We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great club with tradition and character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Royal Golf Club

Marrakech Royal Golf Club
Ancienne Route de Ouarzazate, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 (0)44 40 98 28
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #254 of 529 Activities in Marrakech
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great club with tradition and character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

After my annoying experience at Amelkis the previous day I was a little dubious about what to expect. Happy to say it was significantly better with god attentive staff and reasonable caddies. Nice practice area with shuttle laid on. Easy course to walk and it has some beautiful holes with the various trees. I would have liked a bit of water to spice it up a bit but nevertheless less a pleasant experience. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    60
    23
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sorel-tracy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“For golf lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went there to get a taste of exotic and we got it. This luxury golf club is located a good half hour from Marrakech but it is Worth the drive. Beautiful desertic course.

A luxury restaurant and great drinks at the 19th round.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Royal Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I played this lovely old colonial course in January - it rained most of the way round - typically for us, the first rains in 3 months.
We had to take a caddie each which wasn't a problem as they were very personable and read the greens well. They cost 100dr each plus the obligatory tip.
The course is quite short but very narrow being tree lined with magnificent towering palms and eucalipts which made opening your shoulders a bit daunting. Looking back on the round I can't really remember any holes in particular as they are all of a similar character apart from the par 3 'Brigite Bardot' where I hit short into her cleavage! All the greens were fast and true and the farways were in very accetable condition considering how dry it has been.
We had a wonderful and competative round between us - my wife who plays well off 16 had a shaky start not being all together comfortable with having a caddie and mustered 13 stableford points but blitzed the back 9 with 24 points - level par ! Her straight hitting reaping benefits on these tight fairways.She hit the par 3 18th to 2ft with a 6 iron for a birdie to beat me by a point much to the joy of both (!) caddies.
This is a really lovely old mature colonial style course that I rate in the top 20 of the many courses I have played - not to be missed by anyone who enjoys classic golf courses.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Golf Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We attended a party here and it is simply the most stunning venue. Quite exclusive and pricey, but certainly worth it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An attractive course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We played 3 courses (Palmeraie and Amelkis) in total during our stay in Marrakesh and the Royal was the most attractive to the eye. It is a lovely parkland course. Being a bit narrower than the other courses it adds a bit to the interest, although being shorter than most and the majority of the holes do not offer any obstacles. The Par 3 'Brigitte Bardot' was enjoyable. The course can be played by all.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Royal Golf Club also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Royal Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Royal Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.