We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below our expectations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comptoir Darna Cocktail Bar

Comptoir Darna Cocktail Bar
Av Echouhada | Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #9 of 14 nightlife in Marrakech
Type: Bar/ Clubs
Attraction Details
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Below our expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were recommended this as a good place to eat with music. On arrival we were shown to a poor table with little space between tables. The food was average, my wife eating the meatball tagine. The quality was poor and the service was slow. The following morning my wife was ill, assumed due to the previous evening.
The experience generally was average although not cheap.
I would rate this restaurant as below average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didn't live up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I was really looking forward to eating here and I was very disappointed even more so because i told my friends it would be great.

On arrival we were told we would have to wait 25/30mins for a table, this was fine as we hadn't booked, we headed to the bar upstairs took a seat and waited for about 10 minutes for someone to acknowledge we were there, this didn't happen so we went to the bar to order, 10 mins later we got our cocktails which were very nice.

it didn't take long for us to finish our drinks and again no one came to us to ask if we wanted another drink. minutes later we were escorted to our table.

the menu was not very extensive but they did offer some lovely starters but I found the main courses to be a little limited, I opted for Beef Tajine which was nice but I had better in the Medina's little restaurants/cafes and for more than half the price.

the entertainment is why people really come here there are numerous belly dancers that parade around the restaurant on an hourly basis - expect the dancers to make their way around all the men in the restaurant hoping they will stuff money down their bras and skirts.

From around 10pm onwards there is a Moroccan band that plays and you are encouraged to get up and dance along with them.

It was a very entertaining evening its just a shame that the service let it down.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“prententious pricey but the belly dancing was entertaining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We visited this place for a drink.
It was full of young "elite" locals, welll groomed and happy to throw their money about.
There were also a number of international businessmen, who work in Marrakech. They were happy to throw their money into the belly dancers costumes..
The third groups attracted to this place were curious tourists.
Alcohol is very very expensive....
Service when it was busy was poor, even for the young attractive girls who were trying to catch the attention of the bar staff.
I would normally say avoid this place unless you are pretentious, and have money to burn, however at around 10.30pm the belly dancers etc. arrive....for this 20 minute period, the place comes to life....in all honesty, it is quite entertaining, and not at all seedy which is surprising....Even the children in the bar found it ok....
Worth a visit, just for the dancers, then find somewhere else to drink.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Pricey and very touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We loved the initial atmosphere and welcome but when it became obvious to the lady waiting at our table that no men were joining us and we were not going to be huge spenders she just walked off! Eventually we were able to order food which turned out to be very poor - Couscous Royale which was absolute peasant food with no flavour - although to be fair other diners around us appear to have ordered completely differently and seemed to be enjoying theirs a lot more. The show was what you would expect from bellydancing with some very attractive young girls who lingered at the tables with males so as to get the money stuffed into their bra! It became rather seedy although nothing untoward happened in any way. We left feeling that we had paid a lot for mediocrity.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had booked the table d'hôte menu but when we arrived they arrived they, rather patronisingly told us that we would be on the a la carte and the waiter would talk us through the options. They said our table wasn't ready so we went to the bar and paid ridiculous prices for drinks (€6.50 for a coke). We were taken downstairs (having had to pay for drinks at the bar- not allowed to pay all together apparently) and we were sat beside a frequently opened door. We asked to move, which eventually they did, but only to another, less used door. The the food.....my older daughter is vegetarian so ordered the vegetarian cousucous (which was marked on the menu as being suitable for vegetarians). The waiter said the vegetables had been cooked in meat stock. We asked what she could eat from the menu and were told the only possibiity was penne picante. How disappointing. Other food was ok, not great. We left, disappointed and feeling let down and having paid too much for very average food. Avoid this place.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comptoir Darna Cocktail Bar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Comptoir Darna Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comptoir Darna Cocktail Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.