We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chayma

Save Saved
You added Riad Chayma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Chayma
8 Derb Taabout | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #69 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Mew Orleans
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hospitality great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have really enjoyed staying here although it has been a bit cold. The location is great in the Medina but not right in the thick of things. The staff are great, breakfast is good and the rooms are unique. We ate here the first evening and it was delicious. Aziz has been taking us around and his English is perfect and he is very interesting. I think it makes a big difference to have someone knowledge and enthusiastic drive you around. Inside the Medina we have been on our own - getting lost and having fun.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
102
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Riad Chayma is an excellent adress to stay at in Marrakech. It is located in the Medina of Marrakech within walking distance of the main Square and the Souqs.
The staff is very friendly, prices are good and the rooms are luxurious. Breakfest is a combination of continental and Maroccon. Diner was good.
We planned to stay 4 nights, however due to food poisoning after eating at the market, we stayed an extra night. The staff took care of us excellently.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Rashid and his staff were so helpful in setting up dinner reservations, guides, etc. We loved our room and saw other Riads which were much more expensive and the rooms weren't any nicer. My girlfriend and I had a terrific time in Marakech, thanks very much to Riad Chayma.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I took my husband for a three night stay for his 50th Birthday. The Riad is small, intimate, clean, well positioned, beautifully decorated and the staff were so friendly and helpful. My husband was so touched to receive a 50th birthday cake on the morning of his birthday - thank you Riad Chayma! We stayed in the Delux Bougainvillea Suite which did not disappoint. It is probably one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in that wasn't our own! The Riad is positioned well as it is near the main walls but only a 15 minutes walk to the main square. It is definitely an oasis of calm compared to the mad chaos outside the alleyway! We would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone on a visit to Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in November. We were very impressed with the communication we had with Rochelle who was extremely helpful in arranging a day trip to the Ourika Valley (with the brilliant Aziz), to booking spa treatments and advising as to our trip generally.

The Riad itself is in a great location right by Bab Doukkala gate and an easy 10-15 minute walk to the Souks or main square.

We stayed in the Jasmine Suite which was beautifully decorated, with ample space and a gorgeous bathroom. Both the room and bathroom were immacutely clean. We had our towels changed every day and complimentary water left for us.

A delicious breakfast was served every day on the terrace.

Shareef was extremely helpful and assisted with general guidance around the city, restaurant recommendations and reservations (Marrakechi and La Maison Arabe are two must go to places!) and helped me when I was taken ill.

I cannot recommend this Riad enough! Thanks to Rochelle, Shareef, Aziz and all the staff!

Room Tip: Choose the Jasmine Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The riad was a wonderful experience, everything I imagined and more.
The location is fantastic and despite the chaos in the streets, the riad is a tranquil oasis!
The staff were wonderful and the breakfast left me speechless (and a bit fatter). Nothing was too much trouble (even finding us a take away in the night as I was too ill to leave the riad).
The room was beautiful and made our stay even more romantic break. The lounge area was excellent as was the roof terrace.
I can't recommend this riad enough. Well done to the staff who offer a perfect city break. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here last week for 4 nights and can't fault it at all. It's immaculate, the food is fantastic and so are the staff. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. It's also in a good location as it's on the edge of the medina so it's easy to get taxis but it's only 10-15 mins walk from the main square, more or less on a straight road so no issues about getting lost. You can also walk into the new town easily and the Marjorelle Gardens are within walking distance. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bouganvillea suite which was lovely and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Chayma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chayma

Address: 8 Derb Taabout | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English speaking Riad in Marrakech Medina, Morocco. Romantic Honeymoon Packages, Special sale rates & Free room nights. Riad Chayma holds true to the meaning of its Arabic name. A fusion of traditional Moroccan architecture, artisan lighting and bespoke furniture, together with high quality modern fixtures, fittings and linens; combine to create a beautiful Moroccan home away from home. Located in a traditional neighbourhood within the Medina walls and perfectly placed between Jemaa El Fna and Marrakesh Plaza. Giving you easy access to explore the old and new cities. English owned and managed. Riad features luxury suites, daily breakfast, fireplace, roof terrace, swimming pool, free wifi, concierge service, airport transfers, day tours, gourmet meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Chayma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chayma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chayma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.