We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury golf court” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Royal Golf Club

Marrakech Royal Golf Club
Ancienne Route de Ouarzazate, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 (0)44 40 98 28
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 88 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Golf Courses
Attraction Details
sorel-tracy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A luxury golf court”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

An experience! The restaurant of the club house is chic and very good. The scenery of the golf course is beautiful, dunes and palm trees. 20 minutes from the medina. The pro is from Quebec, Canada.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    56
    19
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was the final of 5 rounds played during a weeks holiday in March.

As a high-handicapper, I did struggle on some of the newer courses in Marrakech (Samanah and Al Maaden especially which play long hand have very tight lies) so it was nice to finish on something a little easier. This is not to say the Royal is a walk in the park, but it does play shorter which meant I could hit greens in regulation once again!

It's very pretty and quite lush so was like playing in the UK but with better weather! The 'Brigitte Bardot' hole raised a smile! Curiously, the official rate for the caddies was cheaper here than in the other courses but they offered a higher level of service (eg cleaning clubs during the round was something that our previous caddies didn't really do).

If we return to Marrakech next year, I think I'd play Palmeraie first as a good warm up, followed by Samanah and Al Maaden as a challenge (skipping Amelkis this time - some really pretty holes but also a lot of non-landscaped earth which is not pleasant to play from) and I'd save the Royal until last so I can finish on a better score!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A beautiful setting and club house, pity that the golf course is the same all the way round with the exception of two holes. Still very pretty course but would not bother plying it again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love the golf for it`s beauty of nature, the old trees with the millions of birds singing, seeing the Atlas mountain while you play golf. After we love the simple, easy going restaurant with its wonderful buffet and the grill. Nice service!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The grounds are immaculate, I hear it's Pierre-Yves, the mastermind and greenkeeper of Assoufid who has managed to revamp this old sleeping beauty. I have never played on a nicer more beautiful garden! The course itself is not the most technical/difficult but on a hot day you play mostly in the shade of those centenary trees, just bliss...
The club house and the entrance could do with a serious refurf, not so royal any more I would say.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Royal Golf Club also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Royal Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Royal Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.