer was prompt. We were greeted by Sharif and right from the start, gave us a map, tea, biscuits and ideas about where to go and routes to take. The mint room was small, but efficient. As I booked late I didn't have a choice of any of the other rooms, my fault really! What stood out for me was the location, ideally placed so everything is within 10-15 minutes walking distance. New city on one side, the medina on the other. The square is 10 minutes walk away down 1 street. We did the 2 valleys and atlas mountains tour with the riad, which I highly recommend. Both a combination of walking in the valleys and a driving tour round the bends of the mountains, great views. We also took an early visit to essouria and sharif made sure to do an early breakfast in the morning to suit our time schedule. As for food, big portions! They say home cooking is the best and it proves it. Spent both lunch and dinner here on some days, and having the whole terrace to yourself, seems private and peaceful. If you are reading this and plan to go visit Marrakech, seriously consider this riad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Fantastic Riad right in the heart of the local market and within very easy reach of the magical square and souks. ALL the staff were very friendly and most accomodating, nothing too much trouble for Michelle and I or our two teenagers

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Riad Chayma was an excellent place to stay. It is so beautiful and peaceful. It couldn't contrast more with the hustle and bustle of the street outside. We were greeted by Sharif who gave us refreshing mint tea and cold towels, which was a very welcome and nice touch. We stayed in the Saffron Suite, which was decorated beautifully. Breakfast on the roof terrace was also excellent and varied.

We also organised through the Riad to go on a 3 day tour over the Atlas mountains to the desert with the Riad driver, Aziz. This was the absolute highlight of the trip. Aziz's knowledge of the land and history was exceptional and it felt as if we were travelling with an old friend. Whilst we were on the excursion, we were able to keep the rest of our luggage in our room at the Riad.

This Riad is an absolute gem. The staff there couldn't be more willing to help you in every way possible, it made for one truly unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My partner and I celebrated our Honeymoon at the Riad Chayma, staying there for a total of 7 days and we cannot rate it highly enough. Riad Chayma was just perfect, they could not have been more helpful providing a wonderful oasis of calm from the madness that is Marrakesh. The Riad is in a great location, not too far from all the main attractions. Rooms are very stylish and nicely decorated with a lovely roof terrace. Sherriff and all the staff are all friendly and attentive. Breakfasts were absolutely divine something different every day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually designed and are all very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

The riad is clean and beautiful.the staff is attentive and very helpful.From the airport transfers, the excursions, the breakfast everything is given a personal touch.When you get to the market it can be a bit daunting so it was a pleasant surprise when we stepped into the emaculate peaceful riad. It was quiet and you don't hear any noise.I Loved it .I will definately go back. Many thanks to aziz, sherif and adin

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chayma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chayma

Address: 8 Derb Taabout | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,079 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English speaking Riad in Marrakech Medina, Morocco. Romantic Honeymoon Packages, Special sale rates & Free room nights. Riad Chayma holds true to the meaning of its Arabic name. A fusion of traditional Moroccan architecture, artisan lighting and bespoke furniture, together with high quality modern fixtures, fittings and linens; combine to create a beautiful Moroccan home away from home. Located in a traditional neighbourhood within the Medina walls and perfectly placed between Jemaa El Fna and Marrakesh Plaza. Giving you easy access to explore the old and new cities. English owned and managed. Riad features luxury suites, daily breakfast, fireplace, roof terrace, swimming pool, free wifi, concierge service, airport transfers, day tours, gourmet meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Chayma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chayma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chayma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.