We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice scenery and a good walk wasn't spoilt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Royal Golf Club

Marrakech Royal Golf Club
Ancienne Route de Ouarzazate, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 (0)44 40 98 28
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice scenery and a good walk wasn't spoilt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

An attractively presented golf course .Not particularly challenging but enjoyable enough for golfers from beginner onwards-which suited us(we were a male golfer on 20 and a female golfer on 30).Anyone with an 18 handicap or lower wouldn't find it difficult to play to or very close to their handicap.Not much undulation so an easy walk particularly with a mandatory caddy looking after the buggy.There was two of us playing and we found our caddies spoke good English ,gave good tips on reading the greens and helpful advice on improving our swings.Enjoyed post golf beers and the food at the terrace restaurant. The a la carte menu had a good selection and was fairly priced(not priced like a resort golf course).
The locker rooms and bathroom facilities were clean but pretty run down.Would have been good to have a shower after the game but getting a towel proved too difficult in the end.
Seemed to be quite a few dogs around the course but they were mainly lying in the shade and didn't cause any problems.
If i went to Marrakech again and i was a good golfer looking for a challenge I would check out one of the newer courses.But if i was playing with a group of golfers of mixed ability then this course would do.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hawksforflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“18 holes in a " forrest"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This golf is located not far away from city center. Very well managed fairways and greens. Caddys are mandatory and helpful. The holes are very straightforward, meaning no real surprise...straight and only difficulties are bunkers. Hole number 15 is very funny....par 3 nicknamed Brigitte Bardot....let you guess why....This golf is nice but not very technical. Pro shop is simple....staff friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mannecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Royal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great setting , difficult to believe its in Marrakech. Tight tree lined fairways but the course is short enough not to be too tough.
Colonial looking bar and clubhouse very friendly and good prices for lunch and drinks.
Its a yes from me

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nigel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorel-tracy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A luxury golf court”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

An experience! The restaurant of the club house is chic and very good. The scenery of the golf course is beautiful, dunes and palm trees. 20 minutes from the medina. The pro is from Quebec, Canada.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sophieSorel_tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was the final of 5 rounds played during a weeks holiday in March.

As a high-handicapper, I did struggle on some of the newer courses in Marrakech (Samanah and Al Maaden especially which play long hand have very tight lies) so it was nice to finish on something a little easier. This is not to say the Royal is a walk in the park, but it does play shorter which meant I could hit greens in regulation once again!

It's very pretty and quite lush so was like playing in the UK but with better weather! The 'Brigitte Bardot' hole raised a smile! Curiously, the official rate for the caddies was cheaper here than in the other courses but they offered a higher level of service (eg cleaning clubs during the round was something that our previous caddies didn't really do).

If we return to Marrakech next year, I think I'd play Palmeraie first as a good warm up, followed by Samanah and Al Maaden as a challenge (skipping Amelkis this time - some really pretty holes but also a lot of non-landscaped earth which is not pleasant to play from) and I'd save the Royal until last so I can finish on a better score!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bno20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Royal Golf Club also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Royal Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing