We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant oasis in the middle of crazy Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chayma

Save Saved
You added Riad Chayma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Chayma
8 Derb Taabout | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #71 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brilliant oasis in the middle of crazy Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in November. We were very impressed with the communication we had with Rochelle who was extremely helpful in arranging a day trip to the Ourika Valley (with the brilliant Aziz), to booking spa treatments and advising as to our trip generally.

The Riad itself is in a great location right by Bab Doukkala gate and an easy 10-15 minute walk to the Souks or main square.

We stayed in the Jasmine Suite which was beautifully decorated, with ample space and a gorgeous bathroom. Both the room and bathroom were immacutely clean. We had our towels changed every day and complimentary water left for us.

A delicious breakfast was served every day on the terrace.

Shareef was extremely helpful and assisted with general guidance around the city, restaurant recommendations and reservations (Marrakechi and La Maison Arabe are two must go to places!) and helped me when I was taken ill.

I cannot recommend this Riad enough! Thanks to Rochelle, Shareef, Aziz and all the staff!

Room Tip: Choose the Jasmine Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
102
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The riad was a wonderful experience, everything I imagined and more.
The location is fantastic and despite the chaos in the streets, the riad is a tranquil oasis!
The staff were wonderful and the breakfast left me speechless (and a bit fatter). Nothing was too much trouble (even finding us a take away in the night as I was too ill to leave the riad).
The room was beautiful and made our stay even more romantic break. The lounge area was excellent as was the roof terrace.
I can't recommend this riad enough. Well done to the staff who offer a perfect city break. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here last week for 4 nights and can't fault it at all. It's immaculate, the food is fantastic and so are the staff. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. It's also in a good location as it's on the edge of the medina so it's easy to get taxis but it's only 10-15 mins walk from the main square, more or less on a straight road so no issues about getting lost. You can also walk into the new town easily and the Marjorelle Gardens are within walking distance. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bouganvillea suite which was lovely and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a few nights either side of travelling around Morocco and I have to say of all the places we stayed this was by far the most beautiful. Its peaceful, clean, and looks amazing. All the staff were friendly and helpful and Sheriff was always welcoming. The food was also amazing and could be enjoyed on the lovely roof terrace. Its on the edge of the Medina so relatively easy to reach by taxi and it seemed to be located in a 'quieter' area away from the majority of the tourists which was nice. Thanks again for a great stay, we will certainly return in the future! If you're reading this then book it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have just arrived home from a five night stay in Riad Chayma and I just had to write a review to say how perfect this riad is. From the moment we were met at the airport to being dropped back off on our departure we were extremely well looked after and nothing was too much trouble. All of the staff at the Riad were really lovely and did everything they possibly could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The Riad itself is decorated to the highest standards and was an absolute pleasure to stay in. It is located a couple of minutes walk away from Bab Dakkoula so even if you cannot find your way back via the souks ( which is what happened to us a couple of times!) you can get a taxi or a carriage to the gate and very easily arrive back at the Riad. The food was faultless - we had evening meal twice and high tea once and enjoyed all of it. Definitely our compliments to the Chef! The breakfasts too were excellent the food just kept arriving at our table - we didn't need to eat again until evening as the breakfasts are so substantial. You are on the outskirts of the Medina which in my opinion is the best place to be as you can so easily get lost in the maze of streets and alleyways further towards the main square. The riad is situated off a fairly busy street but the minute the front door closes behind you there is absolute silence. Our room was the jasmine suite which was absolutely gorgeous, with a beautiful marble bathroom and separate sitting room. Hopefully we will visit Marrakech again and I would not feel any need to book anywhere else as Riad Chayma would be our first choice every time!

Room Tip: We booked jasmine suite which is gorgeous suite with marble bathroom and own separate sitting room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey Uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Riad Chayma is described as a beautiful and it certainly is that. It is meticulous in every detail - we saw all the bedrooms and they are all gorgeous. The staff are quietly attentive and very friendly. The breakfast is amazing on the roof terrace and we had lunch and dinner on our first day - first class food and our favourite meal of our trip. In 10 minutes you can walk to the souks and the square. We walked to all the main sights and although it's easy to get lost I think it is in a good location.
I definately recommend Riad Chayma to anyone coming to Marrakech. We are a family group with teenagers and we were all delighted with our choice.
We did the day trip to the Atlas mountain and Kasbah Toubkal - fabulous day out. Thank you to our driver Azizz who was brilliant.
Thank you Rochelle for all the advice and correspondence and to Sharif for taking good care of us.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bourganvilia whichi s spacious, bright, with windows onto the courtyard and has room fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hardinxveld-giessendam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at Riad Chayma for 2 nights in October 2012. After some nights in another also pleasant Riad outside the city we regretted not having booked for more nights at Riad Chayma. Chayma is near a parkinglot at the inner outskirts of the Medina and is therefore very accessible. The Souks and the (rest of) the old city can easily be reached in a 15 minutes walk. The Riad has been modernly build and is decorated with a well balanced moroccan touch which we admired very much. The welcoming reception and service by all staff was very pleasant. Shariff and the rest of the team were very friendly and helpful in their service at the Riad and in giving us directions and suggestions for our walks into the city centre. Breakfasts on the roof terrace were very pleasant and the delicious high-tea really was first-rate. Our suite was well decorated, pleasant and very clean. Without hesitation we recommend Riad Chayma if you are looking for a very pleasant stay within the buzzing Medina of Marrakech.

Room Tip: We loved the Bougainvillea Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Chayma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chayma

Address: 8 Derb Taabout | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English speaking Riad in Marrakech Medina, Morocco. Romantic Honeymoon Packages, Special sale rates & Free room nights. Riad Chayma holds true to the meaning of its Arabic name. A fusion of traditional Moroccan architecture, artisan lighting and bespoke furniture, together with high quality modern fixtures, fittings and linens; combine to create a beautiful Moroccan home away from home. Located in a traditional neighbourhood within the Medina walls and perfectly placed between Jemaa El Fna and Marrakesh Plaza. Giving you easy access to explore the old and new cities. English owned and managed. Riad features luxury suites, daily breakfast, fireplace, roof terrace, swimming pool, free wifi, concierge service, airport transfers, day tours, gourmet meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Chayma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chayma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chayma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.