We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the 4 courses played in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amelkis Golf Club

Amelkis Golf Club
Km 12, Route de Ouarzazate, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 (0) 44 40 44 14
Improve this listing
Ranked #405 of 529 Activities in Marrakech
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best of the 4 courses played in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Was not expecting much because of a few poor reviews on tripadvisor. What a surprise. Great layout with no back to back holes. 4 ball round in 3 hours 45. Only problem was they had double booked a couple of teetimes ahead of us so we were 30 mins late starting. One to enjoy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    17
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“playing golf in Marrakech Morrocco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

There are 5 golf courses. 1. Al Maaden. Good golf course except for bunkers and greens very slow and poor directions to next green recommend buggies. Rated 7/10 2. Amelkis golf club. Limited buggies but Caddies excellent 6/10 Poor changing rooms. Royal golf. Tree lined up and dowm course you have to use caddies but not the best. Rated 5/10 4. Samanah Nicholas designed course. Only for good golfers. Very long ,greens hard to read typical Nicholas course. No alchohol served. But excellent facilities 9/10. 5. Almaaden. Not very well marshalled had a single player with caddie playing 3 balls for example. 4/10 Not the best of courses typical holiday resort with no care about golfers. Weather perfect for golf but all bars have at least 100 flies to keep you company. Buy local beet not imported.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived with great expectations and excitement only to be 'greeted' by a man in the pro shop who made it quite clear he did not care at all about our being their. No welcome, no eye contact, no enthusiasm. Just took our money and pointed to the buggies.

The practice area was closed and so was the second nine if the main course so we played off blue and then green.

Blue is the first 9 and is a wonderful design and we became very excited about the golf to come until we got to the green. It had patches of bare soil. Worm casts everywhere, pitch marks a plenty and loads of signs of damage. This continued for all 18 holes although the Green nine were slightly better.

Blue nine was a beautiful experience ruined by the greens. The Green nine was ruined by fact of being a poor extra nine which takes you through a building site for the whole journey. Semi build concrete shells to your left and right.

We took the ladies who enjoyed the City very much and the boys played Palmarie (6/10), Al Marden (8/10), Royal Marrakesh (7/10) and Amelkis (7/10). next time France or Portugal

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great golf course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nice 27 holes to play but better courses in Marrakech! Play all three they are very different! Very good course for beginners playing of 36 or 24! Shame about the service! There was no welcome or smile in fact like they were doing us a favour by being open! Barely got some drinks on the 9th in 45 degree weather! The man at the desk was so grumpy that we almost felt sad for him!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Massive room for Improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The course itself has a lot of potential and could be a great course but it was let down by a totally unfriendly / unhelpful man on reception. There were a lot of large gravel areas on the red course fairways which I can only assume are supposed to be bunkers with out sand. We also found that we were held up by 4 balls being tutored by an instructor who was running between both groups. Such a shame as it was nice to be able to play without the compulsory caddies, the starters were polite and the course was interesting to play.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelkis Golf Club also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amelkis Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelkis Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.