We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straight golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Royal Golf Club

Marrakech Royal Golf Club
Ancienne Route de Ouarzazate, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 (0)44 40 98 28
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 89 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Golf Courses
Attraction Details
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Straight golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After getting quite unhappy because of the conditions at the Amelkis and Al Maaden courses and after a useless visit at the Assoufid course which will probably be open in my next life, as they themselves do not know when it will open at all, I really enjoyed the Royal Golf Club. Narrow fairways (so keep your nerves, relax and aim well), nice fast greens, some very experienced caddies, and a cosy atmosphere; I could even play a nice second round of 18 holes in the afternoon (for 200 Dhm = €20). My feet hurt but I was smiling...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    56
    19
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Timber”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Every hole is lined from tee to green, without exception. You have to be straight ( I wasn't ),
After a while it all becomes a bit samey. The greens were lightning, but not as true as Amelkis.

Nice ambiance - a bit of history about the place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This older golf club is an enjoyable experience. The mature narrow fairways provide challenges and variety. We played as an experienced golfer and a relative novice, and both enjoyed the day. Afterwards, you can sit out in pleasant surroundings for lunch or a drink. It was our favourite out of the 5 courses we played during the holiday.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Straighforward gentle course, tree lined and well kept.
Pleasant helpful staff, and nice open air restaurant afterwards

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Keep it straight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A classic, old style course. Not overly long therefore no need to take a driver on every tee. If you miss the fairway, you may well lose your ball although your caddy will do his utmost to find it.

They are in the process of replacing the greens so there are currently 3 very new greens although the old ones are fine in my opinion.

The caddies, very friendly but also very noisy and probably not the best caddies that you will have in Marrakech. Our two raced us around in 3 hours, which was fine for us but may not be to everybody's liking.



The setting is very old fashioned and very relaxed

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Royal Golf Club also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Royal Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Royal Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.